Introducing: A Winter Writer

I know what you’re thinking. I DO!

But let me just explain why I felt the need to start a third blog.

So, last year I participated in NaNoWriMo for the very first time and loved it. I didn’t win, mind you, but I had so much fun writing and realized that writing is something I really wanted to do. Of course, that’s easier said than done and one thing led to another and I didn’t write a word from about January until this month. I had written a few short stories in October and November, and started a few novels, as well as my NaNo novel, but that was about it.

It wasn’t that I didn’t have the time, because I do! The thing was that I had nowhere to share my love of writing, or anywhere to really talk about my love of writing with other people. I would see writing prompts all the time on Twitter and want to participate, but I didn’t want to muddle up my blog with things that weren’t book related. Writing seemed a whole lot more personal than book blogging, so I wanted to keep it separate.

Today, I finally decided to do something about it. I guess you could say that Hannah (who blogs over at Once Upon a Time) inspired me with her blog, The Little Bookshack By the Sea, which is her writing blog. Seeing her love of writing and writing posts led me to start up A Winter Writer.

I don’t have a plan with this blog, nor do I have a schedule, but I hope to post some writing topics during NaNoWriMo and participate in some writing prompts in the future. Hopefully it’ll inspire me to write more, but only time will tell. 

I hope you can check it out!

© 2012, Reading In Winter. All rights reserved.

13 thoughts on “Introducing: A Winter Writer

    • I love it, too! It really helps motivate a person to actually write. I know some people might think that someone who wants to write would be writing all the time, but it’s so not the case with some people. I hope this motivates me more!

  1. I think this is a great idea, Kristilyn! And it sounds like it will help keep you motivated with your writing throughout the year. 😀

    Good luck on NaNoWriMo! I’ll definitely be checking out your new writing blog every once in a while, and maybe you’ll motivate me to get my butt in gear and try out NaNo sometime! 😀

  2. Pingback: Clock Rewinders on a Book Binge (14) | Reading In Winter

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

