Sunday Reads: Volume 2

While thinking about this week’s Sunday Reads, I had to laugh. Instead of tell you what I plan to read in the next week, I really should tell you what I’m thinking of reading, because when I have a concrete plan laid out, I almost always veer away from it. 🙂

This past week, I read: 

1. Where She Went, by Gayle Forman

A beautiful follow-up to If I Stay. I have my fingers crossed that there might be another book in this series, though the wonderful thing is that each book so far can stand on its own.

2. White Teeth, by Zadie Smith

A long read, but a really great story. Smith weaves in humor with history, culture, and relationships. Full review later, but this would be a great book for a book club or a long plane ride. 🙂

3. The Glass Coffin, by Gail Bowen

This was a read for my book club at the library. Gail Bowen made an appearance yesterday, so I just had to read it before seeing her! After reading The Glass Coffin, I suspected that I haven’t read too many mysteries, so it definitely piqued my interest — I’ll have to give another Gail Bowen book a read!

4. Spring Bear, by Betsy Connor Bowen

Not a bad little novella … I had won it on GoodReads a few years ago and was just getting around to reading it!

5. Holes, by Louis Sachar

For the 24-hour read-a-thon … I was so surprised by this book! I loved it.

6. Prodigy, by Nancy Huston

For the 24-hour read-a-thon … A great little book for a musician like me. Beautifully written and really explores the mind of a young musician.

7. The Trolls, by Polly Horvath

For the 24-hour read-a-thon … This was a bizarre little book! It was really funny at first, but kind of started to go downhill after that. I loved the chapter on the fiddleheads!

8. Leading With My Chin, by Jay Leno (audiobook)

For the 24-hour read-a-thon … Very much like his stand-up comedy on his TV show. Of course, there was a lot of funny stuff! I was laughing out loud reading this in the car.

What I’m currently reading:

1. Ring, by Koji Suzuki
2. Clockwork Angel, by Cassandra Clare (little bit left from the 24-hour read-a-thon)
3. The Book of (Even More) Awesome,
by Neil Pasricha (little bit left from the 24-hour read-a-thon)

This week, I plan to read:

1. Cloud Atlas, by David Mitchell

2. Frankenstein, by Mary Shelley

3. Seriously … I’m Kidding!, by Ellen DeGeneres

(Small list … after reading so much this weekend, I might try and read juuust a little less!)

What are you reading this week?

Have you heard of InkPop? It’s a writing community put together by HarperCollins where aspiring YA writers can post their works–books, short stories, poetry, book ideas, etc.–for critique. It’s also a wonderful place for writers to connect with one another. By the looks of it, you can even print off a few books if you don’t like reading them on your computer.

Has anyone checked out the BookSwim website, or taken part in their book “rentals”? I had to laugh at their payment plans–for 1 book a month (which they send you, you read, and you send back in a prepaid mailer), it’s about $14.00. For a book you don’t even get to keep. I pay $30.00 at the library for unlimited access to books, and probably around $5.00-$15.00 to buy a book from a used bookstore or other reputable dealer. Am I the only person this doesn’t make sense to?

While putting aside reading White Teeth (again), I found this link on Curled Up With a Good Book. I absolutely love this idea! In fact, I live in a subdivision of acreages, about a 15 or 20 minute drive from the nearest town, and always thought how great it would be to have a little “library” set up somewhere so that readers (like me) wouldn’t have to drive in the wintery, snowy conditions to get their book fix.

What are your thoughts on this? 

I have no idea what it is about this book, but whenever I see it I want to read it. I’ve put in a request for it at my library, so hopefully they can bring it in sometime soon.

Mara Dyer doesn’t think life can get any stranger than waking up in a hospital with no memory of how she got there.

It can.

She believes there must be more to the accident she can’t remember that killed her friends and left her mysteriously unharmed.

There is.

She doesn’t believe that after everything she’s been through, she can fall in love.

She’s wrong.

What books are you looking forward to?

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

