BOOK REVIEW: Exiled (The Protector, #1), by M. R. Merrick

Date(s) read: October 16, 2012
Genre: YA Urban Fantasy

Series:
Exiled (#1) Amazon | Goodreads
Shift (#2)
Release (#3)

SYNOPSIS
Chase Williams is a demon hunter in the Circle, or at least he was supposed to be. On his fifteenth birthday, Chase stepped up to the altar to claim his elemental power, but it never came. Elemental magic is passed down to a hunter through the bloodline, but on Chase’s birthday, the bloodline stopped. 

Exiled without the Circle’s protection, Chase has spent two years trying to survive a world riddled with half-demons and magic. When he has a run in with a frightened and seemingly innocent demon, he learns the Circle’s agenda has changed: the Circle plans to unlock a portal and unleash pure-blood demons into the world. Vowing to stop them, and knowing he can’t do it alone, Chase forms a reluctant alliance with Rayna — a sexy witch with an attitude and a secret. 

In their attempt to stop them, Chase and Rayna find themselves in the middle of the Circle’s plan, leaving one of them to decide what their friendship is worth, and the other’s life depending on it.

My Thoughts
First things first, how did I not know that M. R. Merrick – a very talented writer – lived mere hours away from me? It’s unthinkable!

But, that he does, and had I not seen numerous POSITIVE reviews for this series from some of my favourite bloggers, as well as the very popular blog tour for the third book in this series, I may not have even thought to pick it up. BUT, seeing as everyone was speaking so highly of the series and the fact that the author was from my very own province, I KNEW I had to give it a try.

I was NOT disappointed!

I started reading this during a day where I had NO OTHER DISTRACTIONS. This is rare because I’m usually glued to my laptop, my phone, my iPod, the dogs, or any other shiny thing that might be in the house. But for this, it was just me and my book. I had no reason to worry though because the story swept me up from page one where I met Chase, a demon hunter, and I read the book in a day.

Chase was an AWESOME character. He was just such a guy, which I loved. And while he was a great main character, I was so happy that the secondary characters were quite awesome and memorable. Rayna, especially, was one of my FAVOURITES and I loved watching her and Chase banter to one another.

Admittedly, I’m not really into the high fantasy-type novels, but this story has so much going on in it that I didn’t even feel bothered by the fantasy aspect of it. I had also read a few reviews that talked about this being more of a BOY book, but I really didn’t find it favouring one genre or another. If you like Urban Fantasy, with lots of action, and great characters, then this is a story you will enjoy!

I’m serious – this book has everything going for it. It’s one of those epic books that you’ll finish and wonder why you put off reading it for so long. I am QUITE interested to read the next book in this series, Shift. And I’m so happy to have found such a great local author!

AUTHOR LINKS
WEB | TWITTER | GOODREADS

© 2012, Reading In Winter. All rights reserved.

19 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: Exiled (The Protector, #1), by M. R. Merrick

  1. Yay! I’m so glad you enjoyed it. I just finished Shift 30 minutes ago and I think it’s just as good. So much crazy action! I am very excited for Release (I’m lucky enough to be on the blog tour).

  2. I’m really glad you enjoyed it, but I’m having some serious brain confusion because I think (think!) that a friend of mine read this book a month or two ago and had some serious problems getting through because of a need of editing. You didn’t find that to be the case? I’m serious having trouble believing it’s the same book that I’m hearing these two different opinions on (and therefore it’s entirely possible that I’m just going crazy :D)

    • I don’t think I really noticed any editing mistakes. I’ve read a few indie books and have noticed mistakes in others, but I felt like this one was done pretty well and nothing seemed to slow down my reading. Hopefully you can give it a go!

  3. Say what, a local author?! I just finished a book that had me wanting to read more local authors, so this review could not have come at a better time!! LOVE high fantasy and boy books. Thanks for the rec, Kristilyn!

  4. Yay! I am glad to hear you enjoyed it. I think the series just gets better and better, and I’ve noticed growth in Matt, too. I love elemental magic in any form and really enjoy ALL the characters in this series!

  5. Pingback: Clock Rewinders on a Book Binge (13) | Reading In Winter

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

