A Personal Post

You may be coming here today to read my weekly Clock Rewinders post, so I’m sorry to disappoint you! I actually had a bit of a break today — it’s Friday — and decided to write this up.

I know when I say “A Personal Post” you might be thinking that it’s a medical issue, or an “I’m stopping blogging!” thing, but it’s neither of those. You can stop worrying!

For the past two years (roughly) I haven’t been working. I had left my job because I wasn’t happy and decided to spend some time figuring out who I was and planned to eventually find a job doing something that I actually really liked. Lucky for me, I got that job. It’s a relief position with my local library, which means that my hours could be small in one week, or they could be crazy in another. I have NO idea what my hours are like, so I pretty much told myself I would take whatever is available. I really like the job and the people who work there, I like having the extra money, and it’s pretty nice to be out of the house doing something I enjoy so much. I feel so lucky to have gotten this position and I want to learn as much as I can.

This past week has been a crazy week. I worked lots, had a staff meeting, and was just busy, busy, busy. I barely read this week — though I did try to get through a couple books — and barely spent any time writing. This weekend I work the entire weekend. My husband is off work, so I plan to spent free time with him. The weird thing is that, even though I love blogging and reading, when I have some time, I’ve been picking up my ukulele, or just laying down and closing my eyes. I don’t feel the urge to go through book after book because when I try that, my eyes get so tired. I also like to try and get away from technology, so I nix the computer.

I am exhausted.

But don’t get me wrong, I’m not complaining. I’m loving what I’m doing. The point of me telling you all of this is that I’m really not sure what’s going to happen with my blogging in the coming months. I’ve been cutting back a lot with my scheduling and posting, and it may get cut back even more. I may even drop a few features. I don’t want to get to where I was in May when I took a month off of blogging because I was burnt out, so I don’t want to overload myself until I get to that point. When I had lots of free time during the week, it was easy to spend a ton of time blogging, reading, and writing reviews, but now that I’m doing other things that I love, I just can’t spend so much time. I also work varying hours, so I like to spend time with my husband when I’m home. I mean, I kind of like the guy.

I guess you could say that this post is a bit of a warning. I will try to get to my Google Reader to catch up on blogs, I’ll try to be on Twitter sometimes, and I’ll try to work on blogging when I can. I have posts scheduled, but eventually I will catch up to what I have scheduled and will probably fly by the seat of my pants to post when I can. I apologize. I love all of my readers and you guys are supremely awesome and supportive, but I really want to focus on work, my family, and maybe get a good night’s sleep in the process. Maybe one day I’ll totally get the hang of things, but if there are days on end where you don’t see me, this is probably why.

Of course, the wonderful thing about working in a library is that I feel like I should be reading, so I still plan to do plenty of it. I have so many beautiful books around me every single day, whether I’m at home or at work, and I feel so thankful to have all of these words that I can consume for days on end.

As far as my writing goes, I do really enjoy NaNoWriMo and will try to get to 50,000 words, but by the end of the day when I come home and can barely keep my eyes open, I don’t want to force the words out just to get words written down. It’s not fair to my characters.

Anyway, this is just a bit of an apology post for things that may come.

If you’ve read this far, I could give you a bit of an update on my week: 

1. I’m currently reading two books: Flip this Zombie by Jesse Petersen and How to Save a Life by Sara Zarr. Both are really good. I’ve been such a slow reader lately, so hopefully I can find more reading time in my days.

2. I bought an iPad this week. It’s shiny and new. I haven’t had a chance to really spend time with it (and I have a knack for forgetting all my passwords, so it’s been a joy to set up).

3. I worked a ton this week and am finally starting to feel really confident about my position at the library. Also, we’re expanding and it’s going to look so beautiful when it’s done.

4. I’ve been playing music a lot this week since it really relieves my stress. I *almost* bought a new ukulele (a baby uke) the other day, but decided to wait and maybe learn a few more chords on my current ukulele (which is still pretty darn new itself).

5. I’ve been eating egg sandwiches all week for lunch and have been adding curry to them. Today there was a weird smell in the house and I’m pretty sure it’s the curry. I think it’s time to just add paprika to the sandwiches so I don’t go through so many candles.

6. I spent a day this week changing my address. This was a PAIN IN THE BUTT and I do not recommend it to anyone. We didn’t move, but Canada Post decided to change things so it would be easier for them. This did not make it easier on us.

7. Even though I’m not caught up on my Google Reader or my reading, I have been keeping up with my games on my iPod. Go figure.

