BOOK REVIEW: The Hallowed Ones, by Laura Bickle

Date(s) read: October 18 – 21, 2012
Genre: YA Horror

Series:
The Hallowed Ones (#1) Amazon | Goodreads
The Outside (#2)

SYNOPSIS
Katie is on the verge of her Rumspringa, the time in Amish life when teenagers can get a taste of the real world. But the real world comes to her in this dystopian tale with a philosophical bent. Rumors of massive unrest on the “Outside” abound. Something murderous is out there. Amish elders make a rule: No one goes outside, and no outsiders come in. But when Katie finds a gravely injured young man, she can’t leave him to die. She smuggles him into her family’s barn—at what cost to her community? The suspense of this vividly told, truly horrific thriller will keep the pages turning.

My Thoughts
Let me say this to you first: Vampires and the Amish.

Right?!?

I have to admit that I was scared about reading this story when I first got it because I mentioned it to a friend of mine and she said she didn’t finish it. I *always* worry about this when I buy a book blindly because I don’t want to spend the money to dislike something. This story, however, was one I loved.

I’ve read Amish stories in the past and really liked the setting. There’s something to say about the simplicity of the lifestyle and it can be nice to read a story where the characters, especially the young characters, are naïve and innocent.

Katie was a kick-BUTT character. I loved her from the instant I met her. She was rebellious and wanted what was true to her heart. I loved the fact that she wasn’t ready to just blindly become something she wasn’t and was wiling to fight what was right for her. She was a GREAT character. I also really loved Alex and absolutely hated one certain character (one who was really close to Katie – I don’t want to mention names, but this character started off with me cheering for them, but in the end I was very much against them!).

Some may be turned off by the religion in this story, but all I can say is that if you haven’t read any Amish stories in the past, you might want to check this one out from the library, or borrow it from a friend. It does get very religious, but I think that it’s necessary – I just don’t think you can have a story that deals with the Amish without religion coming in once in a while.

Laura Bickle is a wonderful writer – she kept me up in to the night reading this story because I just had to know what happened. The instant I finished the story wanting more, I knew I had a winner on my hands. I’ve been told that there will be a sequel to the story and I am so looking forward to it. It will be AMAZING.

AUTHOR LINKS
WEB | TWITTER | GOODREADS

© 2012, Reading In Winter. All rights reserved.

18 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: The Hallowed Ones, by Laura Bickle

  1. So happy that you fared better with this one than me. I liked the very eerie feel of it but the religion was pretty much slapping me in the face and was just too much for me. I’m curious about the character you ended up hating…. but I don’t clearly remember many of them so I’m not sure I would even know the person with a name. Anyway, great review! I hope the second one is just as good for you!

    • That’s so funny, since I just finished reading The Chosen One and found that the religion was quite strong … I guess it’s the WAY they were both portrayed. Meh. I liked this one! It was super creepy!

  2. This one sounds pretty cool. And I agree that it would feel kind of off to not have religion in a book about the Amish. I don’t mind religion in a book as long as it’s not overpowering. Or unexpected.

  3. I’ve never read a story about the Amish before. Religion actually turns me off a LOT, I mean, I don’t mind people practicing their own religion, but if they star trying to “convert” people, and doing offensive things like the whole “fag” thing.. ugh. A bit of religion is fine, but if it feels as if the writing is forcing religion upon me.. then I don’t really like it.

    • I think it depends on how the religion is put forth in the book. There are certain religions that make sense to be dominant in a book, like an Amish book or an FCLS book. Meh. I don’t mind religion!

  4. Pingback: Clock Rewinders on a Book Binge (15) | Reading In Winter

  5. Pingback: Allison: The Hallowed Ones | Laura Bickle | Book Review

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

