Happy New Year!

It’s the New Year!

*throws confetti*

Let’s celebrate! By making resolutions!

Are you a resolution person? I think I’m one of those make-resolutions-just-for-the-sake-of-making-resolutions kind of people. I like the idea of making plans, but then things tend to fall through, or I get distracted. My follow-through isn’t great.

But I can change that! Yes!

At any rate, here are some of the resolutions/goals I hope to follow through with in 2013:

Life Goals

1. Balance My Hobbies

I am TERRIBLE at balancing things. Besides work, my husband, my dogs, my friends, and my house, I have a lot of hobbies I like to do. Balance must be attained!

Here are the hobbies I’d like to keep doing this year — in moderation, rather than sporadically:

  • Reading

What? I like reading? Who would’ve thought?!? šŸ™‚ This is one of the things that takes up a LOT of time, but I hope that I can combine it with other things — like putting on an audiobook while doing something else.

  • Making cards

Yes! I like makind cards! I actually did this a LONG while ago and got rid of a bunch of my tools. I’m STILL mad at myself for that. I spend so much money on cards and want to focus more on actually making things with my hands this year — gifts, cards, etc.

  • Playing my piano

Oh, to be my neighbours. Especially in the summer, when I open all the windows and just BANG on my piano. This is something I really should do every day. I always get so swept up in it that hours pass before I realize it. And this really isn’t a multi-tasking kind of hobby.

  • Knitting

Last year, I took up knitting. It took a little while until I got the swing of things, but eventually I did. Then I put it down and forget about it. Recently, I’ve taken it back up again and I love it! I love the idea of making something and WEARING it. Or, gifting something! I have so many ideas for gifts for friends and family. I hope to do LOTS of this — and it’s something I can do while listening to an audiobook OR while catching up on TV!

  • Blogging

This is something that can either taken up a portion of my day or ALL day. I swear, I put off blogging so much, then have to spend a whole day catching up. I really think that I can spend a little time every morning blogging, checking my Reader, and doing general updates that I shouldn’t have to spend days catching up ever again!

  • Watching my TV shows

I love TV. I love all the shows. Really. And hubs likes them, too, so we spend lots of time catching up on our favourites. With Fall TV and Spring TV, there are so many great things to watch! Luckily, I can also catch up on my Reader, make cards, or knit while doing this, which is great.

  • Yoga

I actually really like yoga, but there’s only ONE flow that I do all the time from YogaDownload. It’s my favourite and it really stretches me out and makes me feel good. I need to try and get this in at LEAST 5 days a week. My body would like this and it would be a great way to unwind at the end of the day!

2. Health

I am not a healthy person. I was — a few years ago — but things seem to have fallen by the wayside. I have spurts of being totally healthy, followed by spurts of not being very healthy at all.

My plan:

  • Eat healthier

Yes. This can happen. Chips aren’t potatoes. Oh look — veggies! YUM, right?

  • Make balanced meals

I actually really love to cook and it’s not hard to make a balanced meal. I want to to have a binder of things that me and hubs like, so that I can refer to it when planning the week — that would just make things so much easier!

  • Take my multi-vitamin every day

My doctor told me I need to do this. This was in October. After that, I bought some multivitamins, had one every day for 4 days, then maybe 5 since then. It’s not THAT hard. Maybe I should set up a reminder to do this.

  • Floss as much as I can (I won’t say every day because that NEVER happens!)

My dentist gets on my case for this ALL THE TIME. I actually have to use $15 toothpaste at night because my teeth are that bad. If I could get into a routine with my teeth, my next appointment might not be as bad as it usually is.

This is all totally doable. A few years ago I did awesome with this, so I can do it again. I mean, Pinterest is FULL of healthy inspiration! I don’t even want to say that I’ll get on the treadmill or lose xx amount of pounds because that’s just too concrete for me, but I will get healthier.

3. Miscellaneous

There are so many other things that I want to do in 2013 that I’ve even told my husband that he has to get on my case about some of them. These include:

  • Remember birthdays and holidays better. Be Martha Stewart.

