DISCUSSION: Book Blogging & Real Life

I’ve had a few posts about making bookish friends in real life, or how to balance real life and reading/blogging, but have always seemed to neglect this discussion post. It wasn’t until I posted a discussion about friending and following people on Twitter and Goodreads that I had a few questions come up from readers:

Brie said: 

Leanne said:

It seems that we’re all fine talking about blogging with other bloggers, but when it comes to our real life, do we talk about blogging with our family and friends? Do our family and friends check out the blog and comment? Or are we stuck in our own little world of blogging, where it’s only acceptable to talk about blogging with other bloggers?

I am a HUGE reader. I can talk about reading with anyone, even if it makes me come across as a crazy person. My husband isn’t even a reader and I’ll go off on tangents about books to him while he gives me that “You’re so pretty” look. But when it comes to blogging, I don’t talk to him too much about it. I’ll mention things I have on the go, or posts I have to write, or maybe talk about a review book I have to read, but I don’t expect him to check out the blog. I think the only time he’s seen it was when I was redoing the design and the header and I showed him the final product. To me, it’s not something I expect from him.

The same goes for family and friends. Of course, it would be AWESOME to have family and friends check out the blog, comment on posts, or pick up books based on my recommendations, but it still seems like something so new – something that I just don’t talk about. I know blogging has been around for a long time, but sometimes it seems like other people view blogging as throwing your personal life out there for all the world to see (something I’m used to, being a musician and all), but when it comes to book blogging, it’s more about sharing a love of reading with people. Surely, these are two different things right?

So, I went to some of my favourite bloggers to get their opinion on this, asking the following question:

Do your friends/family know about your blog? Do they read it? Is blogging something you openly talk about IRL?

Amanda says: My friends and family know about my blog. I don’t think I told my family until I was nine months or so into blogging, but the boyfriend and my friends have known from the start. Blogging has become such a huge part of my life that it’s hard for me to not to talk about it. It’s not something that I talk about a lot, though, primarily because reading and blogging aren’t activities that my family or friends do a lot of. My guess is that talking about books and blogging to the boyfriend is a lot like when he talks to me about video games. I listen because I love him and he loves video games, not necessarily because I have any interest in them. I tend to talk books with my mom, the boyfriend’s mom, and one of the boyfriend’s brothers, but that’s about it. I have no idea if my family or friends read my blog, though. It’s possible that the boyfriend’s mom does on occasion. But I’ve never felt like they have to read it to support my blogging endeavors.

Alexa says: One of the initial reasons that I started my blog in the first place was because there weren’t too many people IRL that I could talk about books with (the only notable exceptions being my fiance Macky and my cousin Carmela, who are just as obsessed with books as I am!). Imagine my surprise when my family and my friends started reading my blog to see what books they needed to check out! Apparently, Macky has been telling a few people and so has my mom (of all people), so I do have readers who I actually know IRL. It always catches me off guard when one of my friends tells me they like my blog and started reading books because of it!

I do talk about being a book blogger when the subject comes up. Most people are curious about what it means, what it entails and what I’ve learned from it – and I’m always eager to share about this amazing community that I’m a part of. I don’t mind talking about my blog, but I’m not usually the one who brings it up in a conversation.

While we like to have family and friends’ support for our real life endeavours — jobs, kids, health, etc. — I find it interesting that blogging is such a solo activity. Like Alexa said, one of the reasons she started her blog was because she didn’t have a lot of people in real life she could talk to about books. I feel the same way. There are some people I talk to about books, but not in great depth. This is one of the nice things about blogging — we can get the discussion we want when it comes to what we read! Rather than having that one bookish person act so ‘meh’ about a book you love, you can find bloggers who love it, too. Or even that blogger who hated the book and starts a discussion with you about it.

I like what Amanda says, how talking about the blog to the boyfriend is like him talking to her about video games. The same thing goes for me. I feel like the husband listens because he loves me, just like I listen to him talk about Family Guy and golf because I love him. We get a type of support, even if it’s not support that’s clearly visible.

But do we really need support from real life people when it comes to blogging? There are plenty of real life activities that I do that don’t require everyone knowing about them. Sure, it’s great when someone in my real world visits the blog and tells me about it, but I don’t go around saying, “THIS IS MY BLOG! EVERYONE MUST VISIT IT!” Instead, I’ll share it on Facebook once in a while when something really interesting comes up, or talk about it when someone else brings it up, but I guess part of me is also selfish. I like the blogging world and the community that I feel like I want to hoard it for myself.

