Clock Rewinders on a Book Binge (12)

From Amanda’s blog:
Clock Rewinders on a Book Binge is where Tara @ 25 Hour Books and I shamelessly plug each other, share the fantastic posts, giveaways, or whatever else we’ve found and loved by other awesome bloggers (or authors!) during the week, and talk about the books we plan on reading in the coming week.

Book review — On Demon Wings (Experiment in Terror, #5), by Karina Halle

Book review — Peeps (Peeps, #1), by Scott Westerfeld

Guest Post — Dirty Little Secret, by Anne at Creativity’s Corner

Book review — A Great and Terrible Beauty (Gemma Doyle, #1), by Libba Bray

Discussion — Buying the Books (or, How Readers in Bookstores are Like Kids in Candy Stores)

Book Hoarder’s Selection — The Spellman Files (The Spellmans, #1), by Lisa Lutz

Book review — This is Not a Test, by Courtney Summers

Musical Saturday — Experiments in Terror

What did I do this week? SO MANY THINGS!

  • I continued with my library training and am LOVING it. I ended this week with so much information in my head, most of it work-related, but a lot of it was resources and other things that my library has that I had NO IDEA ABOUT. It’s hard to believe that with one library card, I can get so many things at my library. I love it so much!
  • The dog is now on medication. This is not fun. She’s not really healing right, so she gets a liquid medicine AND a pill (well, one and a half). She’s not really a medicine dog, so it’s a big CHORE to get it in her system. Luckily, she still loves me, so I think I’m doing it well. Still, she might have to go back to the vet tomorrow to get checked out again.
  • At my volunteer gig this week, the library I volunteer at was having a book fair. I remember LOVING book fairs when I was younger, so it was a treat to look at all the new books — and even buy a few. While I was putting books away, I overheard some kids talking about the book fair and what books they were going to buy. This led to a discussion of the books they like and series they like and it all made me so happy inside! It’s great hearing kids talk about books!
  • I finished this week realizing that I will need some kind of time management system for when it comes to blogging, commenting, reading, working, eating, cleaning, etc. If I have busy weeks like this often, I’ll need something! I was way too far behind by the time Friday rolled around.
  • Have you checked out my new blog yet? If you enjoy reading dirty reads, or hot, steamy romances, this is the place to be! It’s still in its newbie stage, but I promise that I’m going to try and get it out there as much as I can! If you want to guest post, let me know! This is the place to go if you like reading the smut, but it just doesn’t fit the nature of your own blog!

Unbreaking the Shelves progress: 

Yeah. If you look at the amount of books I accumulated this week, this is NOT going well.

Awesome things happening around the blogosphere!

I know, I KNOW, there were more things that happened this week! I feel like I’m out of the loop or something.

*** my listing style for this section is totally stolen from the oh-so-organized Amanda, who got it from Tara. My hope is that some of their organization will rub off on me. Is it possible? Not likely. 

Read-in-2012 (222) 

  • The Hallowed Ones, by Laura Bickle
  • Backstage Pass (Sinners on Tour, #1), by Olivia Cunning
  • Camping with the Boys, by Sock Door Press
  • Beauty Touched the Beast, by Skye Warren
  • The Last Vampire (Dark Season, #1), by Amy Cross
  • Taken, by Selena Kitt
  • Second Grave on the Left (Charley Davidson, #2), by Darynda Jones (audiobook)
  • Daughter of Smoke & Bone (Smoke & Bone, #1), by Laini Taylor
  • Surrounded by Woods, by Mandy Harbin
  • Connections, by Selena Kitt
  • In the Barn, by Selena Kitt
  • The Love Doctor, by Elaine Shuel
  • Click-Clack the Rattlebag, by Neil Gaiman (audiobook)

Currently-Reading (1)

  • One Foot in the Grave (Night Huntress, #2), by Jeannine Frost

Own-Must-Read (366) (these are the audiobooks — the rest are in the video below!)