I’m SO bad for this. And I usually just send out a gift card or something. I CAN DO BETTER THAN THIS! Pinterest is full of so many awesome ideas that I should be able to come up with ideas for birthdays and holidays. People say I’m crafty — I will show them crafty!

  • Tidy up the house every day

I found some tips and tricks on the Real Simple blog that I bookmarked on my iPad. I will refer to this website more often and tidy up the house EACH day so that I don’t have to spend so much time on the weekend doing it. This includes wiping down the bathrooms, putting the dishes away each morning, making sure the kitchen is clean each night, and doing a load of laundry a day (as well as putting the laundry away!). With 3 dogs and 2 cats, I could also vaccum more often, too.

  • Take some pictures

There was a time where I took ALL THE PICTURES. I love my camera and I love taking pictures. Somewhere along the way, I got it in my head that taking pictures took up too much time. It’s time for me to buckle down, open my camera case, and start documenting life!

Bookish Goals

  1. In 2012, I managed to read 258 books. You might think that I would then set my 2013 goal a little higher, but seeing as I’m going for BALANCE this year, I’m going to stick to a goal of ONLY 100 books. Are you shocked? Me, too. But a goal can always be raised.
  2. In 2012, I bought ALL THE BOOKS. Seriously. My home library is overflowing with books I’ve yet to read. In fact, I donated well over 200 books to libraries in my area last year — and still have lots on my shelves. I’ve been tempted to go buy more books, but I’m really trying to refrain from doing so. I can get my unread books UNDER 100. Really. It can happen. No — it WILL happen!Ā 
  3. Accomplish my BOOK BINGO goal! Well, actually, I don’t have a goal yet, but so far my plan is to start small and work my way up to being the SUPER READER. Like I said in #1, a goal can always be raised!

Blogging Goals

Like I said up in my Life Goals, I plan to try and schedule my blogging into my days so that I’m not overwhelmed. In fact, as I’m writing this post, I’m catching up on reviews and doing some blog updates before the new year starts. As much as I like blogging, I’d rather spend my day doing many things instead of one — I just feel more accomplished and up to date that way.

While I love my blog, I’m going to try and not get overwhelmed this year. In 2012, I had to take a break from blogging for a month because I was stressed out. This year, I’m going to take it easy with the posts, try not to put pressure on myself, and just have fun with my blog. I will remind myself that it’s MY blog and that I can run it how I want to. I’m not in competition with anyone. I’m here to share my love of books and have fun.

I know this has nothing to do with blogging (well, maybe a little), but I also plan to take it easy with the social media, but still be present. I love Twitter and all, but I can spend WAY too much time on there. I want to spend some time there, but still accomplish things during the day. Again — balance.

And a final note … it all seems to come down to balance. I guess that’s what 2013 means to me. Throughout the years, I’ve gathered all these things I really like to do, so I have to actually spend time doing them.

Do you have any resolutions or plans for the new year?Ā 

37 thoughts on “Happy New Year!

  1. Such lovely goals and I totally agree balance is the key to everything. I try to blog in the early morning and for a little each evening., It is so easy to spend hours blogging, visiting blogs and socialize via twitter and facebook, I read 250 books, and have this little rule about writing at least a rough draft of my review immediately after finishing a book and before i allow myself to read another…it definitely motivates me to keep up on them. Best of luck and Happy New Year my friend..you can do it!!!

  2. That’s a lot of goals! I hope you can find a good, healthy balance among all the things. Either that, or someone somehow figures out how to fit extra hours in the day, because that would REALLY help us all out! Lol.

    Happy New Year!!!!

  3. Love this! My goal is also more yoga. It helps balance out all the time I spend on the keyboard. I’m also not raising my book reading goal. I might also lower it. I reviewed 120 books in 2012, so I don’t really need to read any more than that if I don’t feel like it.
    Yeah, eating healthier. I’m working on that. And I put my vitamin bottle by my toothbrush so I remember to take it. I’m horribly forgetful šŸ™‚
    Happy 2013! Look forward to talking about lots of books with you šŸ™‚

    • Yay for yoga! Whenever I do a flow, I remember how much I love it. It’s a great way to stretch out the body! And I’ve taken my vitamins 3 days in a row! I have to take mine with food, so it’s a pain in the butt. I look forward to chatting books with you, too!

