BOOK REVIEW: The Reckoning (Darkest Powers series, Book #3), by Kelley Armstrong

Read: December 2009
Genre: YA Paranormal

Series
1. The Summoning
2. The Awakening
3. The Reckoning Goodreads | Amazon

SYNOPSIS
Chloe Saunders is fifteen and would love to be normal. Unfortunately, Chloe happens to be a genetically engineered necromancer who can raise the dead without even trying. She and her equally gifted (or should that be ‘cursed’?) friends are now running for their lives from the evil corporation that created them.

As if that’s not enough, Chloe is struggling with her feelings for Simon, a sweet-tempered sorcerer, and his brother Derek, a not so sweet-tempered werewolf. And she has a horrible feeling she’s leaning towards the werewolf…

Definitely not normal.

My Thoughts (May Contain Spoilers)

OK, I’m torn on this book. I loved The Awakening, the 2nd book in this trilogy, and I kind of feel gypped (sic?) with this book, The Reckoning, the final installment to the Darkest Powers series. Yes, there was action, but not a lot. I didn’t expect the kids (Chloe, Tori, Derek, and Simon) to stay at Andrew’s house the whole time. I mean, you have a werewolf, a witch, a wizard, and a girl who can raise the dead and they CAN’T escape??

There were a lot of twists and turns, though, which made up for the lack of scenery in the book.

The LOVE TRIANGLE, however, was what I was waiting for. Yes, there could be a book about demons and witches, or death and warlocks, and I still look for the love story. I am a girl. Completely.

I left The Summoning loving Derek. Simon seemed nice and all, but Derek just seemed better. Although, one thing that bugged me was that these kids all seemed so grown up, except when it came to romance. Yes, I know they’re young, but if you’re on the run from people who want to kill you (i.e. The Edison Group), maybe just go for the love you want, rather than beat around the bush about it.

That being said, the fact that Derek and Chloe hooked up earlier on in the novel was just wonderful.

Moving on.

This was a great final installment to the Darkest Powers series and I kind of wish the gang would have more adventures, though it’s nice to have had an ending, finally (even if the characters hinted at the adventures they’ll be having in the future). I also enjoyed the growth of Tori’s character, but thought she could have been affected a little more by having to kill her own mother. The fact that her and Simon share a father is interesting and it would have been nice to see what she thought of that. Speaking of Simon, he really didn’t do anything for me in this book – I could feel Chloe and Dereck and Tori, but Simon could have not even been there and I don’t think I would have noticed a difference.

I have to say that one of the best things about Armstrong’s writing is that she doesn’t waste a full chapter on catching up the reader on what happened in the previous book. The way I see it, if the reader is already into the series, they don’t need the back story. Another great thing is the development of Chloe. Even though I thought she seemed really young in some aspects of the novel, she wasn’t the whiny, almost-breakable heroine that we see in other books of the genre (like Bella in Twilight or Zoey in the House of Night books). She was able to stick up for herself and her friends and make herself be heard.

I’m not sure if I feel inclined to read more of Armstrong’s work. Based on this trilogy, it’s hard to say if I would like anything else or not. I’m not sure if I would feel differently had ALL the books in the trilogy been available when I started to read, but I guess I’ll never know. Part of my also thinks that this book didn’t HAVE to be a trilogy – there was a lot of filler stuff that could have been edited out and it could have been just one novel.

I don’t think I’ll partake in the next series of Armstrong’s, The Gathering, but I’m sure I’ll check out some reviews to see if these characters make their way into the books.

Author Links
WEB / TWITTER / GOODREADS / FACEBOOK

3 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: The Reckoning (Darkest Powers series, Book #3), by Kelley Armstrong

  1. Thanks for your review. I actually came across your blog when looking for a review on the more recent House of Night series books, which your view seems to be like mine and I doubt very much that I will read past the 7th book.

    I then got side tracked and came across your reviews of the Darkest Powers series. I just wanted to say that I would recommend trying some of Armstrong’s adult fiction the ‘Women of the Otherworld’ series as they are so much better than either of the teenage series. Stolen is definitely one of my favourite books.

  2. Well I know you’re torn about reading any more Kelley Armstrong – but I’d say you would enjoy her adult Women of the Otherworld series way more than her YA. I have read pretty much all of her work and I must say I love the adult series where as like you I’m just really middle of the road on her YA stuff. I just finished reading book 1&2 of her other YA trilogy. The Darkest Powers was definitely better so you might like love the second YA trilogy.

    • I own that series! I look forward to starting it, though it feels a little daunting since there are 13 books in it. I might have to try her second YA series, too. I do like her writing, but I guess this series just wasn’t for me.

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

