BOOK REVIEW: Catching Jordan (Hundred Oaks, #1), by Miranda Kenneally

Date(s) read: October 17, 2012
Genre: YA Contemporary

Series:
Guys Do Not Do Secret Santa (#0.5)
Catching Jordan (#1) Amazon | Goodreads
Stealing Parker (#2)
Things I Can’t Forget (#3)
Racing Savannah (#4)

SYNOPSIS
“Whoever said football and girls don’t mix hasn’t read Catching Jordan. I couldn’t put it down ” — Simone Elkeles, New York Times bestselling author of the Perfect Chemistry series

ONE OF THE BOYS

What girl doesn’t want to be surrounded by gorgeous jocks day in and day out? Jordan Woods isn’t just surrounded by hot guys, though-she leads them as the captain and quarterback of her high school football team. They all see her as one of the guys and that’s just fine. As long as she gets her athletic scholarship to a powerhouse university.

But everything she’s ever worked for is threatened when Ty Green moves to her school. Not only is he an amazing QB, but he’s also amazingly hot. And for the first time, Jordan’s feeling vulnerable. Can she keep her head in the game while her heart’s on the line?

“A beautiful novel with a real and captivating depiction of high school relationships, Catching Jordan shows the same reverence for the human heart that it does for the game of football.” –Karsten Knight, author of Wildefire

My Thoughts
I was so hesitant to even go into this story because I am a huge hater of football – something that the story revolves around. No matter how hard I try, I just don’t get it. Actually, scratch that – I don’t even try to like football; we just don’t get along.

But after a few chapters of reading – me being fearful for the first few that I still wouldn’t like the story because there is a LOT of football talk – a change happened and I fell in love with the story and the characters.

Jordan is one of those kick-butt characters. She’s tough, smart, and plenty full of stubbornness. She’s the daughter of the great Donovan Woods and just wants to play football and be taken seriously. The problem is that her father has some kind of a stick up his butt and doesn’t seem to support her at all.

Still, I loved Jordan. She may have made some bad choices, but she was a great main character – very likable. I also really liked that she was just one of the guys and did all the guy things – eating pizza, playing foosball, swearing like a sailor. It was great to see her transform in the novel, as well as see her realize there’s a whole other team out there who would also make great friends.

And the story! So much football! I didn’t even care what was going on with the game, but it was exciting to read. The team was full of spunk and character and I just couldn’t imagine being the only girl among them all – especially getting to that age where a girl might want to get a little boy action. I mean – think of the teasing!

Of course, there is plenty of romance, not only with the main character, but also with her teammates. The romantic interests were QUITE swoon worthy and I had already set my sights on who Jordan should hook up with early in the book. It also made me think that if sports came with romance, maybe I’d watch them more.

I was so happy to have picked up this story because it’s full of action, full of heart, and full of such wonderful characters that I think I’ve found a favourite contemporary author in Miranda Kenneally. She reminded me of Stephanie Perkins in a way, but the writing has more swears and lots of sports talk. But even though the talk may turn to sports, it totally doesn’t overshadow the rest of the story.

I’m very eager to try the next book in this series, Stealing Parker. If it’s anything like Catching Jordan, I’m sure I’ll be swept off my feet!

AUTHOR LINKS
WEB | TWITTER | GOODREADS

© 2012, Reading In Winter. All rights reserved.

22 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: Catching Jordan (Hundred Oaks, #1), by Miranda Kenneally

  1. Ok. I hate football, I do. I refuse to watch it and I have no fucking idea what any of the downs, or any of that crap means. But I have a strange obsession with movies, tv shows and books that are about HIGH SCHOOL football. Dude, Varsity Blues, Friday Night Lights (the movie and the TV show), Blind Spot and Catching Jordan definitely fits into that group. I don’t know what it is, maybe you’re right and it’s more about the romance that comes along with it but you should check out ALL of those things I mentioned if you haven’t. Great review! You will LOVE Stealing Parker!

    • I think the only things on your list that I’ve seen/read is Catching Jordan! I do like Teen Wolf and they play football in that show! But yeah, I’m like you. I hate the game. And it’s SOOOO LONG! We used to watch it a lot at the in-laws and I’d always find other ways to amuse myself.

      Can’t wait to start Stealing Parker!!

  2. YEAH!!! I’m so happy you loved this I freaking LOVED IT!!! One of my fav books of last year or sure. I loved Jordan she’s an amazing protagonist and no I don’t like football or understand it all all and it wasn’t an issue AT ALL in this book! YAY!!

  3. Great review Kristilyn. I also an not a fan of American football, but I’ve heard so many good things about Miranda Kenneally that I’m definitely going to pick this one up sometime soon!

  4. I really liked this book too. I am glad you did as well. I wouldn’t say I am a fan of football either–not a hater–but it’s definitely not a topic that interests me, but yet I still thought it was a really well-written book. A bit hard to believe in places but hey, that’s a small thing right? It’s a fluffy book anyway. Great review, Kristilyn!

  5. Yes! I love how the football part of it isn’t at all overwhelming and you don’t have to know a thing about it to understand and enjoy the book! I’m glad you really enjoyed it as well! Also, sports should have more romance..lol

  6. i have the sequel to this one and i’m curious to see what i think! i’m not a fan of football either so i’m glad you were still able to enjoy it. 🙂

  7. Pingback: Clock Rewinders on a Book Binge (14) | Reading In Winter

  8. Pingback: ARC REVIEW [AND Q&A]: Things I Can’t Forget (Hundred Oaks, #3), by Miranda Kenneally | Reading In Winter

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