  4. *raises glass full of champagne* *finds a piece of confetti in it and fishes it out before making a toast* Here’s to balance! I need to find that too, but for some reason didn’t actually make it a goal. Silly me! *steals resolution*

    Eating healthier is a great goal, and I need to get back to it! One of my favorite cookbooks for that is Now Eat This by Rocco DiSpirito – check and see if you can get it from your library, it has lots of great stuff šŸ™‚

    Good luck with all your resolutions! Here’s to an awesomely balanced 2013!

    • I’ll have to check that cookbook out. For me, I eat the things I know I shouldn’t when I know I’m fully capable of making healthy, well-balanced meals. And snacking – I’m terrible for snacking!

      *toasts your glass*

      Here’s to balance!

  5. Oh, kindred spirit. I’m the same about flossing. I started getting those ones on the plastic arm things so I’m not trying to shove a fist into my mouth to get the back teeth. And between reflux (BOO!) and nausea from migraines, they’ve stuck me on the fancy toothpaste too. Have you tried the sonicare toothbrushes? It really helped my mom’s gums, and I think I’ve had less cavities since I’ve got mine.

    I need to find the balance too. I usually obsess over one, and everything else goes by the wayside. I need to make myself make time for stitching.

    • My husband has used those plastic flossing things … I just prefer regular floss. You know, when I decide to floss once in a blue moon! I think I have a sonicare toothbrush? I have an electric one … I use that a lot! And I have a splint. And the expensive toothpaste. My dentist makes a lot of money off of me!

      I hope you can make time for stitching! I hate that my crafting things go to the backburner. Here’s balance this year!

  6. Way to make me feel like I should be more motivated Kristilyn!

    I don’t set goals because I know I won’t meet them. I’m very impulsive and if I feel like doing something, I do it. But if I set out to achieve it I end up feeling like it’s something that I hAVE to do and then I don’t want to do it…. yeah I suck… LOL

    • I’m usually like that, too. I think that’s why I don’t want to say anything like, “I won’t eat ANY more junk food,” or “I’m going to lose xx amount of pounds.” I feel like when I do that, I can NEVER reach my goal.

  7. Happy New Year, Kristilyn! šŸ˜€ I think those are some reasonable goals, and I should definitely follow suit with a few of them, especially the one about buying books. šŸ˜› haha

  8. You have some great goals here Kristilyn! I think a lot are attainable too – which is important. I need to find more balance, eat healthier, get moving, and floss as well šŸ™‚ Good luck in meeting your goals & I hope you have a happy and health 2013!

  9. I hope you’ll be able to find your balance between all those things you’re doing! I wouldn’t mind listening to you play piano though, haha. I’m not a resolution person, but I still want to become more healthy and hopefully drop a few pounds as well.

    I LOVE making cards, but I never had enough tools to do it. Just paper and some stickers, haha! I want to go along with that stuff Martha Stewart does, but it’s kind of expensive as well. Her site is great for inspiration though, sometimes I don’t follow them, but I can kind of get more ideas from them.

    As for the “remembering birthdays”, I really hope you achieve that. Just stick to closer relatives/friends first, and progress from there. Trust me, I forgot a pretty close friends birthday, IT FELT HORRIBLE! Otherwise, just mark them all down on a calendar and put it close to your desk or wherever you spend most of your time.

    Taking pictures would also be one of them. I’m more of an “impulsive photographer” but sometimes I want to sit there and actually look over before I click the shutter like 2034958345 times.

    Anyways, like I said, good luck with all your resolutions! šŸ™‚

    • Card making is VERY expensive. I used to have a TON of tools and I’m so sad that I sold them. All I really have is paper and stamps — not a lot of embellishing things.