Of course, THAT being said, there are also some people out there who will think that everyone you meet and everything you do online is sketchy. I mean, it’s ONLINE. Alarm bells ring for some people — the people who don’t seem to realize that this is such a popular way of socializing for some people. These days, it’s so common for people to meet other people online. There’s online dating, which is so popular, so why not find friends on the internet and share the things we love?

Personally, I think so long as you’re being smart about it, you can make some great friends online. Though, for some, the internet will always seem like a dangerous place and no matter how much you try to convince them, you won’t change their mind. Really, real life people can come across just as sketchy as people online! I think with ALL relationships, we need to be careful.

In the end, for me, blogging isn’t something that I bring up with a lot of people — if they ask me about it, I’ll talk about it. I’ve managed to meet some bloggers in the real world, which was awesome, and when people ask where I met them, I’ll tell them the truth — through blogging. My book blog is something that I’m proud of and while I might not shout it from the rooftops, I’m still happy to share it in certain situations. I know there are some people who still don’t understand book blogging (I think it comes across as silly or insignificant to some people), but maybe those are the people I wouldn’t want reading it anyway.

How does book blogging work its way into your real life? Do you tell your family and friends? Are you embarrassed to tell real-life people that you’re a book blogger? 

© 2012, Reading In Winter. All rights reserved.

44 thoughts on “DISCUSSION: Book Blogging & Real Life

  1. This is such a fantastic post. Some of the people that I thought wouldn’t be supportive in my blogging are really enthusiastic about it. I originally didn’t mention it to my mum as I thought she would see it as a waste of time. But she had the complete opposite reaction, especially after reading it. My mum mentions it a lot to her friends, and the biggest jumps in hits from facebook are when she posts a link to it, rather than me posting a link. But none of my real life friends (or my mum’s real life friends) post any comments on the blog, but leave them on my facebook instead. It has meant that I talk about books more with my friends, even if they don’t actually read my blog, and just know that I write one. I have met some other bloggers in person, but not any book review bloggers, so the conversations I have with them aren’t usually about blogging, oddly enough.

    • I love that your mom mentions it to her friends! I’m still slightly embarrassed to mention my blog to family because I also think they’d see it as a waste of time. I do wish they’d visit more and maybe comment, but it’s still super nice to have the whole blogging community.

  2. Great post! On the whole, blogging is definitely a solo act. My mom and husband know about my blog, as do some other family members, but they rarely read it. I do talk about the blog to them, as well as reading. They are supportive and hubs gives suggestions. Hubs helped me transition from Blogger to WordPress, thankfully, as there was a snafu that I couldn’t handle. My mom has read a lot of the paranormal romance books I’ve shoved in her face, and hubs has picked up a few suggestions of mine. He is not a major reader, though.

    ANYWHO, not that you really wanted to know all that, but my point is that I’m so happy I can share even a small slice of it with them. They may just nod and smile like I sometimes do when hubs goes off on long medical tangents (lost!), but they always have a constructive critique or positive comment to say. I ended up making my FB fan page because many of my IRL friends could care less about a book blog. I didn’t want to bombard my page with it.

    I LOVE talking about my book blog to people I meet. Most are clueless about the community and it’s fun talking about how much I love the people and the experience.

    • That’s great that your husband helped you with the transition. I think my hubs would be the one holding me back from tossing the computer out the window! Is that helping? 🙂

      I made my Facebook page for that same reason. I go from posting rarely to posting a LOT on Facebook, so it really is nice not to bombard them with posts.

      I love talking about my book blog to people, too!

  3. MOAR THOUGHTS!

    For me, book bloggers understand what book blogging is all about best. So, if I want to talk to someone about my book blog or something that happened in regards to book blogging, I’m going to talk to the people who GET IT: my fellow book bloggers. I think to truly be able to connect, you have to share interest AND context. So, you have to understand how hard it is to get an ARC in order to understand how excited you are (or someone else is) to receive one. And even though the boyfriend may listen to me prattle on about book blogging issues, his comments or suggestions, while well-meant, aren’t always useful because he doesn’t understand the nuances of book blogging. (Just like I don’t understand the nuances of video games. Or video game lingo.)

