BLOGIVERSARY FEATURE: Meet the Edmonton Book Bloggers

When I started blogging, I did it mainly because I didn’t really have anyone in my life to talk about books with. Instead, I relied on the blog to lead me to people who shared my taste in books. Fortunately for me, the blog — and social media — led me to meet some book bloggers right here in my home city! So, when it came time to write up some feature posts for my blogiversary celebration, I knew I couldn’t leave out the Edmonton Book Bloggers.

To put the pressure on them, I sent out a questionnaire to my blogging friends in the city and compiled their answers in this post. Without further adieu, meet the Edmonton Book Bloggers!

Meet: Jenni, from Alluring Reads

Hi! I’m Jenni and I am a book-a-holic.  I live in Edmonton, Alberta, Canada and more than anything, I love reading.  I mostly read within the YA genre though I do venture into middle grade and adult from time to time.  I was big into reading in high school but then when I had my children I stepped away from it for a bit.  Now that my brats are a bit older and I have more time on my hands I have jumped back into it head on. I’m also painfully opinionated, I’m constantly debating with those who know me best, so a blog was the perfect marriage of my love for reading and my love for shoving my opinions down people’s throats.

What is your favourite genre?
I used to think that paranormal romance was my favorite genre, but I have been finding more and more lately that the best experience for me is getting lost in a good gritty contemporary.  I like a real book that deals with tough issues in an unflinching way.  I like to grab my box of tissues and shed some tears for the characters and I like to walk away feeling like I need a stiff drink and a nap!

Name 3 of your favourite authors.
Stephen King of course.  Though more of his old stuff, his new stuff isn’t really for me, his older novels and novellas will always be fall backs of mine.  Anne Rice is amazing and lately I have been loving Jennifer Brown books!

What book are you currently reading?
I am reading The Chosen One by Carol Lynch Williams.  It’s a story that takes place within a polygamist colony and tells of our main character questioning the society in which she grew up in the face of having to marry her uncle! It’s mind blowing and making me want to know if the extreme aspects do in fact happen in these settings.

What is your favourite Canadian city?
I will have to say Edmonton. I grew up here and it is full of action.  There is always something to do.  It’s always fun when someone comes to visit and they are just dying to go to West Edmonton Mall.  Though I NEVER go there unless I am taking someone who wants to go LOL

What book could you read over and over again?
I have never actually re-read a book.  I haven’t had the urge, maybe one day I will. I’ll have to keep you updated.

What is your favourite thing about book blogging?
I don’t have a lot of readers in my “real” life and the readers that I do know, don’t read YA.  It’s so awesome to meet so many people who are interested in the same things as me and I can have in depth discussions about books and authors that I love.

Meet: Ambur, from Burning.x.Impossibly.x.Bright

Ambur is a student at the University of Alberta working towards her BA in English. She hopes to get into the publishing industry someday, and likes to share her thoughts and love of books on her blog, Burning Impossibly Bright. She tends to mostly read and review YA books, but don’t be surprised if you see a sports romance or classic pop up on her blog every now and then. 😀

What is your favourite genre?
I read (and love) a lot of genres! I like to mix it up, but if I have to pick a favourite, I’d say YA in general….but if I’m being more specific, dystopian! I’ve gotten majorly hooked in the last while! 😀

Name 3 of your favourite authors.
Cassandra Clare, Ellen Hopkins, and Veronica Roth

What book are you currently reading?
The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky! I’m prepping for the movie. 😉 I’ve also got the fourth book in the A Song of Ice and Fire Series, A Feast For Crows, on the side, too. 😉

What is your favourite Canadian city?
I haven’t actually traveled very much, so I can’t really say that I’ve been to many other Canadian cities. Edmonton’s the one I’m most familiar with, but I don’t know if I’d say it’s my favourite. I have been to Vancouver and I absolutely loved seeing the ocean so close. I also absolutely love Jasper and Banff (they’re not really big enough to be cities…definitely smaller, but oh well :p). The scenery is just gorgeous near the mountains! 😀

What book could you read over and over again?
Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine…or anything by Kody Keplinger. 😉

What is your favourite thing about book blogging?
I love being able to share my love of reading with others. 🙂 I love learning about the books others loved, and I love telling them about the ones I love…and the thing I love most is how easy it is to bond with other book bloggers over books! You could’ve just met another blogger, but once you get to talking about books it feels like you’ve known them for forever. 🙂

Meet: Tammy, from Mad Musings of Masters Mind

My name is Tammy from Mad Musings of Masters Mind and I’m an Edmonton Book Blogger 🙂

What is your favourite genre?
Seems to be paranormal – YA, UF , romance – or really anything that catches my eye – I read different genres.

