BOOK REVIEW: Frostbite (Vampire Academy series, Book #2), by Richelle Mead

RELEASE DATE: April 10, 2008
SERIES: Vampire Academy, #2
AUTHOR LINKS: WEB / TWITTER / GOODREADS / FACEBOOK
PUBLISHER: Razorbill (an imprint of Penguin)
FORMAT: Paperback
SOURCE: Purchased
BUY NOW FROM: Amazon

Rose loves Dimitri, Dimitri might love Tasha, and Mason would die to be with Rose… 

It’s winter break at St. Vladimir’s, but Rose is feeling anything but festive. A massive Strigoi attack has put the school on high alert, and now the Academy’s crawling with Guardians—including Rose’s hard-hitting mother, Janine Hathaway. And if hand-to-hand combat with her mom wasn’t bad enough, Rose’s tutor Dimitri has his eye on someone else, her friend Mason’s got a huge crush on her, and Rose keeps getting stuck in Lissa’s head while she’s making out with her boyfriend, Christian! The Strigoi are closing in, and the Academy’s not taking any risks… This year, St. Vlad’s annual holiday ski trip is mandatory. 

But the glittering winter landscape and the posh Idaho resort only create the illusion of safety. When three friends run away in an offensive move against the deadly Strigoi, Rose must join forces with Christian to rescue them. But heroism rarely comes without a price…

MY REVIEW (MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS) 

Oh Mason.

Because of something totally unrelated, I always find a soft spot in my heart whenever I hear that name. One of my favourite shows, Dead Like Me, featured a character named Mason and he was careless and reckless, much like the Mason in Frostbite, the second book in the Vampire Academy series.

As much as I loved the character of Mason, he irritated me. He seems a little too lovestruck over Rose – and as you know from my review of the first book in this series, I needed Rose to be with Dimitri. I’m a romantic, what can I say?

Unlike a lot of the “series” books that have been coming out, this series is more reminiscent of how the Harry Potter series works: You know the bad guys are out there and will always want to kill the good guys, but there’s always some kind of closure by the end of a book that you don’t feel like the author was writing any novel as a filler, but instead as a life lesson for the characters in that book.

So much happens in this second installment of the Vampire Academy series that I couldn’t put the book down and managed to finish reading it in a day. Call me crazy – I just love a good, intriguing story.

At this point, it seems normal to be calling vampires Moroi and their protectors Dhampirs, or Guardians. It also doesn’t seem as weird for one of the main characters, Rose, to have fed her best friend, the Moroi princess, Lissa. I was getting a little disturbed by all the talk of “blood wh*res”, but in the end, it served as a purpose for Rose to learn more about herself and, basically, grow up in the series. It’s amazing to see how far she’s come in her training as a Guardian that she no longer comes across as the daredevil little girl who will sleep with anything, but instead as a maturing young woman who now knows her heart and knows what she is and isn’t capable of.

There are new characters introduced in this installment and Mead does an excellent job of creating their characters. I’ll admit it, in other vampire novels there are people I grow so tired of – those little annoying things that make some characters make me want to throw my book across the room. However, even though there are things that I don’t like about the new characters – Adrian and Rose’s mother, Janine – they ended up growing on me by the end of the novel.

Of course, by the looks of it, there will be at least 4 more novels in the series, so my attitude could change! All I can say is that this is a very unique series of vampire-genre books that shouldn’t be overlooked. There’s love, loss, friendship, passion, and intrigue – all of which make up a great novel.

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