    After I wrote that bit for you for this post, I asked the boyfriend’s mom to do a guest review for me. I’ve started to receive books I’m not interested in, but that fall under her interests, so I figured it was kind of a win-win. She may start to take a greater interest in my blog now, BUT, I also think that she would enjoy having a book blog of her own at some point, so by involving her in mine, I figure I can ease her into the book blogging world.

    Sometimes, when I discuss my copy-editing business, I do mention that I run a book blog. Somehow, when I say I market to self-published authors, mentioning that I also have a book blog MAKES SENSE and shows that I do have connections and ties to the online book community at large. I don’t necessarily tell ALL THE PEOPLE about my blog; I’m more likely to talk about books first, THEN if there is a connection, mention the book blog. (Or if there’s a blogging connection. Same idea.) That’s more about attempting to make connections with people, though, than not wanting to discuss my blog. If that makes sense.

    • Exactly. If I have an issue with blogging, I’ll talk to my husband, but know he’ll just agree with me to shut me up. BUT, if I bring something up with you guys, a discussion starts and we all understand the issue. It’s awesome. I love being able to connect with other bloggers!

      I like your ARC comment. My husband jokes with me now when I get a book in the mail that he’s going to open the package. He KNOWS I want to be the one to open everything since sometimes there are surprises in there!

      That would be great if your boyfriend’s mom started a blog! I like that you’re easing her into it. I wish I could find someone in real life to do a guest post, but I don’t think anyone in my real life really knows what a blog entails.

      And yes, it’s smart to make the connection first, then let the blog come up naturally. I mean, I’m not about to introduce myself by saying, “My name is Kristilyn. I have a book blog.” Conversation is key, as well as finding similar interests.

  4. I am in love with this post. I was feeling kind of dejected when pretty much everyone in my family wasn’t reading my book blog since they are such huge readers. But then I realized, wait, I talk to them all of the time about books! I think the biggest reason I blog about books is so I can share my thoughts on books that no one in my real life reads. I love romance, sci-fi, mystery… OK, pretty much every genre except westerns, so I want to be able to share my love of each genre to at least one person.

    I’ve met so many amazing book bloggers and authors in real life after meeting them online first, and I am so glad that blogging has given me the opportunity to add more people to my circle of friends.

    I don’t think I could ever be embarrassed about being a book blogger, but I am a bookseller already, so it isn’t much of a leap for people to understand 🙂

    • Yes! I love that blogging has introduced me to new people, new authors, and even publishers whom I now consider friends! I talk books with some of my family, too, but rarely about the blog. I have to remind myself of the awesome community and then I don’t feel so rejected.

      Yay for being a bookseller! You’re right — it’s like a natural progression! 🙂

  5. Most of what I have to say about this is already up there, but I do want to add that you should definitely share about your blog if you’re comfortable! It’s a great way to recommend new books (of all sorts of genres, if that’s your thing) and it’s also an interesting way to start a conversation…

    • Exactly. I think there are people who don’t really know what it means to blog and what kind of work goes into it. There’s so much more than just writing things down! It’s a great conversation starter.

  6. My husband takes about as much interest in my blog as yours. He listens when I ramble on about it and every now and again he will ask how it’s going but that’s it. I don’t expect more from him either, because I know it just isn’t his cup of tea. I do have some readers in my family and I don’t think they have even stopped by the blog, which really grates on me because I know there are reviews and such that they will appreciate. It’s kind of a sore spot for me! LOL Great post!

    • Yes, it’s kind of a sore spot for me too! I’m trying not to let it bother me so much – but when my best friend wants to talk about a book she just read and that “I have to read it” and I’ve JUST talked about it on my blog the other day, that really bugs me! Any of my closest friends that have started a blog, I’m genuinely interested in reading it because it’s *theirs*, ya know?

  7. I don’t really talk about it with people unless they ask what I like to do. I know I do have a couple of book loving friends who read the blog. I also got my best friend involved in the blog, since she is also an avid reader, then a new friend that I met later because she also loves reading.

    I love blogging and started mostly to share my feelings on books. I still think that my reviews suck, but at least I’m letting people know how much I love books..lol Plus meeting a lot of great people!

  8. Love this post! I also began to blog to be able to talk about the books I read with other people. And I love the fact that so many other bloggers feel the same way. I mean, a lot of people out there aren’t that interested in books. It’s hard to believe, I know 🙂
    I’ve met a few of my online book friends in real life and they are just as nice in person!

    • It’s so hard to believe that there are so many people who aren’t all that interested in books! It’s sad, really.

      I’m happy you’ve gotten to meet some bloggers in real life!

