BOOK REVIEW: The Eat-Clean Diet Recharged, by Tosca Reno

RELEASE DATE: December 1, 2009
AUTHOR LINKS: WEB / TWITTER / GOODREADS / FACEBOOK
PUBLISHER: Robert Kennedy Publishing
FORMAT: Paperback
SOURCE: Purchased
BUY NOW FROM: Amazon

This larger, revised, and fully updated edition of the bestselling “Eat-Clean Diet” offers in-depth information on exercise, motivation, maintaining fat loss, and more. Features 50 new recipes and menu plans.

MY REVIEW 

It’s hard to review this book without giving just a little bit of history about myself. Here’s the deal: I used to eat very, very badly and (of course) gained weight while doing so. In the past 3 years I have been working at modifying my diet to be the best person I can be by the time I turn 30 (next year).

I’ve never been one to try all of the fad diets. The most I had ever done was Weight Watchers a few times and while they don’t do the best job of teaching you WHAT to eat, they do teach you portion sizes.

A few years ago I picked up an amazing book called YOU: On a Diet, which, in the end, clearly stated that it wasn’t about dieting and going hungry, but about making changes to your diet, adding exercise, getting sleep, alcohol in moderation, etc. I loved that book. Previous to that I always read books about people who had lost weight and found motivation in that.

Last year I found Michael Pollen. Michael Pollen is a genius: Eat food. Not too much. Mostly plants. After reading one of his books, and then late last year watching the movie “Food Inc.”, I was just slapped in the face with information about how the majority of the country eats. I had also been reading a lot of health blogs by real people who eat REAL FOOD.

This year, enter Tosca Reno. I had bought one of her Clean Eating cookbooks last year and thought the meals looked wonderful (I had only made one of them). Oh a whim at the grocery store (which is usually how I purchase a lot of things I don’t need) this week, I picked up her book The Eat-Clean Diet Recharged. I read it cover-to-cover in a few days and loved it.

The deal is this: If you treat your body well, your body will treat you well in return. This means you have to eat real food. You also have to eat a lot, and pair protein with carbs (and include healthy fats) at every meal. Eat every 2.5-3 hours to keep your metabolism up. Don’t eat foods that have been processed (can we even call these items food to begin with?). Get your rest, start moving your body, cook dinner for your family and start living your life. It’s that simple.

The amazing thing is that Tosca Reno decided AT THE AGE OF 40 that she wanted to take charge of her body again. And she did. She lost weight, buffed up, even entered some bodybuilding competitions, and she looks absolutely amazing!

I already knew a lot about clean eating before I read the book, but now I’m challenging myself to actually follow the principals as much as I can. It’s so easy to just grab a packaged granola bar, for example, when you’re running out the door, but it’s also just as easy to grab a handful of unsalted nuts and an apple and in doing that you’re eating real food, pairing protein with carbs, and it’s a complete meal.

I would recommend this book to anyone who has been stuck in a rut with their diet and say that this is not a diet – this is something that you will do and feel proud doing, it’s something you’ll want to share with your family and friends, and it’s something that you’ll want to do for life. I can’t say it enough, but if we’re given one vehicle to carry us through life, we should definitely be taking care of it.

Buy this book. Buy it today, read it cover-to-cover, and take charge of your life!

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

