Clock Rewinders on a Book Binge (19)

From Amanda’s blog:
Clock Rewinders on a Book Binge is where Tara @ 25 Hour Books and I shamelessly plug each other, share the fantastic posts, giveaways, or whatever else we’ve found and loved by other awesome bloggers (or authors!) during the week, and talk about the books we plan on reading in the coming week.

Cover Love: A Little 2013 Cover Love

ARC Review: Stealing Parker (Hundred Oaks, #2), by Miranda Kennealley

Book Review: Into the Hollow (Experiment in Terror, #6), by Karina Halle

Book Review: The Vincent Boys (The Vincent Boys, #1), by Abbi Glines

Book Review: Shark Bait (Grab Your Pole, #1), by Jenn Cooksey

Weekend Library Reading (3): Lockdown (Escape From Furnace, #1), by Alexander Gordon Smith

What did I do this week?

  • Bout of Books happened! That means that I spent the majority of my time reading. Like, really.
  • We had the Edmonton Book Blogger Christmas meet-up last night (well, tonight, since I’m writing this on Saturday evening!)! Really great to see these ladies again. We had a HUGE spread of food and talked books with one another. It was a lot of fun!
Photo taken by Brie (Eat Books). From left: Rola, Cassie, Ambur, Me, Jenni, Laura, Tammy, Lisa, Leanne, Aylee, and Megan.

Photo taken by Brie (Eat Books). From left: Rola, Cassie, Ambur, Me, Jenni, Laura, Tammy, Lisa, Leanne, Aylee, and Megan.

  • I started a new blog. I know I say this ALL THE TIME, but this is the kind of blog I’ve wanted to start for a while, somewhere where I can talk about whatever the heck I want to, share my crafting things, my music, my thoughts, my photography. It’s going to be a mishmosh of lots of things, but I think I’m going to be happy with it. Eventually, I want to transfer a lot of my posts from now-defunct blogs over to this one. I have a lot of recipes and crafty-things to share! And I can post new music to share with family and friends:

2013 BOOK BINGO PROGRESS: 

  • I AM MAKING PROGRESS! I’m attempting to do a certain win for the 3 month update, so I’m trying to read my books around that. MOST of the books I’m reading I’m trying to fit into this challenge — of course, I have a ton that don’t, but that’s okay, too. 

2013 SERIOUSLY SERIES CHALLENGE PROGRESS: 

  • MORE PROGRESS! Hoorah! I feel like a pilgrim! 

Series Started Before 2013 –> Seriously Serious (7-12)

Progress: 1/12

Series Started In 2013 –> Super Seriously Serious (13-18)

Progress: 2/18

Awesome things happening around the blogosphere!

Are you addicted to the internet? John Green is.

After watching this, I wondered what I did on the internet back in the 90’s when it first came out. There is SO MUCH MORE now!

*** my listing style for this section is totally stolen from the oh-so-organized Amanda, who got it from Tara. My hope is that some of their organization will rub off on me. Is it possible? Not likely. 

Read-in-2013 (16)

  • That Summer, by Sarah Dessen
  • For Darkness Shows the Stars (For Darkness Shows the Stars, #1), by Diana Peterfreund
  • Smile, by Raine Telgemeier
  • Beautiful Disaster (Beautiful, #1), by Jamie McGuire
  • The Walking Dead: Book One, by Robert Kirkman
  • Among the Nameless Stars (For Darkness Shows the Stars, #0.5), by Diana Peterfreund
  • Guys Do Not Do Secret Santa (Hundred Oaks, #0.5), by Miranda Kennealley
  • Return to Me, by Justina Chen
  • The Glass Case, by Kristin Hannah (novella)
  • Butter, by Erin Jade Lange
  • Crewel (Crewel World, #1), by Ginnifer Albin
  • Eat Slay Love (Living with the Dead, #3), by Jesse Petersen (audiobook)
  • The Strange Case of Origami Yoda (Origami Yoda, #1), by Tom Angleberger
  • The Walking Dead: Book Two, by Robert Kirkman

Currently-Reading (2)

  • Drums of Autumn (Outlander, #4), by Diana Gabaldon
    • Oh good gosh. I really need to get back to this one!
  • Twilight (Twilight, #1), by Stephenie Meyer
    • A reread.

Review-Books-To-Read (14)

  • Rock On, by Denise Vega
    • Thank you to Hachette Book Group Canada for this one!

Own-Must-Read (281)

  • Just One Day, by Gayle Forman
    • I had put this one on hold at the library, but couldn’t resist when I saw it at the bookstore!
  • Lullaby (Watersong, #2), by Amanda Hocking
    • I still haven’t read the first one in this series, but when I saw signed copies at the bookstore, I had to pick one up!
  • The Vincent Brothers (The Vincent Boys, #2), by Abbi Glines
    • A gift from Jenni over at Alluring Reads — she couldn’t get through the first one, so she gave the first two books to me! Thanks, Jenni! 🙂
  • Destined for an Early Grave (Night Huntress, #4), by Jeaniene Frost
    • Another gift from Jenni!

