Tuesday Teasers & Top Ten Tuesday

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

  1. Grab your current read
  2. Open to a random page
  3. Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  4. BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  5. Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!
I’m just starting to read The Book of Lost Things, by John Connolly after hearing so many good things about it. Of course, I also heard so many good things about Ring, by Koji Suzuki, and I absolutely hated it – let’s hope this book is different! Here’s my teaser sentence, from page 18:
The books made David very uneasy.
What’s THAT about, huh? You might have to pick up the book and see for yourself!
Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week we have a specific topic for a top ten list. Link up, visit some new blogs and add to your ever-growing TBR list. 

I have had some very bad luck in the past few years trying to find a great Halloween read. I think I’m only ever meant to be scared while watching the movies. Nonetheless, here are my top 10 Halloween reads:

         

Now, you’re probably thinking, “Why Kristilyn, there seems to be a lot of Neil Gaiman on your list!” And I would answer you by saying, “Why yes, yes there is. Did you not know that Neil Gaiman rules the universe?” Truthfully, I just haven’t found anything crazy scary, but these books just get me in the Halloween mood – Neil’s books are creative and delightfully creepy, but in a fun way. I included Clockwork Angel in here because those clockwork creatures were freaky!
I’ve read books like Ring, or Heart-Shaped Box, both based on good reviews and have been more than disappointed. It’s a shame. I really need a good, scary read this time of year!
What book can you recommend that I would find super scary? C’mon – try me!
Are you doing the Bout of Books Read-A-Thon? I am! You can see my daily updates here
4 thoughts on “Tuesday Teasers & Top Ten Tuesday

  1. Interesting teaser! Sorry, I can’t help with a scary book. I don’t usually like them. I started the Abraham Lincoln book, but put it down because it wasn’t grabbing me. I didn’t feel like it was a horrible book but just that there were books on my TBR that I would rather spend the time reading.

    My Teaser!

  2. Thanks for stopping by! Oh I want to know about the books!!! What can they be talking about!

    As for the scary story….i get frightened if its too dark so ummm…yea I dont have an answer

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

