BOOK REVIEW: Dead Sky Morning (Experiment in Terror, #3), by Karina Halle

Date(s) read: October 4 – 5, 2012
Genre: Paranormal Horror

Series
Darkhouse (#1)
Red Fox (#2)
The Benson (#2.5)
Dead Sky Morning (#3) Amazon | Goodreads
Lying Season (#4)
On Demon Wings (#5)
Old Blood (#5.5)
The Dex Files (#5.7)
Into the Hollow (#6)

SYNOPSIS
With the Experiment in Terror show finding some success, amateur ghost hunters Perry Palomino and Dex Foray embark on their most terrifying investigation yet. A tiny, fog-shrouded island in the rough strait between British Columbia and Washington State has held a dark secret for decades: It was a former leper colony where over forty souls were left to rot, die and bury each other. Now a functioning campground, Perry and Dex spend an isolated weekend there to investigate potential hauntings but as the duo quickly find out, there is more to fear on D’Arcy Island than just ghosts. The island quickly pits partner against partner, spiraling the pair into madness that serves to destroy their sanity, their relationship and their very lives.

My Thoughts
Holy man, I don’t even know where to begin with this review! I loved this book so much that I think it’s my favourite one in the series so far.

First of all, the dynamics between Dex and Perry, the hosts of the Experiment in Terror web show, are so frustrating that I find myself getting anxious while reading. This is GOOD THING! I care so much about these characters that the second things start to get worse for them, I get fearful. And – AND! – there is so much sexual tension going on, in this story especially, that I get jittery and nervous while reading. I just want good things – GOOD THINGS!

I loved that Dex and Perry were going to an island for this story. When I started reading, I knew immediately that I was going to love the setting for the story, even though I loved the setting in each previous novel, thinking that the next novel couldn’t compete.  An island that was full of lepers? SIGN ME UP! Well, not literally, but this worked so much for this story.

In the past few novels, there has always been Dex, Perry, and another cast of characters, whether it’s Perry’s Uncle Al and cousins, or the crew in Red Fox, but in this story, it’s JUST Dex and Perry. I was on the edge of my seat for the whole story just for this reason. I loved that I learned so much more about each of them and that there were no other characters (save for the ghosts on the island) getting in the way.

And the island! Holy cow, what a setting! I love how Karina mixes the horror with humour and that bit of unrequited romance. In the last novel, Dex and Perry had to pretend to be married to one another and in this one (at one point) they had to share a sleeping bag. Did you read that right? THEY HAD TO SLEEP TOGETHER! Seriously, so much frustration must have been emanating from me while reading this that I’m amazed I finished reading this in one piece.

Karina Halle is a superstar of this genre. I just can’t say more good things about the story! It was THAT good. This is a series that I recommend any fans of horror, or fans of reading in general. I can’t seem to tear myself away!

AUTHOR LINKS
WEB | TWITTER | GOODREADS

© 2012, Reading In Winter. All rights reserved.

5 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: Dead Sky Morning (Experiment in Terror, #3), by Karina Halle

  1. Pingback: Clock Rewinders on a Book Binge (11) | Reading In Winter

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