Name 3 of your favourite authors.
Only three?? Hmmmm Maybe Anne Rice, Stephen King…… Stephenie Meyer (cause she is the reason I read a lot of YA today)

What book are you currently reading?
Just started Across the Universe by Beth Revis – that opening chapter is just… WOW.  Also doing a Beta read called Beautiful Freaks by Katie M John

What is your favourite Canadian city?
Hard to say since I’ve not traveled around much – proud of my hometown Edmonton

What book could you read over and over again?
Twilight series, because it evokes feelings of how my life was when I first read it.  It’s the book I go back to to cheer myself up.

What is your favourite thing about book blogging?
I’m still fairly new to book blogging, but I love chatting with all the bookish people I’ve met – it makes me feel like I’m almost normal….. almost…..

Meet: Megan, from Megan Likes Books

I’m Megan and, as you’ve probably guessed from my blog’s name, I like books. I’ve been a bookworm pretty much since I learned to read and my favourite genre is fantasy/paranormal. I read both adult and young adult books, but YA is still my favourite. I started my blog at the end of January 2012.

What is your favourite genre?
Oops, I think I answered this one in my blurb, but my favourite genre is fantasy. Anything with magic, werewolves, vampires, zombies, faeries, unicorns, talking animals, etc.

Name 3 of your favourite authors.
Holly Black, Madeleine L’Engle and J.K. Rowling

What book are you currently reading?
Hex Hall by Rachel Hawkins

What is your favourite Canadian city?
I’m a farm girl, so most cities all seem the same to me. But my favourite is probably Red Deer, Alberta, which is where I went to high school. It’s small enough to feel like a small town, except it has Walmart and Costco!

What book could you read over and over again?
The Harry Potter series. I’ve read the first books more times that I can remember!

What is your favourite thing about book blogging?
I love being able to interact with other people who love books. Most of my friends aren’t big readers (beyond just reading Harry Potter and Twilight), so it’s nice to have people to talk books with. Plus I’ve found out about some amazing authors I never would have found otherwise!

Meet: Aylee, from Recovering Potter Addict

Hello, my name is Aylee and I am a Potterholic. The first step to recovery is admitting you have a problem. Nah, just joking, I don’t want to cure my obsession with Harry Potter! I would not be the reader I am today if it wasn’t for J.K. Rowling’s phenomenal series! But now that the Harry Potter series is over, I am trying to move on from my addiction and find new books to love to help me get through my post-Potter depression. Thus the idea behind my blog, Recovering Potter Addict. In real life, I am a recent graduate with a BSc and a special interest in palaeontology.

What is your favourite genre?
All things Fantasy!

Name 3 of your favourite authors.
J.K. Rowling, Patrick Ness, Philip Pullman

What book are you currently reading?
Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor (and I am in LOVE!)

What is your favourite Canadian city?
I have not had the pleasure of visiting a whole ton of Canadian cities as of yet, but from the ones I’ve seen, Vancouver is an easy choice.

What book could you read over and over again?
No surprises here: I never get tired of reading Harry Potter.

What is your favourite thing about book blogging?
I’ve never had any close friends in real life who are as into reading as I am, so to have this outlet to discuss books with other immense book lovers and never have them get annoyed by my rants and ravings about books is pretty cool.

Meet: Leanne, from Escaping With Books

Hey, my name is Leanne Yang and I’m in love with books, music and photography. I was an on-again off-again reader, but now I feel as if books are the best thing that ever happened. Anyways, I started my blog in April, but the reviews were really just a summary at the time. It wasn’t until July that I became a more serious blogger, posted more reviews (since it was summer), and started commenting on other blogs. What have I gotten out of it so far? The joy of blogging and meeting others.