  9. I only have a couple friends who share my passion for reading and I’m sure they check out my blog now and then but generally don’t comment on any reviews. My best friend usually reads historical fiction and another friend likes more literary style books while I’m more into the fantasy genre at the moment so they’re really not interested in the books I review. But all of my closest family and friends are very supportive about my blogging and will graciously listen to me babble on about it for as long as I need to, or give their opinions about a review, blog post, etc if I need them to. Great topic!

  10. Ahh, I have so many words lol!

    When I first started my blog, I only told my mom. She was actually the one that had been encouraging me to start blogging, so she’s been super supportive from day one. She tells everyone about it (which I was kind of embarrassed about at first), but now I just appreciate her support. My mom, my sister and my husband are my biggest fans I’d say. Hubby reads each post, although I don’t ask him too. The other day, my little brother and I were talking and I mentioned something and he’s like “I know, I read your blog post. I read all of them.” He totally made my day! lol

    My MIL reads the blog, but my SIL rarely does. Which REALLY bugs me because we’re always talking about books, etc. When she found out I had started a blog, she was like “that’s great you have a book blog! I really think my two friends out East should start a book blog, their banter is SO funny!” Seriously. I didn’t even know how to respond to that. My best friend never reads my blog which also REALLY bugs me, especially when she’ll be like “oh, I just read the Hunger Games, have you?” Are you kidding me – I just blogged about it!

    When I was talking to my sister about it one day, she made a good point – my closest friends and family should want to read my blog because it’s MY blog – not some random stranger. My sister hates reading and rarely reads, but she says she still enjoys reading every post because it’s *me*.

    ANYWAY, I’m not really full of as much anger as I seem lol. I in no way think EVERYONE I know should read my blog, but since it’s important to me, it would be nice if the people closest to me made a bit of an effort to check it out, ya know.

    As for talking about it to strangers or acquaintances, I don’t bring it up unless it naturally comes up. Even if we are talking about books, I often don’t bring it up. Depends how comfortable I’m feeling in the moment.

    This is why I’m so thankful for the book blogging community and the Edmonton Book Bloggers! Everyone makes it so much more fun and I love all the discussions and having people to talk about books with!

    • That’s awesome that your mom encouraged you to blog! And that she tells everyone about it … I think I’m the only one who spreads the word about my blog. I wish my family and friends were more interested, but what can you do?

      The Edmonton Book Bloggers do make it more fun, don’t they? It’s great to have people to bounce ideas off of and to chat about blogging in general with. I love it!

  11. This is a great post!

    My Mom, my boyfriend, and a few really close friends know that I have a blog but to my knowledge have never read it. (Exception being that my boyfriend has read a few things that I was really proud of ie pestered him with).
    I do know that my boyfriend occasionally will read a few of my tweets which are mostly book related. And he and I will talk about what we’re reading and sometimes geek out over books. (He wasn’t much of a reader when we met so I love that).
    To me, blogging is really personal and it’s where I can really be myself in a way. Plus, I know that I can depend on other bloggers to relate to what I’m going through it ways that non book bloggers can.

  12. Oh wow, Brie’s novellas. One day we can put her comments together and have a novel!! Haha.

    Anyways, I LOVE this discussion post. You already know this, but I hardly bring it up with my friends, but when they ask because they saw it on Twitter, I kind of start mumbling. I don’t know why! I mean, one of my friends told me that she looked at my blog and she started asking questions, and I just sort of freaked out. I have ONE friend where she started asking questions and I actually felt comfortable talking to her about it. I even asked if she wanted to do some guest reviews or something like that, so yea.

    I think I’m more comfortable with my blog now, so I won’t be freaking out when people bring it up anymore. If people want to judge me on what I do, so be it, I love blogging!!

    My mom is probably one of the people who think everything online is sketchy, HAHA. I used to think that too, but meeting you guys has proved them wrong.

    Oh, I have more to say, but I have to leave for school in a few minutes, time to type as fast as I can!!

    I only told my mom and my brother about my blog, and that was around April, when my “reviews” just did a recap. After a while, when I really started reviewing was when I started to tweet about my posts. My friends on Twitter found out about it, and then I told a few others like my family friends, cousins, and another book-loving friend.

    • I’m definitely more comfortable with my blog now, too. When I first started, it was too simple with not much going, but now I like talking about it with people because I feel like I’ve accomplished so much!

