BOOK REVIEW: On Demon Wings (Experiment in Terror, #5), by Karina Halle

Date(s) read: October 6 – 7, 2012
Genre: Paranormal Horror

Series
Darkhouse (#1)
Red Fox (#2)
The Benson (#2.5)
Dead Sky Morning (#3)
Lying Season (#4)
On Demon Wings (#5) Amazon | Goodreads
Old Blood (#5.5)
The Dex Files (#5.7)
Into the Hollow (#6)

SYNOPSIS
When the life you wanted has crumbled beneath your fingers, there’s nothing left to do but pick up the pieces and soldier on. You’ve done this before.

But what happens when you no longer feel like yourself anymore? When fires spontaneously start-up around you, when you hear growling coming from underneath your bed, and you no longer recognize your face in the mirror. What happens then?

Ghost-hunter Perry Palomino doesn’t have much time to find out. Now, the evil she used to hunt is a lot closer to home. It’s inside of her, taking over her life bit-by-terrifying bit, and there’s only one person who can help her. 

If part of her doesn’t kill him first.

My Thoughts
Karina Halle’s Experiment in Terror series continues to blow me away with each and every installment. Though, I have to admit that this book, for me, was very much like that book in the Twilight series where Edwards goes away, but at least in THAT situation, I had the physical book and was able to flip towards the end of the book to see if he comes back. Now, I’m not a person to flip to the end of a book, but in that case, I HAD TO. It was a necessary thing. With On Demon Wings, I wanted to do the same, but I had the eBook edition and couldn’t.

It was TORTURE!

For most of this book, I was frustrated — for the characters, for their situation. I wanted to know what was going on with Perry because something just wasn’t right. Yet, this is one of those books where I found that I’ve come to love the characters so much that any change in the regular format of the books has me on edge. While the previous books have all dealt with external forces in places that are in other cities, countries, or buildings, this is a story that deals with something much, much closer to home. Perry’s home, that is.

Of course, while I was frustrated for a lot of the book, wanting to yell at the characters for various reasons, I was also incredibly happy, incredibly FLAILY, and left with a dropped jaw at the end of the story wondering when the next book would be released (thankfully, it’s soon). It’s rare that I get this invested with a series, or with a cast of characters, that every single book is utterly amazing to me, but this is one of those series.

I have come to love Dex, Perry, and the whole cast of characters that Karina Halle has written about in this series. I love that while we have the main characters, with people like Dex, Perry, Perry’s parents and sister, etc., we still get to see some of the characters who were introduced in previous books. I won’t mention any of them because I don’t want to ruin the story, but it’s great to see them popping up now and again.

Now, why does this book not get a 5++ rating? When you read it, it will be obvious. There was something missing and I need that something DESPERATELY! That being said, I still love, love, loved this book and it was great to know more about Perry and her family and we get to experience the pain that Perry goes through firsthand. It was hard to read and one that I approached with caution because I knew it wasn’t going to be pretty.

The next book can’t come any sooner! This is a series I have come to love with a complete and utter PASSION and I honestly can’t say enough good things about it. Read it!

AUTHOR LINKS
WEB | TWITTER | GOODREADS

© 2012, Reading In Winter. All rights reserved.

16 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: On Demon Wings (Experiment in Terror, #5), by Karina Halle

  1. This one was definitely fab, but of course that element was definitely missing. I still loved this one, but it definitely had a different feel to it.

    I am SUPER looking forward to the next book, especially after all the teasers she’s been posting on her blog.

  2. Pingback: MUSICAL SATURDAY: Experiments in Terror | Reading In Winter

  3. Pingback: Clock Rewinders on a Book Binge (12) | Reading In Winter

  4. Pingback: COVER REVEAL: And With Madness Comes the Light (Experiment in Terror, #6.5), by Karina Halle | Reading In Winter

  5. Pingback: BOOK REVIEW: Into the Hollow (Experiment in Terror, #6), by Karina Halle | Reading In Winter

  6. Pingback: GUEST POST: Music in Sins & Needles, by Karina Halle | Reading In Winter

  7. Pingback: BOOK REVIEW: Sins & Needles (The Artists Trilogy, #1), by Karina Halle | Reading In Winter

  8. Pingback: COVER REVEAL: Shooting Scars (The Artists Trilogy, #2), by Karina Halle | Reading In Winter

  9. Pingback: BOOK REVIEW: And With Madness Comes the Light (Experiment in Terror, #6.5), by Karina Halle | Reading In Winter

  10. Pingback: Promo Post: Come Alive (Experiment in Terror, #7) by Karina Halle | Reading In Winter

  11. Pingback: Rereading: Darkhouse (Experiment in Terror, #1) by Karina Halle | Reading In Winter

  12. Pingback: ARC Review: Come Alive (Experiment in Terror, #7) by Karina Halle | Reading In Winter

  13. Pingback: Bookish Spotlight (7): The Experiment in Terror series by Karina Halle | Reading In Winter

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