What is your favourite genre?
YA Contemporary Fiction

Name 3 of your favourite authors.
J. K. Rowling, Kristin Hannah, James Patterson (if I could pick one more, it’d be Cassandra Clare)

What book are you currently reading?
Before I Fall, by Lauren Oliver

What is your favourite Canadian city?
DUH, Edmonton! To be honest, I haven’t been anywhere else in Canada except for Kelowna, Banff, Calgary, and Drumheller.

What book could you read over and over again?
Night Road by Kristin Hannah

What is your favourite thing about book blogging?
Designing the blog, seeing other designs, but mostly meeting bloggers and being able to interact with everyone.

Meet: Jennifer, from Misbehavin’ Librarian

My blog is mostly reviews – usually done in point form since I am a truly awful writer. I do the odd post about various book events that I have attended but tend to keep it simple and quick as I know we are all busy. My reading taste is truly eclectic and am willing to try almost everything. My reviews are always honest, but I do try very carefully with my reviews that they are never mean spirited or insulting. Mostly because as mentioned before I really suck at the writing thing & who am I to judge.  I just moved to Calgary from Toronto in July so sometimes there will  be posts about differences between two cities in my opinion.

What is your favourite genre?
Dystopian & Post Apocalyptic

Name 3 of your favourite authors.
Now that is a bloody hard question, I love so many. But if any of these write a book, I will go out and buy it: Julie Kenner, Jeaniene Frost & Lesley Livingston.

What book are you currently reading?
The End of Your Life Book Club, A Nation Worth Ranting About & Bad Girls Don’t Die

What is your favourite Canadian city?
Toronto (Mostly because I miss it so much right now) because there are always book and author events going on.

What book could you read over and over again?
The Stand – read it every year – often when I have a cold cuz it makes it so much more fun and realistic.

What is your favourite thing about book blogging?
Love having the opportunity to read books that I normally would never have picked up & mostly just being able to hang around with others who are as passionate about reading as I am.

Meet: Laura, from Reading In Bed

I’ve been a reader all my life, but it was hard to keep it up after having my first baby. I had been working on the 1,001 Books You Must Read Before You Die for a few years, and in 2011 I decided to get serious and read my 100th book by the end of the year. I blog about the 1,001 books, classics, literary fiction, local authors and events, and feminist issues in literature.

What is your favourite genre?
Literary fiction, although I sort of hate how that sounds and all the snobbish implications.

Name 3 of your favourite authors.
Gabriel Garcia Marquez, David Adams Richards, John Steinbeck

What book are you currently reading?
Every Love Story is a Ghost Story by DT Max and Consider the Lobster by David Foster Wallace. Both non-fiction, which is not normal.

What is your favourite Canadian city?
To visit, Saint John or Halifax. To live, Edmonton.

What book could you read over and over again?
Wuthering Heights, Love in the Time of Cholera, High Fidelity

What is your favourite thing about book blogging?
Validation – through comments, conversation, and finding kindred spirits.

Meet: Rola, from XO Reads

Hey! My name is Rola and I’m a 17 year-old bookworm from the wintery glow of Canada, who finds pure bliss in hiding behind novels for hours. I’m a huge fan of Young adult and Adult fiction, and pretty much anything with words on it. I’m an open minded reader, and a lover of writing, poetry, Hard rock music and coffee! I have a rather large feminist bone in my body and I enjoy chatting with anyone who will listen. My blog, xo’reads, was created in an attempt to interact with fellow book fanatics and blow off some after-reading steam on books I both loved and hated. My little experiment turned successful, as I now blog whenever I’m not studying  or reading, and I couldn’t love it more!

What is your favourite genre?
Good question—I was wondering the same thing! Haha!

I tend to go through phases. I’ll be on a paranormal rampage for a month, and then switch to contemporary, followed by urban fantasy, dystopian, historical fiction, paranormal romance, yada yada. It’s so hard to choose when there are SO many phenomenal books out there. I wish I had the time to read them all! But unfortunately, being a book-potato doesn’t pay for anything, so I’m stuck with reading in between my study breaks :p

I’d basically say books with a dab of paranormal-anything in it will catch my attention. Magic & otherworldly things? Yes please. I mean, we live a normal life every day, so why not read about something that’s totally out here?

Name 3 of your favourite authors:
I’d have to say Libba Bray, Margaret Stohl & L.J. Smith. My list could go on forever, really, but I absolutely adore those three!

