BOOK REVIEW: Darkhouse (Experiment in Terror, #1), by Karina Halle

Date(s) read: September 30 – October 1, 2012
Genre: Paranormal Horror

Series
Darkhouse (#1) Amazon | Goodreads
Red Fox (#2)
The Benson (#2.5)
Dead Sky Morning (#3)
Lying Season (#4)
On Demon Wings (#5)
Old Blood (#5.5)
The Dex Files (#5.7)
Into the Hollow (#6)

SYNOPSIS
Enter the world of the highly-acclaimed Experiment in Terror Series by visiting…the Darkhouse:

There’s always been something a bit off about Perry Palomino. Though she’s been dealing with a quarter-life crisis and post-college syndrome like any other twenty-something, she’s still not what you would call “ordinary.” For one thing, there’s her past which she likes to pretend never happened, and then there’s the fact that she sees ghosts. Luckily for her, that all comes in handy when she stumbles across Dex Foray, an eccentric producer for an upcoming webcast on ghost hunters. Even though the show’s budget is non-existent and Dex himself is a maddening enigma, Perry is instantly drawn into a world that both threatens her life and seduces her with a sense of importance. Her uncle’s haunted lighthouse provides the perfect catalyst and backdrop for a mystery that unravels the threads of Perry’s fragile sanity and causes her to fall for a man, who, like the most dangerous of ghosts, may not be all that he seems.

My Thoughts
I originally got this book for free from Kobo, but after I downloaded it, it sat on my Kobo forever. UNTIL I read The Devil’s Metal and fell in love with Karina’s writing. Shortly after finishing that one, I dove into Darkhouse. I was happy to see that Karina’s knack for writing something creepy, but still with romance and humour held strong in this book as well.

I absolutely loved this story! I’m a sucker for ghost stories and the idea of a ghost story taking place in a lighthouse (A LIGHTHOUSE! Super creepy factor right there!) hooked me right from the start! While I don’t necessarily get scared while reading, I will admit that there was a definite spooky atmosphere going on. It was awesome.

What I loved most, though, was the main character, Perry. I instantly connected with her, which made me know I would be hooked. We shared so many things, with Perry not being perfect, or her being a receptionist, or her liking music, or her unrequited longing for Dex. I GOT HER. I also felt that I got her sister, Ada, despite the fact that Ada seems to be a super-fashionable being – she’s a blogger! I GOT that part of the book, too!

And speaking of Dex, he was another great thing about the book, with all the mystery that surrounds him. I have to say that I was a little put off by him calling Perry “kiddo” a lot, but the fact that these two people are thrown together and there’s no instant love or romance was a bit plus, especially for a book that’s part of a series. That’s not saying that I’m not totally on the romance train because I want it to happen – BADLY!

I knew from the first page that this was going to be a series I would love and I am happy to say that that feeling still holds after finishing this book! I can’t wait to read more about Dex and Perry and their Experiments in Terror show!

I totally recommend this to all lovers of ghost stories!

AUTHOR LINKS
WEB | TWITTER | GOODREADS

© 2012, Reading In Winter. All rights reserved.

39 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: Darkhouse (Experiment in Terror, #1), by Karina Halle

  1. Wow! A huge 5+!!! How cool to find a little gem you didn’t even know you had. I’ll definitely have to check this author out – I’ll go run and see if she’s on Amazon .99cents, too!! My hubs will kill me but hey, that’ll be later… 😉

  2. Yay! I’m so excited every time I see such great reviews for this one. I picked it up when it was free a while back as well, and am honestly shocked that I haven’t heard anything negative about it. Your description of her writing as humorous, romantic, but creepy (and yes, lighthouses are totally creepy!) has me completely sold.

    • Agreed. I think any place that sounds creepy — lighthouses, tiny islands, mental institutions, prisons, basements — is haunted. My imagination likes to mess with me!

  3. Oh, now you’ve made me excited! I’ve heard really good things about Karina Halle elsewhere as well, but haven’t had a chance to read any of her work yet.

  4. Oh.. really? This sounds freaking awesome! I have had it for ages, too but I kept putting it off, I guess I have to stop doing that, huh!? Awesome review, chickie! LOVE creepy books like this!!

  5. Sounds like you really enjoyed this one! Always a good thing. I’m not too sure about it for myself though, I’m not the biggest fan of ghost stories. I think Anna has been the one exception for me so far..

    Thanks for the review!

  6. So, I definitely started this series based on that one tweet of yours. For some reason ‘Red Fox’ was free on Kobo as well, so I got the first couple and 2.5 for free, which is pretty awesome. As you know I’m totally sick right now, so I just spent the WHOLE day reading these books! I don’t think I’m quite as in love with them as you are, but I definitely really like them, and I find them addictive. I just went to Kindle and got all the rest of them while they’re .99 and I have just converted them for my Kobo… I’m going to read a bit of Book 3 before going to sleep, and I hope I won’t be too freaked, haha. So basically thanks for the recommendation, because these books are a lot of fun and I wouldn’t have heard of them otherwise! I love the creepiness that thankfully doesn’t get too scary, and mostly I love Perry and I can’t wait to see what happens next. =)

    • YAY! I’m so happy that you’re liking them, Ashley!! Can I say yay for you being sick? No, no … it’s horrible that you’re sick, BUT I’m glad you decided to read these while you were! I adore Perry and can’t wait for the 6th book to come out!

      • I did! I liked certain aspects of it, obviously knowing how Dex sees things and understanding him a bit better was awesome. Normally I’m not the biggest fan of novellas just because of the shorter length, and how that one was structured with all the different scenes was awesome, but a bit harder to get into than a whole story, I found.

    • I know!!! It’s such a great series!! Whenever I think about it, I just start fangirling. It’s a little embarrassing.

      The whole series is creepy, fantastic, and awesome!!

  7. Pingback: Clock Rewinders on a Book Binge (10) | Reading In Winter

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

