Sunday Reads: Volume 3

Welcome to this week’s Sunday Reads!

Last week I was saying how I was going to lean off of  excessive reading this week, after my 23 hours of reading for the Dewey Read-A-Thon. Needless to say, I signed up for the Bout of Books Read-A-Thon the day I posted last week’s Sunday Reads. That meant 7 FULL DAYS of reading! Am I crazy? You be the judge. Though NaNoWriMo starts on Tuesday and I think I may be a little bug-eyed after so many words.

NOTE: Family issues have come up, so expect less reading for Bout of Books as the plans for the weekend have changed. Sorry, guys!

This past week, I read: 

1. Ring, by Koji Suzuki

A not-so-scary book, the oh-so-scary movie is based on. Not worth the read.

2. Clockwork Angel, by Cassandra Clare

A wonderful “follow-up” to The Mortal Instruments series, though it’s actually a prequel to how it all started–a great read!

3. The Book of (Even More) Awesome, by Neil Pasricha

Definitely full of so much more awesome.

4. Of Mice and Men, by John Steinbeck

Tragic, sad, but such a classic.

5. Seriously … I’m Kidding, by Ellen DeGeneres

Ellen DeGeneres can do no wrong. Of course, if she tried, she’d do it fantastically and so funnily that we’d all be falling off our chairs laughing.

6. The Book of Lost Things, by John Connolly

A wonderful read for anyone who likes fairytales. A book that will be deemed a classic.

7. Before I Go To Sleep, by S. J. Watson

A fast-paged, page-turner of a book. A wonderful debut novel.

What I’m currently reading:

1. Cloud Atlas, by David Mitchell Harbor, by John A. Lindqvist (for the life of me, I can’t get past the first 10 pages of Cloud Atlas!)

This week, I plan to read:

1. The Namesake, by Jhumpa Lahiri

2. Between, by Jessica Warman

3. Harbor, by John A. Lindqvist

What are you reading this week?

Raise your hand if you read your book in the bathroom? You? You? Really? I honestly have no qualms with doing so … I mean, they even make Bathroom Readers books (not that I have any of them) for that very thing. Hey, when you’re in the middle of a really good book, who wants to put it down? Here’s a great article on whether or not reading in the ‘loo is bad for you.

What are your thoughts on this? 

I’m so torn over these books. On one hand, I really love them, but on the other, this is getting ridiculous. I had read that there would be 9 “story” books and then 3 “other” books in the series, though this, the ninth book, talks about it being the next chapter in the series – I’m hoping that this is the final installment, personally. You?

Zoey is finally home where she belongs, safe with her Guardian Warrior, Stark, by her side, and preparing to face off against Neferet – which would be a whole lot easier if the High Counsel saw the ex-High Priestess for what she really is. Kalona has released his hold on Rephaim, and, through Nyx’s gift of a human form, Rephaim and Stevie Rae are finally able to be together – if he can truly walk the path of the Goddess and stay free of his father’s shadow…

But there are new forces at work at the House of Night. An influx of humans, including Lenobia’s handsome horse whisperer, threatens their precarious stability. And then there’s the mysterious Aurox, a jaw-droppingly gorgeous teen boy who is actually more – or possibly less – than human. Only Neferet knows he was created to be her greatest weapon. But Zoey can sense the part of his soul that remains human, the compassion that wars with his Dark calling. And there’s something strangely familiar about him…

Will Neferet’s true nature be revealed before she succeeds in silencing them all? And will Zoey be able to touch Aurox’s humanity in time to protect him – and everyone – from his own fate? Find out what’s destined in the next thrilling chapter of the House of Night series.

What books are you looking forward to?

4 thoughts on “Sunday Reads: Volume 3

    • I know, right? I just feel like they’re dragging a little too much … and I’m really sick of the dialogue (bullpoopie and whatnot). My favourite character has to be Aphrodite, but she’s just not in it too much anymore. Maybe once it finally ends I’ll purchase the other books I need … my mom says she’s not reading any more until the whole series ends, then she can start from the beginning. But, enough is enough. 🙂

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