      People will ALWAYS be judgemental. Whatevs. We do what we love!

  13. Great post! I told my friends/family about my blog the day I started it, via Facebook. Some of them follow, some don’t, but I figured I would at least put it out there. The only weird thing for me is that I have a few friends who are English teachers/majors/etc and sometimes I feel like they are judging my reviews more than others…haha. But beyond that, no big deal. In terms of explaining how I “met” people online, I got over that years ago, because I “met” a bunch of girls when I planned my wedding 5/6 years ago, and we are still online buddies now! I have explained them to my ‘real life’ friends way too many times at this point.

    • There are some people I’m SURE who judge my writing or reviews, but I try not to let it bother me. We all write differently. 🙂 And we can’t all be geniuses!

      I love that I’ve met some bloggers in real life who are becoming good friends — it’s awesome!

  14. Excellent post! For me, blogging has always been my secret world and I’ve relished that. I kind of like having a secret hobby! I’ve never actually told anyone in real life about it voluntarily – though I did have to tell a few people, like my mum and bf, because it was hard to avoid while living with them. I don’t know, I’m just a very private person (main reason why I don’t have Facebook and one of the reasons I don’t use my real name when blogging), and I wouldn’t want people knowing about and reading my blog because even though I don’t post a ton of personal stuff, it still feels like a reflection of me and my thoughts and I would only want the people I know and trust the most to see it (and even then, it’s pretty embarrassing… I get embarrassed very easily). There are a few more people in my life who know that I review books from publishers as a hobby, but I purposely do not tell them about the blog and wouldn’t really want them to see it. So yes, I am perfectly content to keep my blogging life separate from my real life. That said, I can’t tell you how NICE it has been to be able to share my blogging experience with other bloggers in real life through the Edmonton Book Bloggers. It’s not something I would’ve predicted happening, but it really is so nice to be able to talk freely and in depth about books with other bloggers in real life (and also online, obviously). I would say that is the only possible exception to my rule of not talking about blogging with anyone in real life and I appreciate it greatly (have I ever mentioned how grateful I am to you for starting it? :)).

    • Aww, thanks, Aylee! It’s great having the Edmonton Book Bloggers. 🙂

      I’m sure you’re not the only one who keeps your blog totally private. And there’s nothing wrong with that! It does sound like a nice idea to have something that’s a complete secret from everyone, a hobby only you can enjoy. And then you’re not disappointed when family and friends DON’T check out your blog.

      I do like book blogging as a hobby because you don’t get TOO personal. Well, at least I don’t get too personal. I mention some things, but I’m not about to go into great depth about my personal life. Some things should stay personal! But I started out as a musician, so my name’s already out there.

  15. Great post Kristilyn!
    Most of my friends and family know that I read constantly. Some know about my blog, but the only person that I really talk about it to is my youngest daughter. I share aspects with my real life friends and family, but for the most part, they don’t get it. I honestly don’t think anyone outside of the community of online friends that I have built visits my blog. They do visit my graphic design blog, but a lot of them don’t get the connection. When I tell people that I did bookmarks for someone they look at me funny – obviously wondering why anyone other than a bookstore or library would want bookmarks. Like I said, they just don’t get it. That’s okay though because the friends that I have acquired through my book blogging more than make up for my real life friends’ lack of excitement. I’ve always had a wide variety of friends IRL from different places and backgrounds. I guess I just consider this another aspect of that. Sometimes there’s a cross over and sometimes there isn’t. It’s just another way to keep things interesting 😉
    Thanks for sharing!

    • I think there are a lot of people that just don’t get book blogging. I think the term “blogging” comes across as something where you’re just writing a post and sharing ALL your information, but to have a successful blog there are SO MANY THINGS that have to be done. I think if I listed everything I’ve done to keep my blog going, to get my readers, to obtain books, etc. it would be impressive. I mean, it’s not just sitting down in front of a computer, writing something, and hitting publish. There’s designs, archives, networking, different blogging platforms, etc. It’s SO MUCH!

      I’m so grateful for the people I’ve met through blogging. Like you say, they more than make up for real life peoples’ lack of interest!

  16. Great discussion. I would never exactly hide the fact that I blog, but there are some people I am more comfortable discussing it with than others. As it happens, a lot of my “real life” friends are people I originally met on the Internet, and with those people my blog is openly discussed. And with all of my friends, if they’re at all bookish they seem to read my blog but only talk to me about it when they see me in person rather than ever commenting on the site. My family…I’m not sure they really understand blogging and almost certainly don’t ever read my site, despite my sending them links if I post about a holiday, for example.

