AUDIOBOOK REVIEW: City of Glass (Mortal Instruments, #3), by Cassandra Clare

RELEASE DATE: March 24, 2009
SERIES: The Mortal Instruments, #3
AUTHOR LINKS: WEB / TWITTER / GOODREADS / FACEBOOK
PUBLISHER: Simon & Schuster Audio
FORMAT: Audiobook
SOURCE: Purchased
BUY NOW FROM: Amazon

NARRATOR: Natalie Moore

To save her mother’s life, Clary must travel to the City of Glass, the ancestral home of the Shadowhunters — never mind that entering the city without permission is against the Law, and breaking the Law could mean death. To make things worse, she learns that Jace does not want her there, and her best friend, Simon, has been thrown in prison by the Shadowhunters, who are deeply suspicious of a vampire who can withstand sunlight.

As Clary uncovers more about her family’s past, she finds an ally in mysterious Shadowhunter Sebastian. With Valentine mustering the full force of his power to destroy all Shadowhunters forever, their only chance to defeat him is to fight alongside their eternal enemies. But can Downworlders and Shadowhunters put aside their hatred to work together? While Jace realizes exactly how much he’s willing to risk for Clary, can she harness her newfound powers to help save the Glass City — whatever the cost?

Love is a mortal sin and the secrets of the past prove deadly as Clary and Jace face down Valentine in the final installment of the New York Times bestselling The Mortal Instruments.

My Thoughts

Oh Cassandra Clare, how do I love thee?

This is the second time I’ve read City of Glass, the third book in the Mortal Instruments series, and it was just as good as it was the first time I read it. Naturally, I went straight to the audiobook for my reread because it’s spring and there are so many things to be done around the house. Luckily, Natalie Moore’s narration is pretty good and the story still had me going, even if I already knew what was going to happen. 

In this book, Clary is still trying to save her mother, which means a trip to the City of Glass — even though Jace doesn’t want her there and Simon ends up being thrown into prison. The shadowhunters are still trying to go after Voldemort, Clary and Jace are still dealing with being siblings, but now everyone must try to work together — the downworlder’s with the shadowhunters.

I think my favourite thing about Cassandra Clare’s books are the characters. I love Jace just a little more with each book I read (again, despite how snarky he may sound due to the narrator), and I even grow to like Clary, even though she can be a bit of a whiner. I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again — Simon still gets on my nerves, but at least there are more likeable characters than unlikeable. Isabelle is just so charming, as is Alec, and Magnus. It was really nice to see all the characters working together in this book.

The other wonderful thing about Cassandra Clare is her writing. She just never ceases to disappoint. Her world building is fantastic and if I could travel to any fictional world, hers would be one of the top ones on my list. Of course, I’d rather go there when Valentine isn’t there being the villain that he is (because he sure can do some nasty things), but it’s definitely tops.

While I thought that City of Ashes dragged just a bit, City of Glass has to be my second favourite in the series. There is a ton of action, a ton of emotional stuff going on, and a lot of mystery and suspense. New characters are brought in who even had me second guessing myself — even though I had already read the book and should know most of what’s going on.

That being said, there is a lot that goes on in Clare’s books … I found that listening to the audiobook made it slightly difficult since I couldn’t flip back in the pages for a recap when I would start listening each day. And I had been listening to/reading this for the second time. I can’t imagine how a newcomer would deal with listening to the audio. It’s one of those books where you have to give it your full attention.

Just a last note on the audio version of this book: I loved Natalie Moore’s narration and I think she did a way better job than Ari Graynor who did the narration on the first book. Though, whenever I heard her voice for Valentine, I immediately thought of Kathleen Turner, when she’s on Friends playing Charles Bing. And, like I’ve mentioned before, she can make Jace sound just a little too snarky (and just a tad younger than I always envisioned him) and Clary whiny (even moreso than she comes across while reading the book).

If there’s one author that you should be reading, it’s Cassandra Clare. She kicks butt when it comes to writing about the shadowhunters and their world is a wonderful one to explore.

Read More of My Cassandra Clare Reviews

© 2012, Reading In Winter. All rights reserved.

4 thoughts on “AUDIOBOOK REVIEW: City of Glass (Mortal Instruments, #3), by Cassandra Clare

  1. Great review..I am mostly into spy books on CD. Lately I’m listening to Alex Berenson’s new novel “The Shadow Patrol”..I’m waiting on pins and needles for Wallie Lamb from Norwich Conn. and Anita Shrive’s new one to come to CD…She is one of my all time favorites. There are so many wonderful woman authors its difficult to pick one.. Mr. Lamb is simply one of the best. The readers are the most important part of these books and make these stories come alive..I have been doing this for years and I know all the people that work in the four libraries I go to by their first name..I even worked in the Rockville Public Library in Connecticut to be the first one to get certain books..You have a great site..Keep up the good work…

    • I’m lucky that my library has a website where you can see all the new releases that they’ll be getting. I check it every few days just to get my name on the hold list first!

      I don’t listen to a lot of spy books … nor do I read them! I do have a few Wally Lamb and Anita Shreve books on my shelves, though. I haven’t read them yet, but maybe I’ll give them a try!

      Thanks for visiting!

  2. Pingback: Sunday Reads: Volume 32 (The Massive 3-Week Edition) «

  3. Pingback: AUDIOBOOK REVIEW: City of Fallen Angels (Mortal Instruments, #4), by Cassandra Clare | Reading In Winter

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

