BOOK REVIEW: Outlander (#1 in the Outlander series), by Diana Gabaldon

Released: July 26, 2005 (Dell)
Author Links: WEB / TWITTER / GOODREADS / FACEBOOK
Source: Purchased
Buy Now From: Amazon

The year is 1945. Claire Randall, a former combat nurse, is back from the war and reunited with her husband on a second honeymoon–when she walks through a standing stone in one of the ancient stone circles that dot the British Isles. Suddenly she is a Sassenach–an “outlander”–in a Scotland torn by war and raiding Highland clans in the year of Our Lord…1743. 

Hurled back in time by forces she cannot understand, Claire is catapulted into intrigues and dangers that may threaten her life…and shatter her heart. For here she meets James Fraser, a gallant young Scots warrior, and becomes a woman torn between fidelity and desire…and between two vastly different men in two irreconcilable lives.

My Thoughts (May Contain Spoilers)

I bought this book a while ago only because I was addicted to series books – the Twilight series and the House of Night series were at the top of my list. When I got the books in the mail – I ordered the first 2 – I felt a little taken aback … 850 pages for the first book? Wow. Not that I don’t like a good read, but the print was tiny and the book was big. So onto the shelf it went.

After months of sitting on the bookshelf, I finally pulled it down and took an hours worth of time to really get into it. I was immediately hooked! I know, I know … there’s rape, murder, sex, a beating, etc. But I didn’t feel put off at all by any of this. Yes, when Jamie is getting “tortured” in the prison, I felt a little grossed out by it, but you know what? It’s a book. Also, with the sex scenes, I didn’t find them to be that bad. Sure they’re no Harlequin novel, but I’ve read worse. Way worse. Case in point, I felt like I had been violated after reading the first book in the Sookie Stackhouse series. Enough so that I just can’t talk myself into reading the other 6 books in the box-set (this was a bad choice for the “series” books I was going for, but I digress.).

Yes, Claire gets beaten, but that’s what happened in that time. And they talked about it afterwards and clarified that that was NOT going to happen again. I wouldn’t say that it was totally let go. As for Claire going back in time and falling in love with Jamie, well, it happens. And it wasn’t just justified by Frank not being born yet. Claire probably could have tried to go back anytime, but she felt like she belonged in that period and was actually helping people, feeling needed. She had been away from Frank for so long, what with the war going on, and I think that people can drift apart in that amount of time (what was it, 6 years?). And the fact that she had to have sex with Jamie on their wedding night, well I think that’s what had to be done in that time period.

In the end, I couldn’t tear myself away from this book. 850 pages or not, Outlanderwas a fantastic read, even if I had to read some of the Scottish speaking outloud to understand what was being said. Gabaldon is a great writer and really knows how to draw the reader in with a story. I can’t wait to read the rest of the books in the series!

Read More of My Diana Gabaldon Reviews

© 2011-2012, Reading In Winter. All rights reserved.

2 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: Outlander (#1 in the Outlander series), by Diana Gabaldon

  1. Pingback: Book Review: Outlander, by Diana Gabaldon | bookwanderer

  2. Pingback: [Book Talk] A Breath of Snow And Ashes (Outlander, #6) by Diana Gabaldon | Reading In Winter

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

