COVER LOVE: Lies Beneath (Lies Beneath, #1), by Anne Greenwood Brown

Cover version: Hardcover
Release Date: June 12, 2012
Publisher: Delacorte Books for Young Readers

MY THOUGHTS:
This was the first mermaid book I read and I absolutely loved it. I was sucked in by the synopsis and this GORGEOUS cover. I mean, look at it! I love the rippling water with that splash of colour coming in trom the surface AND the rays of light. It’s beautiful! And the mermaid? I love that there’s a mermaid on the cover! BUT, my one main issue with this cover is the fact that it’s a merMAID on the cover and not a merMAN. If you’ve read this book, you’ll know that the narrator is a guy. What I think of the cover is that it’s one of his (evil) sisters on the cover because why else would the publishers put a mermaid on the cover? But I rant. I also love the simplicity of the font. With so much beauty in the background, there’s no need for complicated typography.

Cover version: Hardcover (Italian version)
Release Date: September 18, 2012
Publisher: Mondadori

MY THOUGHTS:
Now, THIS cover I can get behind. I freaking LOVE this cover! I love the look of the main character, Calder, and kind of want to read the book again with this character in my head. I also love that he’s NOT underwater as a merman, but on the shore as a full man. While the above cover lures in the reader with gorgeous colours, this one lures in readers with the gorgeous guy (it had to be said!) and the subdued colours. I love that it’s a gloomy, rainy day and that Calder is searching, looking down at the water. It’s beautiful! And the typography for the title. LOVE IT! It just fits perfectly with the cover — as does the tagline. I really like how the tagline isn’t right in your face when you’re looking at the cover, but that it is more matching with the colours of the cover. I wish this cover was on the english books!

Which cover do you like better?

© 2012, Reading In Winter. All rights reserved.

17 thoughts on “COVER LOVE: Lies Beneath (Lies Beneath, #1), by Anne Greenwood Brown

  1. I haven’t read the book but I like the first cover better just because the photography and colors and light are amazingly done. But the Italian cover is SO intruiging. It kind of reminds me of a romance novel, but not really.

    And a book with a merman — I am going to have to pick this one up! I’ve only read 1 mermaid book in my life and I liked it. The only problem was there were no men. It was forbidden to turn a man into a merman. Kind of weird, but it was still good.

  2. Both look awesome actually, I kinda like the darkness of the second one more too 🙂 I’m not into Mermaid books too much, since the ones I’ve read before haven’t been good, but I’ll give this one a try at some point 🙂

  3. I always love seeing foreign covers and how that culture chooses to portray covers differently to our own. Coming from the standpoint of someone who has never read this book, I also like the second cover more. The first one is definitely nice, like you said, but the Italian cover is more meaningful and less stereotypical, so it’s a shame that it is for the Italian version only. If only we got to choose the covers we want!

  4. Pingback: Clock Rewinders on a Book Binge (16) | Reading In Winter

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

