24-Hour Read-a-Thon – Update #5

Read-a-Thon Update #5

1:00 p.m. – 4:30 p.m.

Went to see Gail Bowen at the public library (will post on her this week) … listened to 40 minutes of the Jay Leno audiobook on the way there and 40 minutes on the way back. Still have 1/2 of it to go, but it might be good for later on – it’s pretty funny!

Also listened to Gail do about 30 or so minutes of readings … I think that counts!

4:30 p.m.

Back reading Clockwork Angel now … I’m pretty tired, but cracked open a Diet Pepsi. The husband is handling dinner and Cooper, my English Springer, is here to keep me company by sniffing out all of my books for anything bad.

Just found out that I won a PRIZE at Hour 8! Hoorah!!

5:08 p.m.

Book Trailer Mini Challenge
(Sidenote: I’ve been too busy dealing with SLOW internet and claiming my prize that I’ve only read about 3 pages in the last 1/2 hour … oops! Gotta catch up!)

Highly Inappropriate Tales For Young People:

Hodge Podge Proposals Mini Challenge

1. A character in my book is Tessa
2. My car is a Mitsubishi
3. A fascinating job (to me) would be wine taste tester

Tessa Mitsubishi, who had a mediocre job at a liquor store is suddenly promoted to the prestigious WINE TASTER job after the previous worker, Will,  falls deathly ill and passes away. Tessa takes the job not knowing the risks – was it the wine that killed Will? Or was it the perils of working in the business? Surely there isn’t someone out there trying to MURDER the taste tester … or is there?

The Wonderfully Familiar Mini Challenge

1. What are you reading right now?

Clockwork Angel, by Cassandra Clare

2. How many books have you read so far?

Three and a half, plus 1/2 an audiobook

3. What book are you most looking forward to for the second half of the Read-a-thon?

The Book of (Even More) Awesome!

4. Did you have to make any special arrangements to free up your whole day?

Nope! I just had an author event to go to, but it was a nice break.

5. Have you had many interruptions? How did you deal with those?

My husband came home … ha ha! He had to tell me some jokes, but it was nice to have a break. Other than that, I’ve been trying to read as much as possible. I think the only distraction is the computer!

6. What surprises you most about the Read-a-thon, so far?

How it’s great in the beginning, but eventually your eyes will get tired. I’m also surprised that I won a prize – that never happens!

7. Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year?

Take care when planning your books … get a good mix of genres, some non-fiction, maybe some humor or graphic novels. Save the good stuff for last!

8. What would you do differently, as a Reader or a Cheerleader, if you were to do this again next year?

I would definitely get more rest the day before and maybe read less that day.

9. Are you getting tired yet?

Oh yes … bed … looks … comfy!

10. Do you have any tips for other Readers or Cheerleaders, something you think is working well for you that others may not have discovered?

Get up and stretch! Walk around! Break up the monotony of sitting by walking and listening to an audiobook, or do some housework while listening to an audiobook. Eat! Eat healthy! Drink lots of water. Don’t get mad if you’re reading slow, or a book is taking a long time to finish … you’re here to have fun!

So far:

Books read: 3 1/2-ish + an audiobook
Pages read: 683
Beverages drank: 4 cups coffee, countless glasses of water, diet Pepsi
SET-UP Proposals (Ha ha …): ONE (I guess I should wear my wedding ring more often)
Food eaten: A Larabar, a banana, 2 pieces of pizza, candy corn, nuts, 1/2 a bag of Cheezies
Hours done: 15
Hours remaining: 9 

To be continued …

4 thoughts on “24-Hour Read-a-Thon – Update #5

  1. Scribacchina’s right. You don’t “need” someone to cheer you on as you’re pretty motivated to continue. But will still say “good luck..and have fun!” 🙂
    If you’re feeling any sleepy, just nudge me on twitter and give me a shout. We can do cartwheels together. Okay, you do the cartwheels and I’ll just take pics. 😀

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