  • Firelight (Firelight, #1), by Sophie Jordan
  • Unholy Ghosts (Downside Ghosts, #1), by Stacia Kane
  • Unholy Magic (Downside Ghosts, #2), by Stacia Kane
  • City of Ghosts (Downside Ghosts, #3), by Stacia Kane
  • Flip this Zombie (Living with the Dead, #2), by Jesse Petersen
  • Eat Slay Love (Living with the Dead, #3), by Jesse Petersen
  • Click-Clack the Rattlebag, by Neil Gaiman

Warning! I recorded this video after the longest day ever! I came home, washed off my makeup, changed into comfy clothes, laid on the floor for a bit (because when I tweet *face plants on the floor* I really mean it), THEN decided to record a video. Consider yourself special. 

Bloggers mentioned: 
Jenni @ Alluring Reads, Jen @ A Book and a Latte, Christina @ A Reader of Fictions, Amanda @ On a Book Bender

And … AND! My parents gave me a few boxes of books from my childhood, which was pretty awesome. Some of my favourites are pictured below. Did anyone else have the Dandelion books, or the Little Golden books growing up?

sexy love senes on a desk from books
— o.O

why are we embarrassed to write sex scenes in books?
— Is this a thing? Are we embarrassed to write sex scenes?

Crazy rambling spam: 

How was your week? Have you read anything good lately?

© 2012, Reading In Winter. All rights reserved.

24 thoughts on “Clock Rewinders on a Book Binge (12)

  1. I LOVE the boxes from your childhood! I have some of those, too. Isn’t it an amazing feeling to see that stuff again? It just warms my heart.
    I love that you are loving your library job! And YES! Hearing kids talk about books is so amazing. Book fairs FTW!
    Thank you SO MUCH for the Neil Gaiman info! YAHOOO!

  2. Yay a vlog! Book fairs are dangerous, I probably would have gotten a lot of books too even though I have a ban on, but I’m glad you’re loving the library job!
    I don’t like dolls either, but it was still a really good book!! Hopefully it doesn’t creep you out too much.
    I got a lot of rambling spammers on my blog too, and they were talking about wisdom teeth since I had a post on that the other week lol.
    Also, Joe watched the video over my shoulder and says hi!

    • Book fairs are SO dangerous! They even had a box of adult books, but I stuck with the MG stuff. 🙂

      Spammers are weird! I get very strange spam most of the time.

      Oh, and hi to Joe!

  3. Your library job sounds amazing! I’m so glad you’re enjoying it. And I LOVVVVED those book fairs when I was a kid! I’m so glad that the kids today still enjoy them, even though this is the age of video games and computers and whatnot.

    Sounds like you had a great week, and don’t worry – you’ll nail down a time-management system soon enough. Just don’t stress it 🙂 Have a good week Kristilyn!!

  4. Wow! You must do vlogs more often! Great job and you are great on camera! As for the books, How to Save a Life is definitely a favorite contemporary of mine. Also, Crewel was amazing. I have read both of Gabrielle Zevin’s books in that series, and though I am a fan, they aren’t favorites. Great haul this week!

    • Thanks, Kara! I like doing vlogs, but I think I’m too lazy most of the time. For some reason, it was quicker to vlog this week!

      I bought the first one on the Gabrielle Zevin series to go with this one, so we’ll see! Hopefully they’re okay.

  5. Yes, people are embarrassed to write sex scenes. Kelly had to motivate me to write one last year during NaNo. Well, some people are embarrassed. Kelly is…not.

    I love your vlogs. Your Canadian accents comes out in random places. It’s CUTE. (Also, the dog barking was awesome. Nothing stops your fun like a dog barking at you.)

    Psssst. What did you think of Daughter of Smoke and Bone?

    • Ha ha … well, if my story morphs into something else, I’ll look to Kelly for inspiration. 🙂

      My dogs ALWAYS bark during my vlogs. Then I watch them back when editing and they bark at themselves barking in the video. DOGS.

      I really enjoyed Daughter of Smoke and Bone!! I should have the second one coming this week, so I’m happy to have read it. It was so beautifully written!

  6. Your dog barking scared me so much because it was so quiet. LOL.

    I’m so glad I don’t have as many books that are actually on my shelf to read. I’ve been trying to read them, but then I have library books coming in, and then I just keep prioritizing other books… I have the feeling I won’t get through them by the end of this year. But you have like… 300 book! I have like 10! Seriously, GOOD LUCK!

