COVER LOVE: Second Chance Summer, by Morgan Matson

Cover version: Hardcover
Release Date: May 8, 2012
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Children’s Publishing

MY THOUGHTS:
To me, this cover is absolutely gorgeous. When I first got the book from the library, it was big and beautiful and HEAVY, just like the story inside. This is one of my favourite books, so I’m happy that the cover shows so much emotion, because the book is FULL of emotion, so much so that I was bawling by the end. The colours and the girl gazing off the dock just makes me so sad and that’s exactly what I wanted to feel by the end of the story. Sad, but still with hope that when the sun sets, it will rise again in the morning. As far as looks go, the scenery is gorgeous and whimsical, and the font is perfect. I love how the title of the book doesn’t jump right out at the reader, but it pops out and some points, while at others it almost blends with the background. Gorgeous!

Cover version: Mass Market
Release Date: June 7, 2012
Publisher: Simon & Schuster UK

MY THOUGHTS:
When I was reading Second Chance Summer, I felt incredibly sad some of the time and incredibly happy during other times. But most of all, I felt that the book was just so sweet and poignant that this cover just seems way too busy for the feelings I felt once I finished. It’s very similar to the alternate cover for Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour, with the same kind of typography and all of the things going on in the background, but Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour was a fun, road trip book. Even though there were some serious issues, it was all about the trip. This book is all about family and friends and second chances. To me, this cover really doesn’t convey the tone of the book. THOUGH, I do like how the cover shows the movie reel, the cottage, the dock, the bike ride … all the things are so fitting to the book, but I just wished it was a better fit for the story.

Which cover do you like better?

© 2012, Reading In Winter. All rights reserved.

15 thoughts on “COVER LOVE: Second Chance Summer, by Morgan Matson

  1. These covers don’t look like the belong with the same book. The hardcover is beautiful and looks quite deep, while the paperback looks like it belongs with a light, fun read.

  2. Pingback: Clock Rewinders on a Book Binge (16) | Reading In Winter

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

