AUDIOBOOK REVIEW: Second Grave on the Left (Charley Davidson, #2), by Darynda Jones

Date(s) read: October 21 – 24, 2012
Genre: Paranormal Mystery

Series:
First Grave on the Right (#1)
For I Have Sinned (#1.5)
Second Grave on the Left (#2) Amazon | Goodreads
Third Grave Right Ahead (#3)
Fourth Grave Beneath My Feet (#4)
Fifth Grave Past the Light (#5)

SYNOPSIS
Charley Davidson, Grim Reaper Extraordinaire, is back in this sexy, suspenseful novel of supernatural shenanigans

When Charley is rudely awakened in the middle of the night by her best friend who tells her to get dressed quickly and tosses clothes out of the closet at her, she can’t help but wonder what Cookie’s up to. Leather scrunch boots with a floral miniskirt? Together? Seriously? Cookie explains that a friend of hers named Mimi disappeared five days earlier and that she just got a text from her setting up a meet at a coffee shop downtown. They show up at the coffee shop, but no Mimi. But Charley finds a message on the bathroom wall. Mimi left a clue, a woman’s name. Mimi’s husband explains that his wife had been acting strange since she found out an old friend of hers from high school had been found murdered a couple weeks prior. The same woman Mimi had named in her message.

Meanwhile, Reyes Alexander Farrow (otherwise known as the Son of Satan. Yes. Literally) has left his corporeal body and is haunting Charley. He’s left his body because he’s being tortured by demons who want to lure Charley closer. But Reyes can’t let that happen. Because if the demons get to Charley, they’ll have a portal to heaven. And if they have a portal to heaven…well, let’s just say it wouldn’t be pretty. Can Charley handle hot nights with Reyes and even hotter days tracking down a missing woman? Will Cookie ever get a true fashion sense? And is there enough coffee and chocolate in the world to fuel them as they do?

Here is your signpost for the most hilarious read of the summer: Second Grave On The Left.

My Thoughts
Charley Davidson! When I read First Grave on the Right – or, when I listened to the audiobook – I fell in love with Charley’s character. She was snarky and loveable, in kind of a crude and hilarious way. I’m happy to say that even though I was hesitant to pick up the next book in the series (what with me always worrying about putting too much time in between stories and forgetting what happened in the first novel), I really enjoyed this second installment to the series.

It was so nice getting back with Charley’s character. She’s funny, full of attitude, and has enough one-liners to reel in all the fish (Yeah, yeah. I’m not as funny.). Between her and her friend (and coworker) Cookie, I was busting a gut. This means I have fun driving because that’s where I tend to listen to my audiobooks (which also means I look like a goof to other drivers when I’m just laughing all by myself in the car).

I love that these stories don’t rely completely on the other stories in the series. That is, even though you should read the first book before you read this one, the first book isn’t a total set-up to the second book in the series. There’s not a lot of information you need in order to read the second novel. I really liked how the author recapped the last book in bits and pieces where it didn’t feel like I was reading (listening to) page after page of recap. It’s ALWAYS nice to be able to get enthralled with the story from the get-go, because recap can be tedious.

I do feel a little hesitant about the love story in this series, though. Maybe it changes in the third book, but by the end of the first book it felt like there would be a relationship between Charley and Reyes. While there is a relationship, they’re not exactly lovers or anything. Maybe part of me wants them to be lovers, or for Charley to HAVE a lover, but if I was supposed to feel like they have a thing going together, then I must have missed it. Reyes plays a huge part, but not enough for me to feel completely invested in him.

Overall, though, this is a fun story – and a really great one to listen to on audiobook. Lorelei King is a wonderful narrator and really pulls off the Charley Davidson character quite well. I really look forward to continuing on with this series, even if it doesn’t have the romantic angle I’m looking for – Charley’s just so much fun!

If I had to make a recommendation, though, I would say to listen to this story as an audiobook because the narrator really brings the characters to life.

AUTHOR LINKS
WEB | TWITTER | GOODREADS

© 2012, Reading In Winter. All rights reserved.

7 thoughts on “AUDIOBOOK REVIEW: Second Grave on the Left (Charley Davidson, #2), by Darynda Jones

  1. I have yet to get started on this series! I did read Death and the Girl Next Door and that didn’t go over well. Maybe I would like her adult series better, who knows. I wonder what’s going on with the romance? Maybe it’s the slowest growing one EVER!

  2. I’ve heard (ha, pun NOT intended) Lorelei is an awesome narrator – she narrates a couple of other big series (don’t ask me which ones, I forget, but at the time I read about her I was impressed).

    And I personally think this was the weakest book of the series so far. I will say this: I think these books are more along the lines of an UF with a love interest than a romance. I, too, was disappointed in the lack of REAL LOVIN’ in the books but I quickly wrote that off b/c the stories and humor just pushed that all aside for me. I think Darynda is a love or hate it author, especially her Death and the Girl series (which I LOVED – but I’m weird 🙂 )

    • Well, I look forward to the next book, then! I have gotten used to the whole non-love love interest part. I do agree with you that the humour definitely makes the book, despite the lack of a love interest. I love the snarkiness! I can’t wait to read Death and the Girl Next Door series!

  3. Pingback: Clock Rewinders on a Book Binge (16) | Reading In Winter

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

