COVER LOVE: The Selection series, by Kiera Cass

Cover version: Hardcover
Release Date: October 11, 2011
Publisher: HarperTeen

MY THOUGHTS:
When I first saw the cover for the first book in Kiera Cass’s The Selection series, I fell in love. I mean, how could you not? The colours are absolutely gorgeous, with the blend of blues, blacks, whites, and all the colours in between. I love the crown above the title because it shows what the girls are in competition for, and the typography for the title itself is perfect for the book, with that touch of class and the perfect layout. And doesn’t everyone love a godo book with an armpit sniffing girl? I know EVERYONE has talked about that. If you get a chance, have a look at the UK/AUS version of the book, which (in my opinion) isn’t nearly as nice with the bits of pink in the background as well as a pink title. To me, this cover just POPS, whereas that cover seems to be missing something. Though I do love the tagline of the UK/AUS version, which reads, “In a palace of rivals, only one can win his heart…”

Cover version: Hardcover
Release Date: April 23, 2013
Publisher: HarperTeen

MY THOUGHTS:
The second book in the series, The Elite, is just as gorgeous, but to me it seems to be missing something. I love the dress on the girl with its beautiful red colour, but I’m not sure if it’s the red that’s putting me off (is it really red? Or more like a red-orange?) or the fact that the girl’s upper body isn’t completely center with the cover — she’s kind of turned to the right. BUT the cover does match that of the first book in the series nicely (with the similar font placement, the same overall idea, and the same centered crown) and I have myself wondering what the LAST book will look like, as well as the cover for the novella, The Prince. Personally, I don’t think that the picture does the cover justice; it’s one of those covers that has to be seen in real life. Luckily, I really loved the first book in the series, so I can’t wait for this one to grace my shelves.

Which cover do you like better?

© 2012, Reading In Winter. All rights reserved.

20 thoughts on “COVER LOVE: The Selection series, by Kiera Cass

  1. I like The Selection better, I think mainly because I don’t get the second dress. The color seems like it can’t decide if it’s red or ornage, like you said, and what are those panels coming down the poofy part of it. Not a fan.

  2. I def like the second one better. That redish color just draws me in. It also makes the book look more ‘dangerous’ in my opinion. I have heard that the book is great as well, but I haven’t read it yet. Apperently it’s being made into a movie?

  3. I need to start this series someday, I won the first book but with all the mixed reviews I put it off, and now it’s boxed up lol. The covers are definitely pretty, even with her funny pose in the first one! I like the dress and colours in the second one better though.

  4. I love the fluffy dress more — love the contrasting blue with her red hair. Plus, I like her hair up. The braid hanging down her back looks too casual for that dress, which I agree is more tangerine than red.
    I think the last book will have a purple dress, of course. Very royal. (Actually I have no idea. Just making that up.)

  5. I like the second one better. The sharpness of the dress’s color just makes the cover so much more vivid than the first one. Well, to me, anyway, lol.

  6. Pingback: Clock Rewinders on a Book Binge (15) | Reading In Winter

  7. I thing the red is symbolic: fire, passion, rebellion… many of the things America has to face in the book. The blue dress is my favorite, but the red dress suits the second book in my opinion.

    Rachel @ thegirlsinplaidskirts.com

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

