BOOK REVIEW: Red Fox (Experiment in Terror, #2), by Karina Halle

Date(s) read: October 2 – 4, 2012
Genre: Paranormal Horror

Series
Darkhouse (#1)
Red Fox (#2) Amazon | Goodreads
The Benson (#2.5)
Dead Sky Morning (#3)
Lying Season (#4)
On Demon Wings (#5)
Old Blood (#5.5)
The Dex Files (#5.7)
Into the Hollow (#6)

SYNOPSIS
With Book Two of the Experiment in Terror Series, Perry Palomino and Dex Foray trade in the stormy Oregon coast for the unforgiving deserts of New Mexico.

In the for­got­ten town of Red Fox, a Navajo cou­ple is tor­tured by things unseen and by motives unknown. Wild ani­mals slink through their house in the dark, a bar­rage of stones pound their roof nightly, and muti­lated sheep car­casses are turn­ing up on their prop­erty. Armed with a cam­era and just enough to go on, Perry and Dex travel to the des­o­late locale, hop­ing to film the super­nat­ural occur­rences and add cred­i­bil­ity to their flail­ing web­cast. Only their show has a lot more work­ing against them than just grow­ing pains. Tested by dubi­ous ranch hands, a ghost from Dex’s past, and shapeshift­ing decep­tion, the ama­teur ghost hunters must learn to trust each other in order to fight the most ancient of myths…or die trying.

My Thoughts

I’ve said it before, but I’ll say it again: SO MUCH LOVE FOR THIS SERIES!

I don’t have cable at home, but if I did, I would be one of those people who would watch all the ghost hunting shows. I just love them. There’s something about being terrified by the unknown that just excites me. Well, when it’s happening to someone ELSE, of course.

In Red Fox, Dex and Perry’s web show Experiments in Terror continues as they venture off to Red Fox for a job. The story takes place quite soon after the ending of Darkhouse and I was eager to jump right in. While there was no spooky lighthouse in this story, there was a wealth of new characters and a whole new story for Dex and Perry to deal with.

In my review of Darkhouse, I mentioned the unrequited love and the fact that the story doesn’t immediately jump into instant romance and I’m happy to say that there is still so much build up to what might happen between the two main characters. I don’t want to give anything away, but I want MORE!! I think the relationship between Dex and Perry is my favourite thing about these stories because it’s complicated and confusing, but not in a bad way. There’s just so much sexual tension going on that I find myself getting impatient as I read – THANKFULLY there are more books in the series, still, so I HOPE something happens. Soon.

Oh, and in THIS book, Perry and Dex have to pretend to me married. YES, right? I was smiling like a crazy person from the point when I read that one line until the end of the book.

Again, I didn’t feel necessarily scared while reading this, but that’s just me and something I’ll have to accept. The day they decide to add soundtracks to novels will be the day that I might get scared. Maybe. BUT Karina Halle still has that knack for writing scary scenes and creepy characters – personally, I think Darkhouse was creepier, but this story seemed a whole lot different from that one because it wasn’t so much dealing with the paranormal. It still worked and it still had me tearing through the pages like a madwoman.

A great installment from Karina, which has me immediately wanting to dive into the next book in the series!

AUTHOR LINKS
WEB | TWITTER | GOODREADS

© 2012, Reading In Winter. All rights reserved.

9 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: Red Fox (Experiment in Terror, #2), by Karina Halle

  1. Wow! High praise for a book/series that I haven’t heard about before. Which I love because it’s always nice to read a raving review for a lesser known book that is not getting a ton of hype, but definitely should be. The romance sounds awesome – I love those slow build-up, tension-ridden relationships! They’re the most fun 🙂

  2. This one was definitely one of the least scary, but I was okay with that. The fake marriage was epic amazing, and I freaking adored the dance scene at the bar.

    Dex & Perry are… oh man, they are one of those couples that you want to get together SO BADLY. The author did such a good job at creating layered & very flawed characters, and I think that’s why I enjoyed each book even more than the ones before.

  3. Glad you liked this one. I’m reading it shortly, maybe by the end of the month if I can get to it. I’m really excited as I thought Darkhouse was pretty good and had a TON of potential as a great starter to a series. Thanks, Kristilyn!

  4. Pingback: Clock Rewinders on a Book Binge (11) | Reading In Winter

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

