Booking Through and Third Sentence Thursday

Booking Through Thursday is a weekly bookish meme hosted by Books, Biscuits, and Tea. 

What’s the hardest/most challenging book you’ve ever read? Was it worth the effort? Did you read it by choice or was it an assignment/obligation?

For high school, we were supposed to read The Grapes of Wrath, but I just couldn’t make it through the first few pages. I’m not sure if I would have stuck with it, reading it more than 10 years later, but it would be interesting to see. As of late, the most challenging book I’ve ever read has to have been One Hundred Years of Solitude. It wasn’t so much challenging, but a very dense, boring read. Too many names were the same and it just kept going on and on. I read it for the first meeting of a book club I was attending, so I wanted to make sure it was completed so I could talk about it. Turns out everyone hated it and we all thought it wasn’t worth the effort (and time) it took to read it. Other than that, I’ve been pretty lucky with my reads. There is the odd book that I won’t finish because it’s just so terrible, but most of the time I trudge through and shake my head afterwards.

Third Sentence Thursday is a weekly bookish meme hosted by Sniffly Kitty’s Mostly Books.

Third Sentence Thursday

1) Take the book you are reading now and post the third sentence
2) Review this sentence anyway you want (funny and silly reviews encouraged)
3) Post a link to your sentence here (in the comments) or if you don’t have a blog, just post it in the comments!

The book I’m currently reading (i.e. the book that will never end) is Before I Go to Sleep, by S. J. Watson.

I don’t know where I am, how I came to be here.

This is a real page-turner! Really enjoying it.

2 thoughts on “Booking Through and Third Sentence Thursday

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

