Weekend Library Reading (1): The List by Siobhan Vivian

WEEKEND LIBRARY READING is a new feature of Reading In Winter! If YOU make use of your local library, feel free to participate. I work in a library that has a HUGE selection of awesome books, and even when I’m not working I seem to come home with a TON of them, so it only makes sense to showcase some of the beauties I plan to read from my local library over a weekend. 

Book: The List by Sioban Vivian

Why I Took Out This Book: I have a habit of scouring the library website for the new books that are coming out. If I plan to NOT buy books, then the least I can do is get my name on the hold list so that I’m the first one to read a book I’m looking forward to! This was one of those books and it looks intense and very intriguing.

Add This Book on Goodreads

What It’s About: 
An intense look at the rules of high school attraction — and the price that’s paid for them.

It happens every year. A list is posted, and one girl from each grade is chosen as the prettiest, and another is chosen as the ugliest. Nobody knows who makes the list. It almost doesn’t matter. The damage is done the minute it goes up.

This is the story of eight girls, freshman to senior, “pretty” and “ugly.” And it’s also the story of how we see ourselves, and how other people see us, and the tangled connection of the two.

Have you read this book?

© 2012, Reading In Winter. All rights reserved.

21 thoughts on “Weekend Library Reading (1): The List by Siobhan Vivian

  1. How do kids come up with this stuff? I mean, I’m sure the author heard of something similar and chose to write about it… maybe? I’m stoked to see how this read turns out, especially with the multiple POVs (which I personally like).

  2. Yay for this feature! I can barely keep up with my review books, so I’m not sure if I’ll be able to participate but I’ve tagged this for something I’d love to do. I’m constantly at my library but I don’t always review them on the blog (it’s a time thing, not a library vs. review book thing….) but I’d love to feature them in some way. ANYWAY! I’ve had this book on my shelf for a while, and need to read it soon. I can’t wait to hear what you think of it!
    ~ Jen @ A Book and a LatteBook Haul & Blog News

    • I’m terrible with overrequesting review books so I feel your pain! Once I work through the ones I have I’m going to try and work my way through my unreads on my shelf AND my library books. My library has a great selection!

  3. I saw this one months ago and I think I need to read it! I love drama, maybe because there wasn’t that much of it in my high school..lol Plus I love the crazy things authors come up with (which I realise are based off of things that really happen, one reason I’m leaning toward homeschooling!)

    I hope you enjoy/ed it!

    • Seriously, after reading a lot of books about the things that probably happen in high school now, homeschooling sounds pretty good! I don’t think I had any of this drama when I was in hgh school, either!

  4. I love the sound of this feature and though I don’t use the library enough (our libaries over here don’t get in books I want to read or the new ones but they are getting better so YAY) but I really should. I haven’t read it but The List sounds great, hope you enjoy it!

    • Yay! I’m glad your library is getting better! I think there are some people who don’t know what their library offers — maybe they can do interlibrary loans, or get ebooks to their patrons. Or, maybe patrons can request books of certain genres, which would help the library see what its patrons want. If you work with your library, they might be able to work with you!

  5. Pingback: Clock Rewinders on a Book Binge (16) | Reading In Winter

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

