[Book Talk] The Little Beach Street Bakery (Little Beach Street Bakery, #1) by Jenny Colgan

Book Details:

Format: Ebook
Source: Borrowed
Read: February 2017

Synopsis:

Amid the ruins of her latest relationship, Polly Waterford moves far away to the sleepy seaside resort of Polbearne, where she lives in a small, lonely flat above an abandoned shop.

To distract her from her troubles, Polly throws herself into her favorite hobby: making bread. But her relaxing weekend diversion quickly develops into a passion. As she pours her emotions into kneading and pounding the dough, each loaf becomes better than the last. Soon, Polly is working her magic with nuts and seeds, olives and chorizo, and the local honey-courtesy of a handsome local beekeeper. Drawing on reserves of determination and creativity Polly never knew she had, she bakes and bakes . . . and discovers a bright new life where she least expected it.

My Thoughts

Oh man, I love Jenny Colgan! I fell in love with her writing last year with The Bookshop on the Corner (which is more appropriately titled in the U.K. with The Little Shop of Happy Ever After) so I went on a mission to read more of her books. And oh my gosh, I love her!

I loved the setting of this book, in a town where the tide comes in every day and surrounds them like an island. It just felt so isolated (in a good way) and cozy, with the smell of the water and the smell of fresh bread. Seriously, this novel made me want to bake ALL the bread and I definitely plan to try more recipes since we usually do that on our own here. I loved all of the characters, fiercely miss one of them, and can’t wait to continue with this series. I’m so happy my library has the next book!

And as soon as I finished this book I realized that I need to buy all of Jenny Colgan’s books, not only for the stories, but for the gorgeous covers and all the recipes! If you love chick lit and stories full of finding yourself and romance and scenery you would love to escape to, then buy her books! They’re just perfect!

[Book Talk] All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

all-the-bright-placesBook Details:

Format: Audiobook
Source: Bought
Read: February 2017

Synopsis:

The Fault in Our Stars meets Eleanor and Park in this exhilarating and heart-wrenching love story about a girl who learns to live from a boy who intends to die.

Soon to be a major motion picture starring Elle Fanning!

Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him.

Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister’s recent death.

When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it’s unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the “natural wonders” of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It’s only with Violet that Finch can be himself—a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who’s not such a freak after all. And it’s only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink.

This is an intense, gripping novel perfect for fans of Jay Asher, Rainbow Rowell, John Green, Gayle Forman, and Jenny Downham from a talented new voice in YA, Jennifer Niven.

My Thoughts

I have tons of books on my shelf that I can vaguely recall what they’re supposed to be about. So when I start reading them, I sort of know what to expect. But with this book, I had NO idea. I just knew that my library had the audiobook and since I had the hardcover I figured I’d listen to the book to knock it off my shelf.

This book is hard to describe. It’s weird to say that it was a pleasant surprise because I sobbed while reading it, but it was definitely one of those books that I wasn’t expecting. I loved the relationships in it, the misunderstood characters, the secrets, the romance, and all the events that brought tears to my eyes. Seriously, this whole story is heartbreaking and I can’t believe I didn’t get to it sooner.

Waiting on Wednesday (50): When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon

Waiting on Wednesday Button-01

“Waiting On” Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming books whose releases are being eagerly awaited. Bloggers are encouraged to join in and post about the book they’re looking forward to reading.

when-dimple-met-rishi

goodreads-badge-add-plus-d700d4d3e3c0b346066731ac07b7fe47

Simon Pulse | May 30, 2017

A laugh-out-loud, heartfelt YA romantic comedy, told in alternating perspectives, about two Indian-American teens whose parents have arranged for them to be married.

Dimple Shah has it all figured out. With graduation behind her, she’s more than ready for a break from her family, from Mamma’s inexplicable obsession with her finding the “Ideal Indian Husband.” Ugh. Dimple knows they must respect her principles on some level, though. If they truly believed she needed a husband right now, they wouldn’t have paid for her to attend a summer program for aspiring web developers…right?

Rishi Patel is a hopeless romantic. So when his parents tell him that his future wife will be attending the same summer program as him—wherein he’ll have to woo her—he’s totally on board. Because as silly as it sounds to most people in his life, Rishi wants to be arranged, believes in the power of tradition, stability, and being a part of something much bigger than himself.

The Shahs and Patels didn’t mean to start turning the wheels on this “suggested arrangement” so early in their children’s lives, but when they noticed them both gravitate toward the same summer program, they figured, Why not?

Dimple and Rishi may think they have each other figured out. But when opposites clash, love works hard to prove itself in the most unexpected ways.

This book has been talked about EVERYWHERE and it looks so freaking amazing! I know I’m going to go into it with such high hopes, so I’ll be sure to come down to earth once I finally do sit down to read it, but how awesome does it sound? I love that it has to do with two kids who arranged to be married by their parents. It’s such a unique concept in YA books these days that I’m just so intrigued!

What are you waiting for?