What book are you currently reading?
Diviners by Libba Bray. I’m impressed so far… Anything this lady writes is intriguing!

What is your favourite Canadian city?
I’m a horrible Canadian. Everytime it gets cold mid-winter, I threaten Canada that I’ll move to California… It continues to be -30, so I don’t think it cares very much :p

I enjoy busy places! So I’d have to say Toronto or Vancouver/Victoria. Tons of people, busy streets, beautiful night time city lights with a fun-packed downtown… that is my kind of city!

What book could you read over and over again?
Definitely “The Night Circus” by Erin Morgenstern. Every single aspect of it wow’d me, I don’t think I could ever get tired of reading it!

What is your favourite thing about book blogging?
The community. It’s absolutely phenomenal. Book bloggers, blog readers, authors who interact with us, they’re all AMAZING. It really makes Book Blogging worthwhile.  It’s awesome to be able to have a page that expresses me and the thing that I am most passionate about. And then having others, fellow book bloggers and avid readers, who feel as strongly connected to books as I do, share their enthusiasm and celebrate their love of literature with a supporting community—that’s what it’s all about. Being in love with one thing and sharing it with all the right people makes it one of the greatest experiences of a life time.

Meet: Brie, from Eat Books

Hi, I’m Brie and I blog over at Eat Books. I am a registered nurse by day, book-seller by night and a blogger in my spare time!  I started my blog in January of this year after signing up for the 50 Book Pledge. I’d never really kept track of the books I read and as I’ve gotten older, I’ve realized that I can barely remember any of these books either. I wanted a way to track my reading and work on remembering the books I read. Enter my book blog. I tend to read older books that have been forgotten on my shelves or whatever strikes my mood at the time.  I love discussing all things bookish. I’ve also been known to periodically blog about random life things (like a few travel posts if I travel somewhere) and I dedicate most Sundays to blogging about my blue-nosed pit bull, Saigon.

What is your favourite genre?
My favourite genre has, and always will be general fiction. But that doesn’t mean I don’t enjoy other genres of books. I like to think I read a little bit of everything, from adult-fiction, to young-adult, to biography to middle-grade. Really, for me, it’s more about the potential story than the genre.

Name 3 of your favourite authors.
This is a tough one. Off the top of my head I would have to say Lori Lansens, Edeet Ravel and Amy Tan.

What book are you currently reading?
I am currently reading The Grapes of Wrath, which is for a readalong I’m doing this month, and I’m also reading The Kind Diet by Alicia Silverstone on the side.  I usually have one fiction and one non-fiction on the go and sometimes an audiobook for when I’m in the car.

What is your favourite Canadian city?
Again, another tough question! I think I’d have to pick Halifax. I love the architecture, the landscape, the history, the ocean, the shops and the friendly people.  It’s like being in a different country altogether, let alone another city.

What book could you read over and over again?
Well, I’ve rarely read a book twice, but if I HAD to read a book over and over, I would pick The Girls by Lori Lansens.

What is your favourite thing about book blogging?
I like that it gives me a place to talk about something I love so much – books! And reading books! And I love that you meet like-minded people through blogging – people you’d actually want to be friends with in real life. Aka, really awesome people.

Meet: Cassay, from Vamps, Weres and Cassay

Hi Everyone. I would like to thank Kristilyn for having me on her blog again to talk about myself and my blog Vamps, Weres and Cassay. I am a full-time accountant, part-time night class student and lifelong reader. I actually hated reading when I was younger and recently picked up reading in June 2008. J. K. Rowling started my love of reading and it snowballed into an extreme obsession and now my 1 bookshelf is overflowing with novels. I started my blog in July 2010. The reason I started blogging was to track the novels that I had read and to have my opinions of these novels in the same place.

What is your favourite genre?
YA – Paranormal Romance and Urban Fantasy

Name 3 of your favourite authors.
Kelley Armstrong, Heather Brewer and Lisa Shearin

What book are you currently reading?
Hidden by Sophie Jordan

What is your favourite Canadian city?
Well seeing I’ve only been in AB and BC I’m extremely limited but I am going to say Radium/Invermere/Fairmount are in BC. It’s a beautiful area filled with tons of golf courses. We went there this past summer and I could go back every year.

