Clock Rewinders on a Book Binge (14)

From Amanda’s blog:
Clock Rewinders on a Book Binge is where Tara @ 25 Hour Books and I shamelessly plug each other, share the fantastic posts, giveaways, or whatever else we’ve found and loved by other awesome bloggers (or authors!) during the week, and talk about the books we plan on reading in the coming week.

On Reading In Winter:

Introducing: A Winter Writer

Book review: Easy, by Tammara Webber

Book review: Catching Jordan (Catching Jordan, #1), by Miranda Kenneally

Discussion: How to Live With a Non-Reader

Event: Anne & Kristilyn’s #WeekendOfAwesome

Book Hoarder’s Selection: What Alice Forgot, by Liane Moriarty

On Reading In Winter (After Dark):

Top Off Tuesday (3): Kate’s Crew

Review: Halfway to the Grace (Night Huntress, #1), by Jeaniene Frost (repost)

Sexy Saturday Shorts: Fury and Taming the Vampire

On A Winter Writer (New!):

On Writing: A NaNoWriMo Discussion (repost)

Motivation: What gets you writing?

Waiting to write: Do you wait for inspiration?

NaNoWriMo Update: Days 1 – 7

Doing All The Things vs. Procrastinating (The Procrastination Song)

What did I do this week?

  • Early in the week, I worked. It was awesome. I absolutely LOVE being around books all the time! I feel like now I have to try to read as much as I can since I work, volunteer, and spend my spare time doing bookish things. It’s definitely motivation to read and to read widely.
  • I also volunteered and got some books ready for the shelves. I love putting all the new stickers on books. 🙂
  • It snowed like CRAZY here this week. It was funny because the weekend had such great temperatures, and on Monday when I went to work, it was icy and snowy out, but when I left it was melting. THEN a crazy snowfall came on Wednesday which meant accidents everywhere and a crappy drive into town. This was followed by shovelling and then passing out on the floor with arms that felt like jelly. Oh Canadian winters … Of course, since then the roads have been absolute garbage, so I’ve been in the house for 4 straight days, listening to stories my husband tells of the roads and their crappy-ness. Ugh.
  • I started up a NEW BLOG. I know, I know, two are enough right? But since I’m participating in NaNo, I have so many writing-related thoughts floating around and I didn’t want to clutter up this blog with that. I’d really prefer to keep this blog to book reviews. So I started up A Winter Writer (which I thought would go perfect with my winter theme). I’m not going to update it ALL THE TIME, probably more in November than anything, but I do hope it’ll help inspire me to write more throughout the year.

  • AND, Anne and I decided to have a Weekend of Awesome this weekend (see above in my post recaps for the link!). I managed to get a TON of writing done, a TON of reading done, AND I plan to do a lot of blogging things today to catch up! It’s been great!

Unbreaking the Shelves progress: 

  • I have a plan and I’m trying to stick to it. I work with a girl who said she hasn’t bought a book in two years and I’m trying to emulate her. Yes, I had a few come in that I bought a few weeks ago, but other than that I’m really trying to restrain myself. It seems like I’m constantly reminding myself that a book I buy can also be found at the library and that I should try to stick to series books I love, or authors on my auto-buy list (like John Green, Stephanie Perkins, Sophie Kinsella, etc.). THIS CAN BE DONE! I just wish it wasn’t so hard.

Awesome things happening around the blogosphere!

In other news, I found Carrie Fletcher’s YouTube channel (she reminds me of Alex Day and Charlie MacDonnell) and this video. Looks super dangerous, and probably not something you should try at home, but HILARIOUS:

*** my listing style for this section is totally stolen from the oh-so-organized Amanda, who got it from Tara. My hope is that some of their organization will rub off on me. Is it possible? Not likely. 

Read-in-2012 (230) 

  • On the Island, by Tracey Garvis Graves
  • The Warlord Wants Forever (Immortals After Dark, #1), by Kresley Cole (audiobook)
  • Along for the Ride, by Sarah Dessen
  • A Wrinkle in TIme (The Graphic Novel), by Madeleine L’Engle and Hope Larson
  • Stealing Parker (Hundred Oaks, #2), by Miranda Kenneally
  • Before I Fall, by Lauren Oliver

Currently-Reading (3)

  • Dark Lover (Black Dagger Brotherhood, #1), by J. R. Ward
    • Yes, I’m STILL reading this. I’m not too into it yet and I find the names really hokey.
  • @WriMo: A 30-Day Survival Guide for Writers, by Kevin Kaiser
    • I’m reading a chapter a day of this during NaNo!
  • Flip This Zombie (Living With the Dead, #2), by Jesse Petersen (audiobook)
    • TOTALLY ruined this book by accidentally starting the third book in the series. Oops.