    But despite not getting personal on my blog or trying to keep it secret, I am still reticent about bringing it up with new people. I haven’t quite figured out how to do that yet.

    • I would never hide the fact that I blog, either. And you’re right — sometimes it’s just easier to talk about it with certain people.

      When it comes to bringing it up with new people, I think it has to come into the conversation naturally. For me, that’s how it works!

  17. Pingback: Smash Attack Reads

  18. **late to the party**

    It irritates me to no end that my husband doesn’t read my blog. He says, “why would I, I don’t read those books,” but I think he should read it because it’s written by ME! Who cares what it’s about?!

    So it’s helpful to see that it’s not just me and my husband.

    I don’t hide the fact that I blog, and I post to my personal Facebook page. But I get way more hits and comments off Twitter, I think, and of course the best interactions are with Edmonton bloggers! Not many other IRL people read or comment, which makes me a little sad.

    As for telling people about online friends and such, it doesn’t bother me at all. I got over it a long time ago! I met my husband online, I’ve done meet-ups with people from a parenting forums, gone to tweet ups, you name it. Total non-issue!

    Though I do sometimes refer to blog people as “online book club” just because it’s easier to understand. Non-bloggy people just don’t get it.

    One thing I do find challenging is scheduling time for me to keep up with things. It someone feels “wrong” to say I want to blog for an hour or two, so here, husband, deal with the kids. I don’t know why ,exactly… I suppose because people (i.e. husband) may thing it’s a frivolous reason to need time away… or because it’s so “selfish.” Last weekend, I scheduled a coffee date with my sister (also a blogger) and we both brought our laptops to a cafe and worked on stuff. That worked really well!

    • I learn not to be irritated by my family not reading my blog. I mean, if I took interest in every single hobby they did, THEN maybe I’d be hurt, but hubs and I both have our together things and our separate things. This is just a separate thing. He goes and plays hockey and I blog.

      It’s a non-issue for me, too, when it comes to meeting internet people. I mean, as long as it’s in a public place and I feel comfortable enough and am being smart about it, I don’t have issues.

      Personally, I don’t think you should feel selfish for wanting an hour to yourself. Is there any other time during the day when you can work in some blog time? Like when the kids are napping, or maybe if they have quiet time with a book or movie or something?

  19. I should clarify that my husband has never said blogging is frivolous or selfish. I’m projecting and I think a lot of it is my own issue! I mean he takes time for himself by sitting in the garage listening to the radio sometimes for goodness sakes 🙂

  20. Pingback: Clock Rewinders on a Book Binge (11) | Reading In Winter

  21. I’m a grad student, so I’m pretty much surrounded by nerds. This means that I tell people I’m a book blogger every chance I get! It’s huge street cred 😀 A couple of my friends actively read my blog, because we like the same books. And my mom and I have pretty much identical reading taste, and apparently she no longer goes anywhere else for reading suggestions *somuchpressure*

    This all means that once in a while, when I tell someone I’m a book blogger, and they look at me weird, I get pretty thrown and feel all judged. I had a supervisor at a flower store once get all judgy that I liked fantasy books that much, and I was like “but, they’re awesome” so, it’s hit or miss 😉

    • I think so long as you’re comfortable with what you do, you shouldn’t let it get to you. I think there will always be those judgy people and we just have to deal with it. I feel slightly embarrassed when I mention the blog to some people, but then I remind myself of how far my blog has come and how much work I put into it. And I love it, too, which makes me feel proud to be a blogger.

  22. Pingback: Clock Rewinders on a Book Binge 16 - creativityscorner.net

  23. This is a great post! I love when you said your husband looks at you with an “youre so pretty face” haha I know exactly what you mean. I sometimes bug my sister/family with blog stuff. Normally when I am super excited about a book or something like that but I describe their face or voice as the “you are boring me but I love you so I will put up with you” face.

    I tell my family and closest friends about my blog but I don’t talk to my friends about it much at all. Mostly I keep it online to bookish people.

    Hope you had a great weekend 🙂

    • I don’t think there’s anything wrong with keeping a blog to yourself and bookish friends. I mean, do we have to share ALL our hobbies with everyone? I don’t think so. And really, the bookish community is amazing, so they’re a great bunch of people to work with!

  24. Pingback: On a Book Bender

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

