ARC REVIEW: Confessions of an Angry Girl (Confessions, #1), by Louise Rozett

Released: August 28, 2012 (Harlequin TEEN)
Author Links: WEB | TWITTER | GOODREADS | FACEBOOK
Source: NetGalley & Publisher, for review

Genre: YA Contemporary

SERIES:
Confessions of an Angry Girl (Confessions, #1) Amazon | Goodreads
Confessions of an Almost Girlfriend (Confessions, #2)

SYNOPSIS:
Rose Zarelli, self-proclaimed word geek and angry girl, has some CONFESSIONS to make… #1: I’m livid all the time. Why? My dad died. My mom barely talks. My brother abandoned us. I think I’m allowed to be irate, don’t you?

#2: I make people furious regularly. Want an example? I kissed Jamie Forta, a badass guy who “might” be dating a cheerleader. She is now enraged and out for blood. Mine.

#3: High school might as well be Mars. My best friend has been replaced by an alien, and I see red all the time. (Mars is red and “seeing red” means being angry-get it?)

Here are some other vocab words that describe my life: Inadequate. Insufferable. Intolerable.

(Don’t know what they mean? Look them up yourself.) (Sorry. That was rude.)

Why I Read This Book

I usually have awesome luck with Harlequin Teen. Very rarely have I found a novel published by them that I don’t like. I was actually quite skeptical requesting this book because, based on the synopsis, I didn’t think I would like it. It seemed just a little too juvenile to me. I’m so happy to say that this book surprised me.

My Thoughts

When I was in high school, I was pretty quiet. I had friends — I hung out with the wrong people. I wasn’t a party person. I stuck to the times my parents wanted me to come home. I didn’t like getting in trouble. I was pretty rigid. Of course, I had some fun, but I wasn’t an outright daredevil or anything.

So, when I started reading Confessions of an Angry Girl, I immediately fell in love with the main character, Rose. I liked that she was awkward and hanging out with the wrong people, had issues with her friends and family, and that she wanted to do the right thing. I loved her! She was smart, strong, and like any girl — just trying to get through high school. 

The great thing about this book is that it’s not all about high school. It’s also about Rose and her family dealing with her dad’s death in Iraq. I loved the relationship between Rose, her mom, and her brother, Peter. It wasn’t all roses and sunshine, but they had problems communication. Throughout the novel they work on overcoming their issues, which was a great contrast to Rose and her issues at school.

Rozett wrote some great characters. It was so easy to fall in love with the right people and to hate others. The characters are just so real, as are the situations. I thought that everything going on in Rose’s first year of high school was just so typical — nothing seemed over the top and unbelievable.

Be warned, though — it may come across as a contemporary YA book, but it is part of a series! Personally, when I finished it, I really wanted the next book! I thoroughly enjoyed this read!

If you like cute stories about the perils of high school and first loves, then this is the book for you! Even more so if you like cute books about going through high school that actually have a little bit of depth to them.

© 2012, Reading In Winter. All rights reserved.

14 thoughts on “ARC REVIEW: Confessions of an Angry Girl (Confessions, #1), by Louise Rozett

  1. I had seen this one on Netgalley and skipped over it because I wasn’t a fan of how snotty and juvenile the protagonist came across in the blurb. I’m happy you looked over that and found a book that you enjoyed! Also, I had no idea this was part of a series! Great review love!

    • I skipped over it initially, too! I really didn’t like the synopsis because she sounded so snotty and annoying, but the book turned out to be really, really good! I can’t wait for the sequel.

  2. As my first day of high school is only 2 days away (eep!) and I’m pretty much freaked out for it, I think I could definitely relate to this book. I saw it on NG, and for some reason, didn’t request it. However, I will be looking for a copy of this book now! I love to relate to books, and love it even more I’m able to relate and love the characters. I’m so glad that you enjoyed this one, Kristilyn! You’ve definitely encouraged me to pick this one up. =)

  3. I am so glad I glad I read your review, because I love Harper Teen’s books but I passed on this because i was afraid it was all about mean girls and high school..I am delighted about the main characters and that it has a well rounded plot..awesome review!

  4. Great review! This sounds really good. I haven’t come across many YA titles where the girl has a lot of things going on in her life and is legitimately angry about them. I’m intrigued. I’m going to add this to my TBR for sure.

  5. Pingback: Clock Rewinders (3) | Reading In Winter

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