Own-Must-Read (370)

  • Rock Hard (Sinners on Tour, #2), by Olivia Cunning
    • I won this! I also won the first book in the series, which I LOVED.
  • All These Things I’ve Done (Birthright, #1), by Gabrielle Zevin
    • I bought this one because I was sent the second one for review.
  • Dark Life (Dark Life, #1), by Kat Falls
    • I bought the second one in this series at that book fair a few weeks ago. Doh! So now I have the first.
  • Drain You, by M. Beth Bloom
    • Won from Jen at YA Romantics! Thank you!
  • Stealing Parker (Catching Jordan, #2), by Miranda Kenneally
    • Big thanks to Melissa at Raincoast Books who sent this to me after hearing that the Kobo store does NOT have it available.
  • The Vincent Boys (The Vincent Boys, #1), by Abbi Glines
    • I’ve heard AWESOME things about this book and just had to get it. My library doesn’t have them. 😦

Review-Books-To-Read (17)

  • Days of Blood and Starlight (Daughter of Smoke & Bone, #2), by Laini Taylor
    • Thank you to Hachette for this one! I can’t wait to read it!
  • Scorch (Croak, #2), by Gina Damico
    • Thank you to Thomas Allen & Sons!
  • Hound Dog True, by Linda Urban
    • Thank you to Thomas Allen & Sons!
  • Pregnant Pause, by Han Nolan
    • Thank you to Thomas Allen & Sons!

Wishlist (49)

  • The Ocean at the End of the Lane, by Neil Gaiman
    • YES!!! I cannot wait for this one! I love Neil Gaiman and was thrilled to hear he’s writing a new book — and look at the cover!! It’s GORGEOUS!

experiment in terror series summary
— That it is awesome.

How was your week? Have you read anything good lately?

© 2012, Reading In Winter. All rights reserved.

30 thoughts on “Clock Rewinders on a Book Binge (14)

  1. So I just left a comment…it’s not here! 😦 Ok, what did I say…Oh! I have faith that you can refrain from buying books! Use that library power. 😀 You are a blogging goddess as of late and I wish you all the success with NaNo. AND, be careful out in those snowy conditions!

    • You were sent to spam! I rescued you!

      I will definitely harness ALL THE POWER to refrain from buying ALL THE BOOKS. I can do it! Thank you for the luck! And I will definitely be safe in the snow. I haven’t driven in four days. I’m doing good so far. 🙂

  2. You can do it 🙂 Any book you would buy – put that money aside, and then see how it adds up over just a month or 2 period! Although I know some folks don’t have really good library systems – how is yours? I must admit that mine is pretty fantastic, so I’m able to get 95% of my books from the library, buying only those few I truly read and loved and feel like I could re-read or give to others.

    • My library is also pretty good! Between the two libraries I can get books from, I can also do interlibrary loans from libraries all across the province. I just have to always remind myself about that. 🙂

  3. I love your voice, Kristilyn! Jeez woman, I can play guitar but my singing voice is stuck somewhere between a dying horse and a grandma getting her teeth ripped out. And I have to agree with you on the ‘good at getting started, but not finishing’ part. I’m like 50 pages in on 4 different books haha! clearly you’ve had an excellent week. you put my week to shame, I’ve been absent the whole time! working with books is probably the greatest thing ever. My store is hiring, if you’d rather that 30 % discount on books rather than the library …. 😉

  4. I really need to put myself on a book buying ban and read the 100 or so books I know own that I need to read! Also, Stealing Parker = ❤

    Good work on NaNo, You're doing quite well! Better than me, hopefully I can get back on track this week!

    • Yes! I hope I can stick out on my ban … I need the numbers to go DOWN instead of always creeping up …

      I wish you luck with NaNo! I’m reaching the part where I may fall off track, so I’ll have to buckle down this week. 🙂

  5. Omigosh, Carrie… I didn’t know she had a whole channel. I remember forever ago when she first starting posting her songs and doing videos. She’s Tom from McFly’s little sister, which is why I even know of her, haha. She has a fab voice!

  6. That was the first time I’ve heard you sing! And I swear I’m not saying this just to be polite and complimentary: you have a very sweet and relaxing voice that I could listen to always and it would just make me feel happy. Seriously amazing! I’m jealous, honestly. I would love to be able to sing, even if it was just adequately.

  7. OMG!!! I’m not getting to the rest of your post b/c I’ve procrastinated on your song on the P-word (not THAT one :S) and now I have to RUN my son to school – crap!! You’ve drug me down with your P-ing…. (okay, that word is just too freaking long to type and spell correctly and now I’m even more late – no lunch for you, Jake!!) 🙂

    • Oh, and thanks for turning me onto ItsWayPastMyBedtime – I’m currently wasting my morning watching. This is exactly why I suck as a blogger 😀 Btw, you rock!!! Now I’m off to add Neil himself’s book to my TBR (thanks for the head’s up!!)

      • YES! I’m getting there, too. I always flutter between blogging, reading, and music. Through YouTube in the mix and I just can’t find a happy medium! And yay! Add Neil’s book to your TBR! All TBR lists should have Neil’s books!

    • It’s SO awesome! Yeah. I’ve put the book aside for now. I really want to like it, but I just can’t read the names without shaking my head. Maybe they’re summer books.

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

