BOOK REVIEW: Dead Until Dark (Sookie Stackhouse #1) by Charlaine Harris

Released: September 3, 2008 (Ace Books)
Series: Sookie Stackhouse, Book #1
Author Links: WEB / GOODREADS / FACEBOOK
Source: Purchased
Buy Now From: Amazon

Sookie Stackhouse is a cocktail waitress in small-town Louisiana, but she keeps to herself and doesn’t date much because of her “disability” to read minds. When she meets Bill, Sookie can’t hear a word he’s thinking. He’s the type of guy she’s waited for all of her life, but he has a disability, too–he’s a vampire with a bad reputation. When one of Sookie’s coworkers is killed, she fears she’s next.

My Thoughts

Having loved the True Blood TV series … actually, having DEVOURED the True Blood TV series … I thought I would enjoy these books.

No. Way.

From the first page, I knew I was going to be disappointed. The writing was horrible: there didn’t seem to be any thought going into what was being written on paper, so the author had a tendency to write down EVERYTHING, whether it mattered or not.

The “love” scenes were horribly written. Worse than Harlequin romances (and I actually don’t mind Harlequin romances!).

Since I read the book, I’ve lent it to 3 other people to read and they’ve all had the same feeling – like they’ve been violated. By a book. I never knew that could be possible, but it sure is.

Of course, now I have the other 6 books that came in the box set and I don’t think I’ll get around to reading them. I think I’ll stick with the TV show instead.

3 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: Dead Until Dark (Sookie Stackhouse #1) by Charlaine Harris

  1. Pingback: Wetlands, by Charlotte Roche « Reading in Winter

  2. Pingback: Review: Dead Until Dark and Living Dead in Dallas by Charlaine Harris | Book Exhibitionism

  3. Pingback: FEATURE: My Favourite Vampire Books (So Far) — And My Least Favourite | Reading In Winter

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

