BOOK REVIEW: Easy, by Tammara Webber

Date(s) read: October 14 – 15, 2012
Genre: Mature YA Contemporary

Add This Book on Goodreads
Buy Now From: Amazon

SYNOPSIS
A girl who believes trust can be misplaced, promises are made to be broken, and loyalty is an illusion. A boy who believes truth is relative, lies can mask unbearable pain, and guilt is eternal. Will what they find in each other validate their conclusions, or disprove them all?

When Jacqueline follows her longtime boyfriend to the college of his choice, the last thing she expects is a breakup two months into sophomore year. After two weeks in shock, she wakes up to her new reality: she’s single, attending a state university instead of a music conservatory, ignored by her former circle of friends, and failing a class for the first time in her life.

Leaving a party alone, Jacqueline is assaulted by her ex’s frat brother. Rescued by a stranger who seems to be in the right place at the right time, she wants nothing more than to forget the attack and that night–but her savior, Lucas, sits on the back row of her econ class, sketching in a notebook and staring at her. Her friends nominate him to be the perfect rebound.

When her attacker turns stalker, Jacqueline has a choice: crumple in defeat or learn to fight back. Lucas remains protective, but he’s hiding secrets of his own. Suddenly appearances are everything, and knowing who to trust is anything but easy.

My Thoughts
When I started reading Easy, I was looking for a book that would take me out of a reading rut. For a week after devouring a series I fell in love with, I was starting a book, putting it down, starting another book, putting it down, etc. I wanted something that was going to get me out of this rut, something that was going to hold my interest and keep me reading until the very last page. I’m happy to say that Easy was that book. 

Almost instantly, I was swept up in the book and could not put it down. This may have something to do with the big thing that happens right off the bat: Jacqueline is leaving a party and is almost raped by a person she knew. This might sound like a strange way to start a book, but it works. We meet her “savior” and know that only good things can come from it. Also, the potential rape does have something to do with the story — it’s not just thrown in there for Jacqueline and Lucas to meet. But this isn’t a story about rape, which is something that Tammara Webber does beautifully. Instead, it’s more about the relationship between Jacqueline and Lucas, the secrets people keep, and histories that people may want to keep to themselves.

The thing that really made this book was the characters. I really loved Jacqueline’s character, even if there were times when I wanted to yell at her. Her relationship with Lucas isn’t instant, but the times they were together in the book was something I really looked forward to. I also liked that there was a bit of mystery going on, an almost love triangle, and even the evolution of friendship between Jacqueline and her roommate and friend, Erin.

While there was the aspect of politics addressed when it comes to something like rape (which probably happens more than I’m willing to think), I really liked the message that Webber ultimately conveyed: the fact that it’s not your fault. That thing you might be holding onto, maybe it’s rape, maybe it’s not, isn’t your fault. It’s a very powerful message and one that needed to be said a few times throughout the book.

I will admit that the story did seem a bit predictable to me. There were a few things that I knew would happen way before they did, but for some reason this was okay with me. When I finished reading it, I realized that Tammara Webber’s writing was something that should be explored more and was so happy to have found that book to get me reading a whole book again. Easy was beautifully written, heartbreaking, romantic, and real. A definite must-read.

AUTHOR LINKS
WEB | TWITTER | GOODREADS

© 2012, Reading In Winter. All rights reserved.

27 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: Easy, by Tammara Webber

  1. Another blogger was talking about contemporary YA lit and how popular it is becoming with teens. I left a comment saying how it was one of the YA genres I want to read more about since I am in school to be a YA librarian. This book sounds like the perfect starting point! Hopefully my library has a copy. 🙂

    • It was a great read! I think it was *just* released this week by a major publisher. I bought the self-pub ebook.

      Yay for wanting to be a YA librarian! There’s motivation to read. 🙂

    • That’s very true. I just finished reading On the Island by Tracey Garvis Graves and felt the same way, BUT the story was just so darn good that I don’t want to pick it apart because I felt it was predictable.

  2. I like that you say this one isn’t just about the romance, there are other relationships growing throughout. I think I will love this one, it’s too bad it was a bit predictable but I’m happy that didn’t hinder your enjoyment of it. Great review chick!

  3. This really sounds fantastic – and this is coming from the point of view of someone who doesn’t tend to read in this genre. But I really love how you describe the characters, relationships, and how the issue of rape was approached. My New Year’s Resolution is definitely going to be to read outside my comfort zone more -and this sounds like the perfect book to add to my list! Thanks for the rec, Kristilyn!

    • I need to read more outside of my comfort zone, too, but with books that are in my home library. It’s a little insane.

      That being said, I do want to add more Tammara Webber to my home library!

  4. Oooh, this sounds REALLY good! And it’s a stand-alone book!? (haha, I love stand-alone books!) I agree with some of the other comments – I often don’t mind predictability as long as the journey was a good one. It’s when books are not only predictable, but full of cliche’s and boring to boot! Sometimes life *is* predictable and that’s not always a bad thing… 🙂

  5. I really loved this book, the beginning was definitely a shocker but it really hooks you in! I was iffy about it when I first got it but I heard so many recommendations that were positive.

  6. I just got this on NetGalley and now I’m excited to read it. I’m a little skeptical of the whole “new adult” genre, but this sounds like the kind of book I’d like.

  7. Pingback: Clock Rewinders on a Book Binge (14) | Reading In Winter

  8. I finished this book a couple of weeks ago – way behind on my reviews (!) – but I agree with most of what you said. It WAS predictable but I was fairly okay with it. Especially the one obvious (to the readers) mystery…I was glad that was revealed half way through and wasn’t presented at the end like we were stupid.

    Also, what series did you devour? I heart series.

    • I wondered about the mystery part, too … I mean, it WAS very obvious to the reader and I hope she didn’t MEAN for it to be a mystery or anything? But I’m glad it was revealed.

      And the series I devoured (and loved) was the Experiment in Terror series by Karina Halle. It’s AWESOME!

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