And now, if you’ve made it to the end of this, you’re a rock star.

xx

© 2012, Reading In Winter. All rights reserved.

38 thoughts on “A Personal Post

  1. I’ve been going through this EXACT phase, Kristilyn, and it’s so reassuring to find that you’re going through something similar! While I don’t have a new job or anything, school has slowly become harder and more time-consuming, and I’m actually socializing with other people and hanging out with more of my friends, which is something I’m proud of! I’m pretty shy and kind of a hermit in person, although once people get to know me, I’m vivacious. But I have been hanging out and spending more time with my friends, and I love that I’m getting out more. But, like you, it’s been causing me to pull back on my time blogging. However, I’m nervous I’ll get burnt out, and I’ve gotten super close several times. I’m working on finding that perfect balance, where I can still blog, yet maintain my grades and actually cultivate my beginnings of a social life.

    I love your approach, though! I think that it’s important to do what YOU want with your life, and if that entails cutting down on blogging time to do other things that make you happy, then I whole-heartedly support you. It’s important that you do what’s right for you.

    Good luck with the new job Kristilyn! ❤

  2. I am so right there with you at this moment. My new job has me up at the butt crack of dawn, and by the time I get home, I don’t want anything to do with the computer. THAT is crazy because I’m an internet fiend, but I think my mind wants a rest, so I gravitate towards the TV. Also, reading at night, which is pretty much the only chance I get, doesn’t last very long. I fall asleep very quickly these days.

    So yea, I completely understand. I’m sure we all do. Your bloggie fans won’t leave you behind and will always be here, waiting for a snippet of your life and what you’re reading. 🙂

    • Yes! Though I don’t spend a lot of time on computers at work (at least, not on the internet or anything), I just want to veg out when I get home. And I like TV. Hopefully we can both get back to things — even if it’s in moderation — soon. 🙂

  3. I’ll bet you are exhausted.. I commented in the past that I don’t know how you do this? Now I understand..In the past I wrote 1000 consecutive posts on all kinds of subjects on my Live Journal Page. It was sort of a goal and I was successful. Also like you are going to do I worked at the Rockville Public Library in Connecticut. These days I write on my Google Blogger page although I really try to keep both pages up to date. On the Google page I have 30,000 page views. I identify with you being tired. With the way it is, its best to take a break. I love to write only I started too late, so now for me its a diversion and a venting tool because of all the craziness out there. Enough about me… You will love your library job and after everyone gets to know you they will love you too. Take a breath and relax. You are good at what to do. You have a long career ahead of you… Example of my page……. http://tyler306.blogspot.com/

    • Thank you! It’s easy to wear yourself down! 1,000 consecutive posts sounds intense! I’m a songwriter and wrote and record a song a day this past May and it was crazy exhausting. I think I need to find moderation and balance with things. Thanks for the comment!

  4. You should NEVER have to feel the need to apologize for wanting to spend more time on real life stuff and lagging on blogging. We love you and your presence here, but we also understand that blogging does (and SHOULD) come second. When I was teaching and commuting earlier this year, I felt much the same way you did. The only thing that kept me afloat blog-wise was Kelly and a pretty lax schedule (when I’m “on” with my reading, I can fill up a month of reviews in a week). Step back if you need to. I don’t think anyone here expects you to do it all. I know I don’t. We will BE HERE for you when you have time for us. Truly.

  5. I am so happy that you love your job at the library so much. It’s so easy to get lost in the blogging world and let it overcome you and then things start happening in your real life and you can’t keep up and it’s like “oh yeah, I have a life!” Do what makes you happy, and what doesn’t drain you out. Post once a week! Post twice a week! I’ll still come and read everything!

    Still jealous about the iPad.

    We’ll talk at Christmas 😉

  6. I’m with you there. I finally found some new kids to watch throughout the week. So basically I have 3 under 3. A challenge! But, it’s good. On top of Nano, I’ve had a sick daughter and been sick myself in the past week, very little writing got done. I’m now behind my goal, but hopefully I’ll catch up.

    Right now I’m doing word wars with my local Nano group online, it’s really got my butt hurrying ..lol

    You should take a break if you need to, maybe slow down the posts. We recently decided that we;re each going to do only one review a week, plus our memes to have a post a day. So we;ll see how that works for us, it will definitely be less stressful for me. The only exceptions are blog tours 😛

    Don’t burn yourself out! But if you slow down, I’ll still be here, even if I haven’t been around much this month since I’ve been so busy.

