BOOK REVIEW: The Vincent Boys (The Vincent Boys, #1), by Abbi Glines

the vincent boys
Date(s) read: January 3, 2013
Genre: New Adult

rating-4-01

Add This Book on Goodreads
Buy Now From: Amazon

SYNOPSIS

There was something wicked about Beau that drew me to him. What was wrong with me? Why did I want to sin so badly?

Ashton is getting tired of being good, of impressing her parents and playing ideal girlfriend to Sawyer Vincent. Sawyer is perfect, a regular Prince Charming, but when he leaves town for the summer, it’s his cousin Beau who catches Ashton’s eye. Beau is the sexiest guy she’s ever seen, and even though he’s dangerous, Ashton is drawn to him.

Beau loves his cousin like a brother, so the last thing he wants to do is make a move on Sawyer’s girl. Ashton is off-limits, absolutely. That’s why he does his best to keep his distance, even though he’s been in love with her forever. When Ashton wants to rekindle their childhood friendship in Sawyer’s absence, Beau knows he should say no.

Ashton and Beau don’t want to hurt Sawyer. But the more they try to stay away from each other, the more intense their urges become. It’s getting way too hard to resist…

My Thoughts

Even though the genre has just been introduced in the past months (though I’m sure it’s been around for much longer), I still feel pretty new to the “new adult” genre. However, I have liked everything I’ve read, so when I see stellar reviews for a book that not only features falling in love, but also some sexy romance, I immediately try to find myself a copy.

The Vincent Boys is one of those books that everyone seems to be talking about. When I started reading it, I could see why. The Vincent boys – i.e. Beau and Sawyer Vincent, cousins – are very swoonworthy. I loved seeing the triangle between them and the main character Ashton. Normally, I’m not a love triangle kind of person, but this is one that I was rooting for. There were times I wanted Ashton to be with Sawyer, and times where I wanted her to be with Beau. Eventually I made up my mind, but I’d rather not share that – I’d rather YOU made up your mind, too.

The story flows fairly fast and is a very quick read. The plot is there and is mainly about Ashton and how she seems to be hiding the person she used to be because she wants to be the girl she thinks Sawyer wants. That, and she is also the pastor’s daughter, so her life isn’t free of complications. I loved Beau as the “bad boy” of the town and it only seemed fitting that Ashton would find herself falling for him. There was also a few other characters we got to meet – I hated Nicole and thought she was truly evil, I really loved Lana and thought it was sweet how she formed a relationship with Ashton, and I also loved Kayla, who we don’t get to see much, but I do hope we see more of her in the second installment of the series.

The only thing that really held me back while reading this story is the editing. Since I’ve read a few works by indie authors, I’ve read varying amounts of editing and usually the story is enough to get me through the poor quality. I’m happy to say that I was able to push through that in this book because I had to see where Ashton’s story was going to go, but the lack of editing was appalling – missed periods, missed commas, and just a lack of punctuation in general. I had read the ebook version, so I’m not sure what the paperback version looks like. Hopefully the mistakes were fixed up because I found it very distracting.

However, the story was very sweet and full of love complications that I’m sure have happened to some in their teenage years. It was nice to not see the whole “insta-love” theme (or annoyance, as I like to call it) happening in the story; instead, Ashton, Beau, and Sawyer had all been friends going up. It was refreshing to see a story where they all knew each other’s quirks and habits, rather than seeing two people come together too quickly, ready to die for one another right away.

This is a great introduction to the New Adult genre and I really look forward to reading The Vincent Brothers, the next book in the series.

AUTHOR LINKS
WEB | TWITTERGOODREADS

15 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: The Vincent Boys (The Vincent Boys, #1), by Abbi Glines

  1. I’ve been on the fence about this one – I figured all the talk was hype. But hearing good things from a new adult “newbie” sold me. I hate love triangles – I don’t need my stomach turning from stress while I read but I think I can make it through this one, if only for the swoon worthy guys 🙂

    The sneaky side of me wants to see what your level of tolerance is for editing compared to mine. I never know if I’m being too picky!

    • I hate love triangles, too. This one was good, though I’m not seeing what ALL the hype was. As far as new adult goes, I’ve read better (at least, better edited ones).

  2. So happy you had better luck with this one than I did. For me, cheating isn’t always a “seal the deal” type occurrence for me, because it happens and I know that. But with this one and the girl’s blatant decision making and then justifying it just didn’t allow me to buy into the romance at all. I’ll be bringing my paperbacks to the secret santa on Saturday and you can check out the editing. (Provided I feel better of course) Great review!

    • Thanks, Jenni! Some new adult books are odd — it’s like they need MAJOR DRAMA to get a new romance going. Eh. We’ll see — I’m sure I’ll find the book I really love in the genre soon!

  3. I have been dancing around this one, I love the new adult genre, Not sure this one is for me though. I am glad you found it engaging.

  4. Ohhh bad editing would drive me crazy too! Especially when it happens continuously throughout the book. So what exactly is “new adult”? Is it shelved in it’s own area at the book store or is it amongst the teen(YA) books? Or is there something on the book that lets you know it’s new adult?

    This books kind of reminds me of the love triangle in The Summer I Turned Pretty…well, from your review I mean! Did you read that on YET?!

    • I think “new adult” is like new relationships, first sexual experience kind of books. They have sex scenes, but they’re not erotica — and they’re also not just kissy YA. I’m pretty sure they’re just mixed in with the YA section. Though, I’m sure some are in the adult section. It’s very confusing!

      And no … I haven’t read that series yet, but, BUT!, it’s on my list to read SOON! Maybe it’ll get me in the mood for summer.

  5. Bad Editing makes me loopy, and if I’m being honest? It’s the #1 reason I’ve put off reading this, because I’ve heard several people say the same things you have about the editing.

    I think you may have tipped me towards finally reading it though!

    -Jac @ For Love and Books

  6. Pingback: Clock Rewinders on a Book Binge (19) | Reading In Winter

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

