BOOK REVIEW: The Wedding Girl, by Madeleine Wickham

RELEASE DATE: September 7, 2004
AUTHOR LINKS: WEB / GOODREADS / FACEBOOK
PUBLISHER: Black Swan
FORMAT: Paperback
SOURCE: Purchased
BUY NOW FROM: Amazon

When ‘I do’ gives you déjà vu it could be a problem. . .

At the age of eighteen, in that first golden Oxford summer, Milly was up for anything. Rupert and his American lover Allan were all part of her new, exciting life, and when Rupert suggested to her that she and Allan should get married, just so that Allan could stay in the country, Milly didn’t hesitate.

Ten years later, Milly is a very different person. Engaged to Simon – who is wealthy, serious, and believes her to be perfect – she is facing the biggest and most elaborate wedding imaginable. Her mother has it planned to the finest detail. Milly’s dreadful secret is locked away so securely she has almost persuaded herself that it doesn’t exist – until, with only four days to go, her past catches up with her.

MY REVIEW (MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS) 

I love Sophie Kinsella books. Or should I say Madeleine Wickham? To get to the point, Sophie Kinsella is the pseudonym for Madeleine Wickham, the author behind such great books as the Shopaholic series, Twenties Girl, and my most latest read, The Wedding Girl.

The reason behind the pseudonym becomes clear once you start reading these different books. While books like Confessions of a Shopaholic, Can You Keep a Secret?, and Twenties Girl are more airy, light, and breezy (don’t those all mean the same thing?); books like The Wedding Girl and The Gatecrasher have more to them.

Once I read the back cover of The Wedding Girl,  I knew I would like it, and I wasn’t disappointed. The whole novel was full of mystery, backstories, secrets and lies. Very soap opera, if you ask me, and I don’t even watch soap operas! It was NOT like any of her writing as Sophie Kinsella – more serious, in depth, dealing with issues that people deal with every day in society (homosexuality relationships, fidelity, abortion, etc.)

I found myself intrigued for the whole novel, not knowing what was going to happen, since almost everyone had a secret. How would the secret become known? What would the outcome be? Am I going to like it?

Wickham writes believable characters (more so than in her pseudonym’s work) to whom most people can relate. Who doesn’t have a bit of Milly in them? Or Olivia? Or Isobel? I ended up caring for all of the characters, hoping their outcome would be favourable for them.

But a warning to anyone who might see this as a fluffy, chick-lit novel – this is NOT. I thought it was a refreshing read, different from any in that genre, but if you’re looking for something deemed as a beach read, this might not be the book for you.

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