    <3<3

  7. Yay! I’m a rock star, HAHA. Honestly Kristilyn, like you said to me, your blog is always going to be here. Don’t feel like this is a job, you have one that you love now, so spend time on that because not a lot of people have a job that they actually love! Read when you can/want, blog when you can/want. It’s pretty much what I do, sometimes I’m reading/on the computer/doing homework/blogging.

    Kristilyn, you have found what is called a life, something that evaporates the moment I step into my house. LOL, ENJOY IT!

  8. As a book blogger, I believe in one thing for certain: real life and real relationships should never take a backseat to blogging about books. I think it’s perfectly normal and sane and RIGHT to have real life and priorities shift your blogging life – I feel like that always happens to me too!

  9. Oh Kristilyn….don’t apologize!! Now, and I mean this in the most nicest possible way ever :), but…It makes me feel a lot better that you won’t be a posting machine now that you are working! LOL. And I say that because, as I’ve said many times before, I’ve been struggling for months on balancing real life with work life with blogging life, so knowing that now that you are working and finding it challenging to balance everything, reminds that we are ALL human and can’t do all.the.things.all.the.time! 🙂 Did that make sense? lol. I’m so glad you’ve found a job you love, because that’s so, so important! And I’ll always read your posts no matter when or how often you post! As I’m sure all of your followers will too!

    • Brie pretty much said what I wanted to say. Blogging should be the escape from real life, not the other way around! I think anyone who reads struggles with this, because no one person will ever read *everything*.

      • Yes! I suffer from major anxiety when it comes to reading because there are so many books I want to read, but I know that I will never, ever read all of them. But I can still try!

    • Ha ha … thanks, Brie! And I’m happy that you now know I’m not a cyborg or anything. 🙂 I don’t get how anyone with a full-time job, kids, a husband, and a life can post all the time … I don’t even work full time AND I don’t have kids! Maybe I need less sleep …

      Don’t worry, though, I still hope to post often, but not AS often. 🙂

  10. I never understand why people feel the need to apologize when they know they aren’t going to be able to post and comment as often. I mean, you’ve given some very good and practical reasons why things will be slowing down, so no need to feel bad! We will all be here still and won’t abandon the blog if you don’t have time to post for a few weeks, promise! Real life comes before blogging life, it’s as simple as that. And at the moment it sounds like you have a pretty awesome – if busy – real life. Glad things are going so well with the job!!

  11. Don’t apologize, and no explanation needed! Don’t forget, most of us book bloggers have school, jobs, boyfriends/husbands/SO’s, so we TOTALLY understand and don’t expect a post from you everyday! Hell, there are times when I only manage one or two posts a week, and that’s okay! For instance, I won’t have any reviews this week because I was sick all weekend and this week with Thanksgiving coming up is just too crazy. It sucks, but honestly my readers probably won’t even notice 😉 LOL. And when you have other stuff going on, it makes sense to not even feel like sitting in front of the computer and trying to entertain fellow bloggers.

    Enjoy your new job, and spending time with your hubby, and enjoying some down time! Post when you feel like, and don’t stress 🙂 Your readers will still be here.

    • Aww, I hope you feel better now, Sarah! I’m one of those bloggers who is a MAJOR scheduler, so I like to have blog posts ready in advance. I just can’t stick to some of the things (like memes) I’d like to do. And trying to read the blogs in my Reader is hard — but I can try and make it work!

  12. I can imagine how exhausted you must be! We’ve all been there, and we understand; no need to apologize and put more stress on your shoulders. Don’t forget to breathe and take a little time for yourself, too! 🙂

  13. Don’t apologize! Real life is more important and should never take a backseat to blogging! (Sometimes I have to keep reminding myself of that, though!) Post when you can; I for one will keep coming back!

  14. Oh goodness, I ALWAYS forget my passwords to everything! It used to be I just rotated 3 around, but I had to change it enough times that I have too many to guess, and sites usually lock me out before I manage to guess the right one *facepalm*

    As for taking it easy on blogging, you have to do what’s right for you and I totally understand. That doesn’t mean I won’t miss your face and tackle hug you every time I happen to see you around the internet! But I understand. Glad you’re loving your job at the library 🙂

    • YES! I am ALWAYS forgetting my passwords. It makes me want to throw the computer (or my phone) across the room.

      I’m loving my job! I just hope to find some sort of balance … 🙂

  15. Pingback: Clock Rewinders on a Book Binge (15) | Reading In Winter

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