      I love taking pictures — I feel like I haven’t done it in such a long time, though, that I wouldn’t know what I was doing! But, practice makes perfect, right?

      Thanks for the luck, Leanne!

  10. Oh, I love that card making is one of your goals for this year! I used to create my own cards too – my old blog is still up and I used to do design work for a few companies and stuff! I miss it so much… maybe I will be able to start up again in the spring too šŸ™‚

    I wanted to add some health goals to my list too, but I decided to be realistic with myself, lol! I do plan on eating better, etc. but it’s going to definitely be a slow process for me šŸ˜‰

    Love reading your goals for this year! Thanks for sharing it!!!
    Happy new year! xo

    • I miss card making and scrapbooking, too … it does take up a lot of time, though. And it’s very expensive.

      I think my health goals are realistic — hopefully! I can’t get too specific or I definitely wouldn’t follow through. šŸ™‚

      Happy New Year to you, too!

  11. Balance is definitely a good overall goal for a new year. Though it’s not been easy, I think 2012 taught me how to do that, especially with the combination of blogging, writing, working and well, spending time with the people I love. Here’s to hoping that you find a way to balance all these cool hobbies and the rest of your life!

    I’m determined to be more crafty this year as well. I used to love making things, especially scrapbooks, and I really want to embrace that side of me again this year.

    • That’s great that you’ve found your balance! I’m going to try my darndest to find it this year!

      I hope you can get crafty this year … it’s a great way to relax. šŸ™‚

  12. I’m just going to copy yours… I wish I had time to get into knitting! I even joined Ravelry.com with every intention. Never happened. This year, though!!

    … maybe.

    And you’re so bold to put up your resolutions. I think I’ll keep mine in my notebooks šŸ˜€ Thanks for the awesome inspiration!!!

    • Yes! I joined Ravelry, too!! I found a few patterns I want to work on … I just have to work on getting some more supplies. All I have is some yarn and one pair of needles. I may go a little crazy. šŸ™‚

      My resolutions aren’t too concrete, which is nice. They’re still flexible!

  13. Wow, even your list of goals/resolutions is super organized! šŸ˜‰ You have a great list – and quite a few I can relate to. I’ve been thinking about mine for weeks now and think I’m ready to finally *write* them down. It always seems more real and scary once they are written down lol.
    As for book buying – I feel like I can easily not buy new books, but my big weakness is thrift stores and second hand stores. Because when you find a book there, it’s not like it will be there the next time you go back, so you HAVE TO buy it then. So I guess I could stop going into those kinds of stores, but I love them too much haha.

    I too, definitely need to focus more on healthy living and keeping the house tidy/clean.

    Good luck!! šŸ™‚

    • That’s the beauty of drafts/rewrites. šŸ™‚ When I make too concrete of goals, then I’m not likely to follow through, so I thought I’d make a general list that has room for stretching.

      You DO have a weakness for thrift stores! You must show me your secret! I have a weakness for cheap ebooks … theere are some great deals! I especially like that when I don’t really need to have the physical book. I love bookstores too much, too … I guess I just shouldn’t stop as much!

      Thanks for the luck!

  14. Sounds like you have some very balanced goals for 2013. My goals include healthier living (exercise & healthy eating & being more active), scrapbooking (re-working online classes I haven’t finished), and reading (100 books).

    • Thanks, Melissa! I know I need to get more active, too … it’s just too darn slippery this winter! That’s great that you want to do more scrapbooking! I really loved it when I did it years ago. šŸ™‚ Good luck with your goals!

  15. Pingback: Clock Rewinders on a Book Binge (18) | Reading In Winter

  16. I AM a resolution maker and I love reading other people’s goals, too, so thanks for posting all of yours! I posted some of my “athletic” ones on New Year’s Day (even though I thought of another one recently.. ), but I’m still working on all my other ones.

    I should look for that Real Simple checklist for tidying up the house every day. I’m not the most disciplined housekeeper, but when I just focus on it, I’m so surprised what I can get done in just an hour!

    Happy New Year!

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