I also got a copy of The Goddess Legacy by Aimee Carter from Jenni, which I’ve read, but this will complete my collection, and The Vincent Boys by Abbi Glines, which I bought as an ecopy. THANK YOU, JENNI!

How was your week? Have you read anything good lately?

30 thoughts on “Clock Rewinders on a Book Binge (19)

  1. I’ve made progress on the Bingo challenge too! I have one square crossed off hehe!
    That looks like you had fun with that Christmas party, I still need to find more bloggers in my area and get together with them. And you have another blog! Are your other ones gone now?
    Have a good week!

    • Yay for progress! 🙂 I’m so happy to know so many awesome bloggers in my area. Blogging was super fun before but now it’s even MORE fun!

      I did get rid of the other blogs, or I marked them to private. I’m hoping to move over a lot of the posts onto the new one so that I can only have ONE other blog that has everything BUT books.

      You have a good week, too!

  2. I think I’ve found a new geek to follow – LOVE John Green!!! He’s like a not jerky John Mayer (even kind of looks like him)!! You have the best videos 🙂 I’ll never get anything done around here with you feeding me videos!!

    I love that you and the girls get together to chat books! I wish I lived in a “metro” area where I was closer to other bloggers. We’re spread out over here so we meet at signings. But I’m meeting more and more bloggers and authors in Michigan everyday!!! The face-to-face stuff is fun – I love geeking out to books!!! You guys are truly lucky to have each other!!

    Great week reading!! Oh, and don’t bother visiting me… I’ve got nothing new on the blog… as usual… HA!!!! 😀

    • Ha ha … a “not jerky John Mayer.” That’s funny! I am on YouTube a LOT. I love finding awesome videos! Though, some of my followers (*cough* Jenni *cough*) don’t get them — probably my sense of humour more than anything — I still love showing some of them off.

      I love geeking out to books, too! Our meetups are dangerous. I think everyone leaves with a sore throat because they have to yell to be heard over everyone else. We just get THAT excited!

  3. I love the way that you organized the bottom, that’s fantastic. I might have to start doing that.

    Thanks for linking me <3333

    AND OMG like My Para Hangover said, I also wished I lived in a metro area where I was close to bloggers, but I also only see them at signings and even then I still have to travel 2 hours to get there. Sigh. Cute picture though!

    • I got it from Amanda, who got it from Tara. It’s actually pretty handy!

      I live outside of the metro area, but close enough to go to all of our gatherings. It really is nice! Of course, not a lot of bookish events happen here, so I guess we had to balance out somehow. 🙂

  4. Thanks for mentioning me!!! (There were lots of great discussion posts this week!! I’ve already shared April’s with several “IRL” friends who complain about not reading enough!)

    YAY for book blogger get togethers!! I wish there were more in my area – I’ll have to settle for my weekly chats with our librarian though *lol*

    I’ve watched John Green’s video a few times this week, and it CRACKS ME UP!!! I just love him! (And I totally have that logic – that’s why I started my blog, because you know? It’ll be less time on the interwebz because I’ll be reading and prepping. And yeah… my logic is messed up! LOL!
    -Jac @ For Love and Books

    • I LOVE chatting with patrons at the library! It’s so great when someone comes in who is crazy excited about books. 🙂

      I love John Green, too. Him and Hank TOTALLY crack me up sometimes! And I spend way too much time online now, too. It’s actually kind of nice around a holiday when I have everything scheduled and can step back and NOT think about what’s going on online. Of course, then I still have my phone to check email, but at least I’m not staring at a screen all day!

  5. Wow, you read 16 books this week????! Holy moly. I only read like 2 or 3 I think..

    I also want Lullaby, I enjoyed Wake a lot so, I think I need to continue that one.

    I’m also laughing about you having started another blog 🙂 I’ll have to check it out!

  6. You look like you had so much fun at the meetup! And you got to hang out with Jenni! LUCKY! I want to meet you both!

    Everyone has Just One Day this week and I am sooo jealous. I think I will need to sneak buy a copy of that because I want it so bad. I am not supposed to buy anything. LOL!

    Great haul!

  7. so jealous of your blogger meet up! that would be so fun to be able to do on a regular basis! so lucky to have that! and yay for a new blog! looking forward to music and photography talk! happy new year!!!

    • It is fun to meet up with other bloggers! We don’t get a lot of events here, so it’s nice to have bookish discussions once in a while. 🙂

      Happy New Year to you, too, Kristi!

    • I do need to keep reading the Night Huntress series! I’ve heard Vlad is pretty awesome, but I haven’t met him yet. I will get on it!

      If you look around online, you can find the Hundred Oaks story … it’s cute!

  8. Holy cow! I’m so impressed that you’ve already read so many books this year. Way to go! I was most excited to see For Darkness Shows the Stars on there – I loved that book! And thanks so much for including my book hoarding post. Glad you could relate 🙂

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

