BOOK REVIEW: Lying Season (Experiment in Terror, #4), by Karina Halle

Date(s) read: October 5 -6, 2012
Genre: Paranormal Horror

Series
Darkhouse (#1)
Red Fox (#2)
The Benson (#2.5)
Dead Sky Morning (#3)
Lying Season (#4) Amazon | Goodreads
On Demon Wings (#5)
Old Blood (#5.5)
The Dex Files (#5.7)
Into the Hollow (#6)

SYNOPSIS
Ama­teur ghost-hunter Perry Palomino has bat­tled ghosts, fought off skin­walk­ers and skirted the fine line between life and death. But can she sur­vive bunk­ing down in Seat­tle for a week with her partner (and man she secretly loves) Dex and his perfect girl­friend, Jennifer? And can she do so while being tor­mented by a mali­cious spirit from Dex’s increas­ingly shady past? With love and life in the bal­ance, Perry must dis­cover the truth among the lies or risk los­ing every­thing she’s ever cared about.

My Thoughts
When I first started this series, I was excited. A haunted lighthouse? Yes! But then I read Red Fox with its haunted couple and thought, YES! This is awesome! THEN, I read Dead Sky Morning, with the haunted island and was jumping out of my seat. A haunted island is the BEST THING EVER! And now, I read Lying Season where Dex and Perry are going to a haunted mental institution? It just keeps getting better and better!

I was so worried starting this series, thinking that I wasn’t going to be scared, or that the first book would be good, but the next ones won’t compare, but I was SO WRONG! The stories just keep getting better and better, the relationship between Dex and Perry with all of its sexual tension and just, well, ALL THE THINGS keeps getting better and better, and the more I read these books, the scarier they get. That’s right. With Lying Season, I was actually kind of scared. This isn’t to say that the previous books weren’t scary (because they were), but they didn’t make me want to sleep with the lights on. Lying Season totally did. Maybe it’s the mental institution, but SCARY THINGS HAPPEN!

And the relationship between Dex and Perry? So many things happened at the end of Dead Sky Morning, that I wanted to jump into this novel with things laid out neatly and finally get what I’ve been wanting in the past three books. But I’m still left on the edge of my seat, tapping my foot as I read, wanting ALL THE THINGS to happen, but not knowing when that’s going to happen. Any fan of the series will say the same thing. The great thing, though, is that Dex and Perry’s relationship is so normal – nothing comes easy, even love. Karina Halle is a master at writing a story that will make my heart soar at one point, then make it plummet during another.

Oh, and the cover for this installment is SO GORGEOUS and completely fitting to the story. Probably my favourite cover so far. It’s perfect!

I feel like all I do with these reviews is gush and gush about Karina Halle and her characters and her stories, but it can’t be helped. I finish each book and immediately need more. This is such a good thing and it’s landed Karina on my “must buy” list.

AUTHOR LINKS
WEB | TWITTER | GOODREADS

© 2012, Reading In Winter. All rights reserved.

19 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: Lying Season (Experiment in Terror, #4), by Karina Halle

  1. All right, I’m going to try these. Horror is hit or miss for me. I don’t like my horror too horrifying — just really suspenseful and creepy. I do like the idea of a haunted mental institution — I loved Shutter Island by Dennis Lehane. So maybe I can handle it.

    • Yes! I would say that these books are definitely more on the suspenseful and creepy side — and with romance! That’s always a plus. For me, at least. 🙂 I hope you like them! Darkhouse is a freebie, anyway, so at least you can start out without spending anything!

  2. The mental institution parts of this one were definitely SO CREEPY. I’m glad it was in book form, because that type of story in movie version? Totally the type of movie I can’t handle… so scary!!

    I freaking adored how their relationship was finally such a hugeee part of the story, and yet it’s so frustrating and I kind of hated both the characters at moments here, and then of course loved them as well. This was me at the end of the book: edghksjdghfsjdakgdhsafsdgdsfv (!!!!!) Like really, there is no way to be coherent.

  3. Pingback: Clock Rewinders on a Book Binge (11) | Reading In Winter

  4. Pingback: BOOK REVIEW: On Demon Wings (Experiment in Terror, #5), by Karina Halle | Reading In Winter

  5. Pingback: MUSICAL SATURDAY: Experiments in Terror | Reading In Winter

  6. Pingback: COVER REVEAL: And With Madness Comes the Light (Experiment in Terror, #6.5), by Karina Halle | Reading In Winter

  7. Pingback: BOOK REVIEW: Into the Hollow (Experiment in Terror, #6), by Karina Halle | Reading In Winter

  8. Pingback: GUEST POST: Music in Sins & Needles, by Karina Halle | Reading In Winter

  9. Pingback: BOOK REVIEW: Sins & Needles (The Artists Trilogy, #1), by Karina Halle | Reading In Winter

  10. Pingback: COVER REVEAL: Shooting Scars (The Artists Trilogy, #2), by Karina Halle | Reading In Winter

  11. Pingback: BOOK REVIEW: And With Madness Comes the Light (Experiment in Terror, #6.5), by Karina Halle | Reading In Winter

  12. Pingback: Promo Post: Come Alive (Experiment in Terror, #7) by Karina Halle | Reading In Winter

  13. Pingback: Rereading: Darkhouse (Experiment in Terror, #1) by Karina Halle | Reading In Winter

  14. Pingback: ARC Review: Come Alive (Experiment in Terror, #7) by Karina Halle | Reading In Winter

  15. Pingback: Bookish Spotlight (7): The Experiment in Terror series by Karina Halle | Reading In Winter

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