    Junior High books fairs are awesome. They had so many “senior” level books.. but I didn’t buy any, mainly because they weren’t books that I NEEDED to read. So yea…

    What is up with the spam?! Haha, have a great week! Can’t wait to see everyone on Saturday 😀

    • He can be annoying. Actually, when I listen back to my vlogs and he hears himself barking, he barks again. Let’s just say my editing jobs are much quicker now because of that. 🙂

      That’s awesome that you prioritize your books so well! I kind of do. I have a pile of review books in order of priority, then I have the books on my shelves. I’m really trying to stop buying books, but it’ll be a process.

      I’m looking forward to Saturday, too!

  7. Can I say that I love watching you talk? Or is that creepy? It’s just so fun to think that this is what you’re like when we’re talking on Twitter and stuff. Yes, I know, I’m a stalker. *sigh* oh well.

    Um. Not to be picky or anything, but you did kinda spell my name wrong 🙂 Not that I don’t like Anna! But yeah. Maybe I should start using it as an alias! (I actually considered creating an alias for blogging. I even had a name and everything. I keep it in reserve just in case I ever decide I need to scrub everything and start blogging from scratch again 😛 )

    • Ha ha … I love watching me talk, too. Just kidding. 🙂 I love vlogs just because it lets me put a real person to the icon on Twitter. It’s great!

      Sorry about the name … I’ll change that right now! I had the busiest week last week and I’m kind of amazed that I even got a CR post up. It was insane!

  8. Wow, you sure got a ton of books! And that is some super random spam!

    I used to love book fairs when I was younger, because my mom would always let me get something!

    • I can’t even remember book fairs from when I was young. I know they really didn’t have the selection they do now and I don’t think I was as big of a reader as I am now. Oh to go back in time …

  9. YAY! for a video! I am so excited that you did another one “In my mailbox, in my mailbox, here’s what I got in my mailbox” ooh I like the little diddy at the end too!

    K so, you are evil! I was so excited that you were willing to trade and then you go and pull a fast one on me! Crewel looks sooo pretty I want to see it in real life. I read an ebook and LOVED it. I hope you do too. The Chosen One is so good, I hope you love that one too. I hope you like ALL the books!

    • JUST FOR YOU, Jenni. Just for you. 🙂

      Oh yeah! I just remembered I have The Chosen One! Isn’t that awful? I have books crawling up the walls of my house, so it’s amazing I can find anything. I’ll have to read it soon. You made me very excited to read it!

  10. Hahaha ^^ laughing at Jenni’s comment. I love your vlogs too! And you kinda seem like a natural at it 🙂

    I LOVE that your parents still had old boxes of books from your childhood! I only have a few from mine and I wish so much that I had them all. I do scout for them when I’m out and about in thrift stores and get super excited when I find one that’s old but in pretty good condition, but it’s just not the same as if they were *my* actual childhood books.

    When you figure out a time management schedule for balancing two jobs, blogging, commenting and wife and dog-mama duties, can you teach me, pretty pretty please? 🙂

    • Thanks! That’s a compliment since I was so out of it when I did the video — it was a crazy long day!

      I wish I had more books from my childhood, like from my teen years. But I’ll settle for these. They’re very tattered and worn, but I love flipping them open and seeing my name written in there. I even have some of aunt’s books from when she was younger!

      I will let you know! So far, I think it works best if I get up when hubs gets up, then have my coffee and computer time first thing in the morning. I’m lucky that I only work part-time, so I have lots of my own time at home to get things done. But I have volunteering and other commitments, too, so it’s easy for time to just fly by!

      • Oh right, I was forgetting that you wake up WAY earlier than me lol. I’m a horrible morning person and have a hard time waking up early 😦 I really need to work on that, starting with going to be at decent times!

      • It seems that no matter when I get to bed, I try to get up around the same time. Only when hubs is home and he sleeps in do I sleep in a little later. But it’s nice to get up early and not sleep the day away!

  11. Yay for working in a library!! Kids who read are the best (and they may be the only kind of kids I like..shhhh!) I’m glad that a library card has opened up new worlds to you.

    I had Little Golden Books when I was a kid. My favorite was the Pokey Little Puppy. I also really loved the Blue Bug series and Little Critter. I haven’t seen any of them in the kids section in ages. It’s a shame because I loved them so much. They were the best.

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

