Q&A AND GIVEAWAY: Michelle Zink [Two & Twenty Dark Tales Blog Tour]

Published by: Month9Books
Release Date: October 16, 2012

Add This Book On Goodreads
Buy Now From: Amazon

Synopsis
In this anthology, 20 authors explore the dark and hidden meanings behind some of the most beloved Mother Goose nursery rhymes through short story retellings. The dark twists on classic tales range from exploring whether Jack truly fell or if Jill pushed him instead to why Humpty Dumpty, fragile and alone, sat atop so high of a wall.

The authors include Nina Berry, Sarwat Chadda, Leigh Fallon, Gretchen McNeil, and Suzanne Young.

I’m happy to have Michelle Zink, author of A Temptation of Angels and a contributor to the Two and Twenty Dark Tales anthology here to do a Q&A on the blog! Big thanks to Michelle for participating!  

Q&A With Michelle Zink

Why did you become a writer? What (or who) inspired you to do what you do?

My father is an amazing writer, so I think it’s just in the genes. I’ve always been a writer. I didn’t take a run at it as a career, though, until I was in my 30s and completely disillusioned with my life in the corporate world. One day I looked around in a meeting and thought, “How did I get here? I don’t even LIKE this.” Finding my way back to writing was a complicated process of selling my house in California, quitting my job, moving to a small (and cheap!) town in New York, and selling antiques online while I tried to remember who I really was.  Finding my way back to writing was like remembering a part of myself I didn’t know I’d lost. Once I found it, I knew I’d never be complete without it again.

What is the atmosphere like when you write – completely silent, or do you listen to music?

It depend on what I’m doing. When I’m drafting, I listen to score music whose atmosphere matches the tone I’m trying to set in my book. Lyrics distract me when I’m drafting and score music is super atmospheric, so it works perfectly (and has the added benefit of drowning out the sounds of my household). But when I’m revising, I can’t listen to music at all. Then I like it to be quiet.

I’m a musician and I feel most inspired to write in the springtime. Is there a certain season when you feel most compelled to put pen to paper?

Winter is actually a great time for me to write. It’s cold outside, we have the woodstove going, and I have a great view from my office window of our big snowy field. I can’t think of a nicer way to pass the cold winter months than working in my office with candles flickering while I wear pajamas!

What book are you reading right now?

I’m reading When a Monster Calls by Patrick Ness (one of my very favorite YA authors) and Gone Girl by Gllian Flynn.

Your blog on your website features lots of music recommendations. Are you a musician yourself? Who are some of your favourite bands or artists?

I wish! I have no musical talent whatsoever, though my twenty-year-old son, Kenneth plays guitar and piano and is a composer.  Music is a huge part of my life and of our family. My favorite band of all time is Brand New. I call them a writer’s band. Their lyrics are incredible. I’ve probably listened to every one of their songs more than a hundred times, and I still find new things in their lyrics. I also love Matchbox Twenty, 30 Seconds to Mars, A Fine Frenzy, Jimmy Eat World, The Fray, and more recently, The National, Mumford and Sons, and Angus and Julia Stone.

When you’re not writing, what do you do in your spare time?

I spend time with my teenagers watching movies, going to concerts, and talking long into the night about anything and everything. My kids are also really into politics so we spend a lot of time discussing that, too.

Do you have any advice for aspiring authors?

Finish something. We writers can spend YEARS staring at the page, writing and rewriting the same chapter (or paragraph – lol!). But in the end, you’re not going to get BETTER if you don’t finish anything. You’ll learn more from the process of writing something from beginning to end than anything else you can do. I don’t think you can really get a big picture view on the process until you see it all the way through.

Can you share any details on what you might be working on next? Any exciting projects in the works?

I have a book coming out next year from Penguin/Dial called THIS WICKED GAME. It’s set in New Orleans and focuses on an old underground society of families who practice voodoo. In addition, I have YA thriller in the works that’s very different from anything else I’ve ever done. I can’t say any more about  that one right now. 😉 I  also have two adult projects, one that I think of as The X-Files meets The DaVinci Code and another contemporary fantasy that I’m super excited about. I’m an idea person, so I always have lots of irons in the fire!

Giveaway

Month9Books has offered up an ecopy of Michelle Zink’s TEMPTATION OF ANGELS for my readers! This is an International giveaway.

Even angels make mistakes in this page-turning epic romance.

When her parents are murdered before her eyes, sixteen-year-old Helen Cartwright finds herself launched into an underground London where a mysterious organization called the Dictata controls the balance of good and evil. Helen learns that she is one of three remaining angelic descendants charged with protecting the world’s past, present, and future. Unbeknownst to her, she has been trained her whole life to accept this responsibility. Now, as she finds herself torn between the angelic brothers protecting her and the devastatingly handsome childhood friend who wants to destroy her, she must prepare to be brave, to be hunted, and above all to be strong, because temptation will be hard to resist, even for an angel.

Michelle Zink masterfully weaves historical fantasy with paranormal romance to create a gripping tale of love and betrayal.

To enter this giveaway, please fill out the form below. This contest will be open until midnight Friday, November 16th. Please see my giveaway policy for rules.

© 2012, Reading In Winter. All rights reserved.

6 thoughts on “Q&A AND GIVEAWAY: Michelle Zink [Two & Twenty Dark Tales Blog Tour]

  1. Great interview! Michelle Zink is always inspiring, whether I’m reading one of her books or reading an interview/blog of hers. Her home sounds so cozy in the winter; I wish I had a snowy meadow and a woodstove. 🙂

    Also I’m SUPER excited to find out about THIS WICKED GAME! Thanks so much for doing this interview.

  2. Pingback: Clock Rewinders on a Book Binge (15) | Reading In Winter

  3. I love Michelle Z and look forward to reading this book, it actually was my most anticipated and still not read 😦

    I love that she listens to music because as I read her books I can visualise and almost feel a musical movie atmosphere.

    Great review

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

