BOOK REVIEW: Timeless Desire, by Gwyn Cready

Released: July 2012 (Pocket Books)
Author Links: WEB | TWITTER | GOODREADS | FACEBOOK
Source: Author, for review

Genre: Time Travel Romance

Add This Book on Goodreads
Buy Now From: Amazon

SYNOPSIS:
Two years after losing her husband, overworked librarian Panna Kennedy battles to distract herself from crushing Grief, even as she battles to deal with yet another library budget cut. During a routine search within the library’s lower levels, Panna opens an obscure, pad-locked door and finds herself transported to the magnificent, book-filled quarters of a handsome, eighteenth-century Englishman.

She soon recognizes the man as Colonel John Bridgewater, the historic English war hero whose larger-than-life statue loomed over her desk.However, the life of the dashing Bridgewater is not at all what she imagined. He’s under house arrest for betraying England, and now looks upon her a beautiful and unexpected half-dressed visitor as a possible spy. 

Despite bad first impressions (on both sides), Bridgewater nonetheless warms to Panna, and pulls her into his escape while both their hearts pull the other headlong into their soul-stirring secrets.Very quickly Panna is thrown into a whirlwind of high-stakes intrigue that sweeps her from Hadrian’s Wall to a forbidding stone castle in Scotland. And somewhere in the outland, Panna must decide if her loyalties lie with her dead husband, or with the man whose life now depends on her.

Why I Read This Book

I was contacted by the author’s publicist about this book and was immediately pulled in by the fact that it was an Outlander Romance — I love time travel romance books! The other thing that looked great was the fact that the main character was a librarian. Bookishness AND time travel AND romance? Count me in!

My Thoughts

This book was definitely a treat! When I first started reading it, I was comparing it to Diana Gabaldon’s Outlander which, of course, no book could compare to, but Gwyn Cready’s novel had its own charms. 

First of all, the characters. I adored the main character, Panna. Being a book-lover, I was giddy with the premise that Panna, a librarian, finds a portal in the library that takes her back to Scotland in the 1700’s. I loved her curious nature and that she couldn’t let the idea of the portal go. She was such a strong and likeable character. Bridgewater was the perfect hero in this book and the relationship between him and Panna was awesome. He seemed like the typical Scottish hero!

Second of all, the romance! I loved the dynamics between Panna and Bridgewater — they seemed perfect for one another and had some very sexy scenes in the book. It’s by no means hot and heavy romance, but it’s still more than just a kiss and a touch here and there.

The plot was perfectly paced and I was intrigued the whole time I was reading. The dialogue was hit and miss — again, I couldn’t help comparing this to Outlander, and so I expected more of a Scottish lilt in the dialogue. It was definitely there, but not so obvious. There was also some politics in the story — I mean, there has to be something serious going on, instead of just falling in love. I liked it and thought it was easy enough to follow.

The only downfall I could see in this book was the insta-love between Panna and Bridgewater — the story takes place over a few days and it just seemed a little too quick for me. It was also just slightly predictable, but I find that most light romances are.

Fast-moving and full of romance, kissing, fighting, and lots of time travel, Timeless Desire is one that will have you turning the pages and only wanting more by the time you reach the end.

If you’re a fan of romance and of time travel, you should like this one. It’s light and fun and a perfect summer read!

© 2012, Reading In Winter. All rights reserved.

7 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: Timeless Desire, by Gwyn Cready

  1. Although my initial reaction is to cringe whenever someone compares a book to Outlander (cause come on, no book can compare!), this does sound like a good romance novel. And sometimes those can be hard to find. I also like that her outfit looks Christmasy, so maybe I’ll save this for later in the year, lol.

  2. Pingback: Clock Rewinders (2) | Reading In Winter

  3. This reminds me that I need to get back to reading the Outlander series. (I love long tomes for fall/winter).

    I’m with Sarah that this one sounds good for winter. The synopsis does sound really good. I am a huge fan of historical romances (and they’re slightly less embracing covers). I love when men are sexy as hell but still gentleman. (Little too much info about me?)

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

