AUDIOBOOK REVIEW: The Turning (Blood Ties, #1), by Jennifer Armintrout

Date(s) read: October 11 – 16, 2012
Genre: Paranormal Romance

Series:
The Turning (#1) Amazon | Goodreads
Possession (#2)
Ashes to Ashes (#3)
All Souls’ Night (#4)

SYNOPSIS
I’m no coward. I want to make that perfectly clear. But after my life turned into a horror movie, I take fear a lot more seriously now. I finally became Dr. Carrie Ames just eight months ago. Then I was attacked in the hospital morgue by a vampire. Just my luck.

So now I’m a vampire, and it turns out I have a blood tie to the monster who sired me. The tie works like an invisible leash and I’m bound to him no matter what I do. And of course he’s one of the most evil vampires on earth. With my sire hell-bent on turning me into a soulless killer and his sworn enemy set to exterminate me, things couldn’t get much worse–except I’m attracted to them both.

Drinking blood, living as an immortal demon and being a pawn between two warring vampire factions isn’t exactly how I’d imagined my future. But as my father used to say, the only way to conquer fear is to face it. So that’s what I’ll do. Fangs bared.

My Thoughts
I’ve had the audiobooks for Jennifer Armintrout (note: NOT Jennifer ArmEntrout) on my iPod for the longest time until I finally decided that I had to start listening to them. The problem with keeping audiobooks that are in MP3 files on your iPod is that when you try to listen to music on shuffle, you get a chapter here and there. The key to solving this was to listen to the books, then take them off.

This might be an easy thing to do because when I started listening to this series, I really enjoyed the voice of the main character. Carrie reminded me of the main character in the Married With Zombies series, Sarah, who was full of snark but still willing to get the job done. I loved her attitude, even if she was just turned into a vampire in the morgue at the hospital where she works.

And then – THEN! – we meet a vampire who saves Carrie after her sire totally ditches her and I had another reason to really like these books. A SCOTTISH VAMPIRE! I loved it! Nathan was a great character and was there to help Carrie out, even if she was full of too much attitude. He was sexy and awesome.

When I first turned on the story, I was told that this was a Harlequin Romance, which kind of scared me a little because while I enjoy Paranormal Romances, the Harlequins can be hit or miss. But this one wasn’t that bad. There were some definite sexy scenes, but nothing over the top. Lots of blood mixed in with these scenes, but these are vampires, so I think it was to be expected.

While this might not be the top audiobook that I’ve listened to, I still really enjoyed it. There was plenty of action, it wasn’t too hard to keep track of, and it moved at a good pace for me. I was able to listen to it sometimes days apart and still figure out where I was in the story and who all the characters were.

My only real gripe with this book was the audiobook itself, mainly the narrator. While I really enjoyed her voice for Carrie’s character, as well as for Carrie’s sire, and for Nathan, it was the other characters that really annoyed me. For example, the instant Dahlia comes into the picture, I wondered when and if she would be killed off so I wouldn’t have to listen to that annoying voice anymore. There were two other voices that really bugged me and while the narrator did a good job and actually doing the voices, they were just too annoying to listen to for an extended period of time.

In the end, though, this was a fun listen. I liked how the romance choice wasn’t clear-cut and that I really didn’t know what Carrie was thinking at times. I also really liked that this novel seems to stand on its own, rather than just being a stepping-stone to the next book. I look forward to reading the next book in the series, Possession!

AUTHOR LINKS
WEB | TWITTER | GOODREADS

© 2012, Reading In Winter. All rights reserved.

One thought on “AUDIOBOOK REVIEW: The Turning (Blood Ties, #1), by Jennifer Armintrout

  1. Pingback: Clock Rewinders on a Book Binge (13) | Reading In Winter

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