What book could you read over and over again?
Harry Potter series – I wish I could reread it but I just don’t have the time 😦

What is your favourite thing about book blogging?
Meeting bloggers through Twitter and Blogs. I feel like meeting and interacting with other bloggers is the fun and stress free part of blogging.

Meet: Rick, from The Book-A-Week Project

My name is Rick and I’m originally from the tiny town of Inverness, Nova Scotia. After getting an English degree from Saint Mary’s University I moved to Toronto to pursue a career in publishing. But after working as a line editor for a while I ended up taking a job across the country in Edmonton as a journalist/managing editor for a winter tourism company. I’m now a writer/project manager for a marketing company in the automobile industry (yet, I borderline dislike cars … weird, I know). To help satisfy an ill-advised New Year’s Resolution that requires me to read at least one book per week, I’ve chosen the world’s least creative way to keep myself on track: by writing a blog. I read a bit of everything, from classics to memoirs to young adult to fantasy to non-fiction to graphic novels, you name it. I try to be as varied as possible.

What is your favourite genre?
I practically raised myself on Fantasy and Science Fiction novels, and read them religiously well into my twenties, but over the past year or so I’ve noticed my interest in the genre has dwindled significantly. These things are cyclical, though, and I’m sure I’ll be back in the swing of things eventually.

Nowadays, I find that I don’t so much as search out specific genres as I do particular voices. The older I get the more in tune I am with who myself is as a person, and whenever I find an author who absolutely nails my interior tone of voice (like, say, a Wally Lamb or John Irving), the more I appreciate it.

The thing I’ve learned this year from writing my blog is how I don’t think I’ll ever be able to pigeonhole myself into reading just specific genres anymore. There are SO many amazing books out there, from all kinds of genres, that you’re doing yourself a bit of a disservice when you’re not reading widely.

(If that’s not your style, though, more power to you. Read what you love.)

Name 3 of your favourite authors.
Wally Lamb: Lamb’s “I Know This Much is True” is my favourite novel of all time, a fact that might stay true until the day I die. I have never, before or since, read an author with such power and sensitivity. I loved this book so much that I have refused to read anything else he’s written, for fear that it will somehow diminish my absolute adoration. I own three of his other novels, and I’ll read them one day, but I’m more than happy to wait, and savour, and bask in perfection.

Tad Williams: Williams is, in my opinion, the greatest chameleon writing today. His ability to shift genre styles is extraordinary. He’s also one of the wisest people I’ve ever had the pleasure of reading. His books are riddled with (original) truisms that force you to close the book and just digest them for a few minutes. “Memory, Sorrow, and Thorn” is, in my very humble opinion, the greatest trilogy ever written. J. R. R. Tolkien can go suck a fat one.

Christopher Moore: I’m an extremely goofy person by day, and Christopher Moore is one of the few writers that can satisfy that side of me while delivering something I truly consider literary. This guy is crazy talented, and beyond ridiculous. His unreal re-telling of the Jesus narrative, “Lamb” is one of the finest books I’ve ever read. It is the only book I’ve ever cried from both laughter and sadness. For a book this hilarious, Judas’ hanging scene is unfathomably poignant.

What book are you currently reading?
I’m just about to sit down to read “Wild” by Cheryl Strayed.

What is your favorite Canadian city?
I’ve lived in Halifax, then Toronto, and now Edmonton, and at this point it’s hard to answer that question. I LOVED living in Toronto, but I did so while going to school, and I don’t think I’d look forward to doing it again while pursuing a career (it’s too cutthroat and elitist for my tastes). I really enjoy living in Edmonton, so I suppose I’ll go with that. (Halifax is great, but I don’t really have any ambition to move back home.)

What book could you read over and over again?
I’ve read “The Dragonbone Chair” by Tad Williams seven times, to my count. And this book is 800 pages long. I’m telling you, I love that guy.

What is your favourite thing about book blogging?
I’ve gotten much more out of this process than I thought I would, but my favourite part has been the sheer amount I’ve read this year. Blogging keeps me motivated, which keeps me reading, which is the whole point of it, really.

