ARC REVIEW: One Mountain Away, by Emilie Richards

Release Date: July 31, 2012
Author Links: WEB | TWITTER | GOODREADS | FACEBOOK
Publisher: Harlequin MIRA
Format: ARC
Page Count: 467 pages
Source: Won from MIRA
Buy Now From: Amazon

Add This Book on Goodreads

SYNOPSIS:

With nothing but brains, ambition and sheer nerve, Charlotte Hale built a career as a tough, savvy real-estate developer. Her reputation is rock-solid…but her life is empty. One terrifying day, facing her own mortality, she realizes that her ambition has almost destroyed her chance at happiness. So Charlotte vows to make amends, not simply with her considerable wealth, but by offering a hand instead of a handout. Putting in hours and energy instead of putting in an appearance. Opening her home and heart instead of her wallet. 

With each wrenching, exhilarating decision, Charlotte finds that climbing a new mountain-one built on friendship, love and forgiveness-will teach her what it truly means to build a legacy.

Why I Read This Book

Normally, if I win a book from Harlequin, I expect something completely hot and steamy, so when I won this ARC, it automatically went to the bottom of the pile because it just wasn’t a priority. Then one day I was going through my ARCs to see what was getting released soon and I read the back of this book and was blown away — it had nothing to do with sexy times at all! I was immediately intrigued, seeing that it seemed similar to a lot of the adult contemporary books I love.

My Thoughts

If only I had known that I would be thrown into a world where one woman decides that she doesn’t want to end her life without leaving a legacy, I would’ve read this sooner. From the first pages, I instantly liked Charlotte, a character who was born into a horrible life, ultimately working her butt off to get the life she wanted. 

What I really liked about this book was that it was a bucket-list type of story, but not in the sense that a bucket-list usually is where the person who knows they have a certain amount of time does all those daring things that have been on their list of things to do their entire life. Instead, this was a book about Charlotte who knew she was going to die, who wanted to right all the wrongs in her life before she passed. I loved seeing the transformation of Charlotte, from someone who would always throw money at a problem rather than actually deal with people and get involved, to someone completely different.

Richards wrote the book from numerous points of view which made the length of it easier to digest. At close to 500 pages, I had my doubts on whether or not I’d be able to finish it, but the story switched from Charlotte’s perspective, to her ex-husband Ethan, to their daughter Taylor, and to other characters in the story. It was nice to go from character to character to see how they deal with their lives, and this estranged person who seemed to work her way away from them as she got where she wanted to be in life.

This is one of those stories that really speaks to its reader about living a life without regrets. It really pulls at the heartstrings and makes its readers take account of the good in their lives, urging them to hold onto it. I was quite happy to receive this from MIRA, as it was quite a nice book to read.

This was my first introduction to Emilie Richards writing. I had no idea that she was the author of seventy novels! I definitely look forward to reading more of her books.

If you’re looking for an emotional read with the bucket-list aspect, then go for this one. This is more of an adult contemporary, but more family oriented, with just a hint of romance at its core. If you’ve read Second Chance Summer by Morgan Matson, I would say that this is close to being the adult equivalent to that book. Be warned that it is a long read AND a tear-jerker, so if you’re prepared for both of those, then I think you’ll really like it.

© 2012, Reading In Winter. All rights reserved.

3 thoughts on “ARC REVIEW: One Mountain Away, by Emilie Richards

  1. Pingback: Clock Rewinders (1) | Reading In Winter

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

