EVENT: Anne & Kristilyn’s #WeekendOfAwesome

It’s the weekend!

*throws confetti*

Well, almost, but we’re close enough, right?

At any rate, I have nothing to do for the next three days, so Anne from Creativity’s Corner and I decided to have a three day event to tie in NaNoWriMo, blogging, and reading! Three of our favourite things!

It’ll go down like this:

Friday (tomorrow): NaNoWriMo Day
Saturday: Readathon Day
Sunday: Blogathon Day

We both wanted to reach our NaNoWriMo goals for the weekend AND we both wanted to read AND we both wanted to catch up on all the blogging things, so we thought we’d have a weekend-long event where we will accomplish ALL THE THINGS!

My goals are as follows (go see Anne’s goals HERE):

Friday:

Write 6,000 words. My ultimate goal for the weekend is to maybe (fingers crossed) reach the 25,000-word mark (or more!), so this would give me a HUGE push. Of course, this means that I will be battling Anne to word wars throughout the afternoon and evening, as well as interspersing reading and other things so I don’t hit a wall.

My motivation for the day will be continuing to read Kevin Kaiser’s @WriMo book, which has been giving me motivation and inspiration each day, as well as digging into Barbara Abercrombie’s A Year of Writing Dangerously, AND leafing through the many Writer’s Digests I currently have scattered across my kitchen table.

UPDATE: 

So, it’s about 9:00 p.m. on Friday and the day couldn’t have gone more awesome! I waited for Anne to get home from work before the writing commenced and we did about SIX word wars throughout that time (with breaks for dinner and Twitter chatting). It was pretty amazing. Like I had said in my goal above, my plan was to write 6,000 words today and to hit the 25,000-word mark by the end of the weekend. Well, I’m happy to say that I passed BOTH goals!

Today I managed to write a whopping 9,748 words AND I hit a word count of 26,776 words!

I am astonished! But this just means that I can UP my word count goal for the weekend to 30,000 words, which means I’ll have to write 1,612 words per day to get there. TOTALLY DOABLE!

Thank you to everyone who cheered us on today!

Saturday:

I LOVE A GOOD READ-A-THON!

Yes, the caps were necessary.  

While I still plan to reach my daily writing goal of 1,667 words, I plan to read A LOT this day. The books I would like to read are:

A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle is a book I read YEARS ago in university and loved. This is the graphic novel which my library JUST got in. I’m super excited to read it!

Hound Dog True by Linda Urban is a review book I got from Thomas Allen and Sons. It looks like a coming-of-age kind of story AND it’s super short, so it shouldn’t take too long to get into. I love a good MG read.

Stealing Parker by Miranda Kenneally is a book I’ve been longing to read ever since I finished Catching Jordan. I was lucky that Raincoast Books sent me an ARC of Stealing Parker after I mentioned that Kobo didn’t have the eBook for sale. I loved the first book in this series and can’t wait to read this one!

UPDATE: 

Made it through TWO full books and continued reading Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver, which I had been reading ALL WEEK. Finished it by Sunday morning. 🙂 Coincidentally, this book helped me reach my reading goal for the year of 230 books. YAY!

I also got a little bit of writing in and made it to just over 1,300 words. Not as much as I was hoping to reach 30K by the end of the weekend, but I’ll make that up on Sunday.

Sunday:

I wouldn’t say I’m totally behind on blogging things, but there are many things I could be doing to catch up. While spending a little bit of reading time AND getting in my word count for the day for NaNo, here are the blog things I’d like to do:

  • Schedule blog posts for Reading In Winter (After Dark). I have most of them all typed up in a Word doc; it’s just a matter of putting them in Blogger.
  • Cross post reviews to Indigo & Goodreads (Indigo reviews are only for review books).
  • Update archives.
  • Clean out Google Reader and email box.
  • Schedule and write any pending reviews for Reading In Winter.
  • Pick out some writing snippets to include on A Winter Writer? Maybe?

And that should be it! I’m sure I’ll find other things to do this weekend as well, but hopefully I can stick to the plan, be productive and finish ALL THE THINGS by the end of Sunday! It’ll sure feel nice to be caught up before the start of a new week.

If you’re free this weekend and want to join in the fun, feel free to! We would love your company!

© 2012, Reading In Winter. All rights reserved.

10 thoughts on “EVENT: Anne & Kristilyn’s #WeekendOfAwesome

  1. Have fun Kristilyn! You are so ambitious! My parents are coming out this weekend, so I will be getting next to nothing done, between entertaining and trips to Farm Fair (which is the reason my parents are coming. We’re just the hotel).

  2. Pingback: Creative Arts Triathlon, a.k.a. Anne & Kristilyn's #WeekendOfAwesome! - creativityscorner.net

  3. SUPER JEALOUS

    I create my own blogging events – my new thing is to go to a coffee shop, alone or with my sister, and blog for an hour or two. It’s the only way to have uninterrupted time!

    I used to LOVE reading all day, staying in bed… the weather is so perfect for it to.

  4. Pingback: Clock Rewinders on a Book Binge (14) | Reading In Winter

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