Meet: Lisa, from Little Miss Trainwreck

Lisa Lunney is a graduate of Grant MacEwan University’s Professional Writing and Communications Applied Degree program. She is currently battling stage III Melanoma, and shares her story with others in hopes of persuading others from entering tanning beds. She loves writing, reading, fashion, music and tattoos. She firmly believes words have the power to change lives, and she hopes by sharing hers she may spark a positive change within her readers. The blog of Little Miss Trainwreck is a world outside of the norm. This blog features author interviews, book reviews, fashion reviews, music, personal poetry, melanoma awareness and more! The variety of features is huge—from Louis Vuitton reviews to YA book reviews. There is something for everyone to enjoy and relate too.

What is your favourite genre?
I honestly don’t have a favourite genre. All books appeal to me. Choosing a favourite genre is like choosing a favourite child—impossible, & wrong!

Name 3 of your favourite authors.
Kelley Armstrong, Gwen Cooper, Jeff Lindsay…ooh and Charlaine Harris and Patricia Briggs too!

What book are you currently reading?
In the spirit of Halloween I am reading all things paranormal and creepy this month, the two current books on the go are Growing Up Psychic-My Story of Not Just Surviving But Thriving And How Others Like Me Can, Too By Chip Coffey, and a perfect ‘ol gothic horror classic Castle of Otranto by Horace Walpole.

What is your favourite Canadian city?
Home is where the heart is, so my heart is in Edmonton.

What book could you read over and over again?
I have read Alice Sebold’s The Lovely Bones about a billion times, Shutter Island by Dennis Lehane, Bitten by Kelley Armstrong, Homer’s Odyssey by Gwen Cooper..okay, that was more than one. I still have to add to the list, the classic Madeline stories by Ludwig Bemelmans. These stories have a piece of my heart in them; to me these stories resurrect my Grandma with every word. When I read them, I feel like she is here with me again reading to me.

What is your favourite thing about book blogging?
I love sharing my thoughts with others, and it is awesome to see how others relate, or completely disagree with your thoughts! Words are meant to be shared, and it is perfect to share feelings and thoughts on novels with others and create bonds.

Thank you to all of the Edmonton book bloggers who participated!

© 2012, Reading In Winter. All rights reserved.

34 thoughts on “BLOGIVERSARY FEATURE: Meet the Edmonton Book Bloggers

  1. Pingback: Clock Rewinders on a Book Binge (10) | Reading In Winter

  2. Pingback: Meet the Edmonton Book Bloggers! Spotlight on Reading in Winter | Reading in Bed

  3. Nice getting to know a bit more about you all 🙂 It’s been a short journey so far – but I’m having a blast! Edmonton is an amazing city, and the Edmonton Book Bloggers are another example of that 🙂

  4. Great Post Kristilyn! Thank you for having me and it was great to read everyones answers!

    Rola – I threaten Edmonton all the time to move to Cali!

  5. Thanks for having all of us on your blog, Kristilyn! All of you girls are awesome, I’m so glad jenni came into my store when she did 😉

  6. Such an awesome feature. I loved reading what Rick had to say about I Know This Much Is True since I got that one from you recently. Now I am more excited than ever to pick it up! Thanks for putting this together Kristilyn!

  7. I’ve really been looking forward to reading this post! Mainly because I didn’t know a whole lot about everyone and their reading tastes, so it’s so nice to get to know more. I love how diverse this group is! I’m glad, because it keeps it interesting! I also love how we almost all pretty much came up with the same answer for our favourite thing about blogging.

  8. What book could you read over and over again?
    “I have never actually re-read a book. I haven’t had the urge, maybe one day I will. I’ll have to keep you updated.” – Jenni

    WHAAAAAAAT?!

  9. It has taken me way too long to stop by and comment on this! 😛 At least I’m commenting now though I guess…better late than never. 😛

    Thanks for interviewing us all, Kristilyn! It was really interesting to see everyone’s answers, and I loved seeing where there was overlap, and where we all differed. Pretty neat! 😀 This is definitely the kind of thing that we could all probably do in some form or other…even if it were for discussions…we could just interview each other to see what we all think! 😀 I still just think it’s so awesome that we actually have an Edmonton Blogger Group! I love that we can all get together if we want, or just chat on our FB group…it’s really great having that kind of community that can extend to real life instead of just staying online. 😀

  10. Pingback: BLOGIVERSARY FEATURE: One Year Stats and One Year of Favourite Books | Reading In Winter

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

