ARC REVIEW: Stealing Parker (Hundred Oaks, #2), by Miranda Kenneally

Date(s) read: November 10, 2012
Genre: YA Contemporary

Series:
Guys Do Not Do Secret Santa (#0.5)
Catching Jordan (#1)
Stealing Parker (#2) Amazon | Goodreads
Things I Can’t Forget (#3)
Racing Savannah (#4)

SYNOPSIS
Red-hot author Miranda Kenneally hits one out of the park in this return to Catching Jordan’s Hundred Oaks High.

Parker Shelton pretty much has the perfect life. She’s on her way to becoming valedictorian at Hundred Oaks High, she’s made the all-star softball team, and she has plenty of friends. Then her mother’s scandal rocks their small town and suddenly no one will talk to her.

Now Parker wants a new life.

So she quits softball. Drops twenty pounds. And she figures why kiss one guy when she can kiss three? Or four. Why limit herself to high school boys when the majorly cute new baseball coach seems especially flirty?

But how far is too far before she loses herself completely?

My Thoughts

Thank you to Raincoast Books for sending me an ARC of this book! 

Oh Miranda Kenneally, where have you been all my life? The instant I stopped reading Catching Jordan, the first book in the Hundred Oaks series, I knew I HAD to read the next book immediately. I fell in love with the story and loved the characters. The fact that it was a book that revolved around sports seemed like a moot point, especially since I’m really not a lover of sports. Kenneally works in the sports aspect so well that it didn’t feel like I was reading a sports book at all.

Stealing Parker was the same way. Instead of football, it was a book that revolved around baseball, as well as a very taboo topic. Throughout the book, I wanted to throttle Parker because she wasn’t doing the things I had wanted her to do. But, like all books, she goes on a journey to find out what’s best for her. The interesting thing is that unlike Jordan in Catching Jordan, Parker is in a religious family, so there’s lots of letters to God, as well as churchgoing. I really wasn’t expecting it after reading the first book, but I found myself not bothered by the religion at all.

And the romance! I loved the romance in the book and how it didn’t come easy. Throughout the entire read, I actually wasn’t sure (though I had an inkling) how things were going to end up, but I liked that Parker was confused and being a normal teenager about all of her experiences. Yes, part of it may have been taboo and not part of any normal teenager’s life experience, but I was kind of happy that Kenneally put it out there. At times it was difficult to read and I appreciated that.

Another great thing was how characters in the previous novel were presented in this story. It wasn’t the main part of the book, these other characters, but it was sure nice to see them. I was reminded of the books that Stephanie Perkins writes and how we still saw Anna and Etienne in the second book in the series. I loved it!

I’m very much looking forward to the next book in this series and I find myself wondering what sport will be thrown at me next! If it’s anything like the first two books in the series, I know I’ll love it.

AUTHOR LINKS
WEB | TWITTER | GOODREADS

© 2012, Reading In Winter. All rights reserved.

16 thoughts on “ARC REVIEW: Stealing Parker (Hundred Oaks, #2), by Miranda Kenneally

  1. Yay! SO happy you loved this one too. Kenneally’s books are just so damn good. I loved that we got to see Jordan and Sam in this one and appreciated that it didn’t seem forced, like she was trying to throw out characters she knew we loved, it just felt like a natural part of the story. I also appreciate that the books don’t feel like sports books!

  2. I seriously have to read this series, all I’ve been hearing are good things about it! AND it’s contemporary, my current favourite genre, WITH ROMANCE, haha! Great review, Kristilyn. 🙂

    P.S. I noticed that the title of this post says Hundred Oaks #1 << It's #2 right? Just wanted to point that out for you 🙂

  3. Pingback: Clock Rewinders on a Book Binge (19) | Reading In Winter

  4. Pingback: ARC REVIEW [AND Q&A]: Things I Can’t Forget (Hundred Oaks, #3), by Miranda Kenneally | Reading In Winter

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

