BOOK REVIEW: The Lonely Hearts Club, by Elizabeth Eulberg

lonely hearts club
Date(s) read
: December 28 – 30, 2012
Genre: YA Contemporary

Add This Book on Goodreads
Buy Now From: Amazon

SYNOPSIS
Love is all you need… or is it? Penny’s about to find out in this wonderful debut.

Penny is sick of boys and sick of dating. So she vows: no more. It’s a personal choice. . .and, of course, soon everyone wants to know about it. And a few other girls are inspired. A movement is born: The Lonely Hearts Club (named after the band from Sgt. Pepper). Penny is suddenly known for her nondating ways . . . which is too bad, because there’s this certain boy she can’t help but like. . .

My Thoughts

Oh my GOODNESS! Elizabeth Eulberg, where have you been all my life? I have to admit that when I started this, I wasn’t a Beatles fan. Sure, I had heard their music before, but it wasn’t anything that really grabbed me. After hearing the main character, Penny Lane (named after a Beatles tune), wax poetically about the greatness of the Beatles, even forming her own club named after a Beatles song, I think I may need to give them another go.

This was one of the sweetest books I have ever read! I loved each and every page in it and when I finished, I instantly put Elizabeth Eulberg in my “must read” list. She’s that good.

I think the thing I really liked about this book was that while it was a simple book there were layers to it. I loved seeing the family aspect, the friendship, and even the sisterly love going on. There’s the sweet guy, the supposedly sweet guy, the jerk, the bitch, the former best friend, the new best friend – it had everything! And the message behind the story was very Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants – definitely one I could read again.

In the end, this book might not be a heavy read, and it may cater more to girls who have been burned in past relationships, but it was a very fun read!

AUTHOR LINKS
WEB | TWITTER | GOODREADS

9 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: The Lonely Hearts Club, by Elizabeth Eulberg

  1. Oh this sounds fun! Though the whole time I read it I would totally be picturing Kate Hudson’s character Penny Lane from Almost Famous *sigh* I love that movie!

    Love that this sounds like it has so much going for it in it’s sweet little romance bundle. I like a book that has layers. Oh and the chapter titles sound fun!

  2. Pingback: Clock Rewinders on a Book Binge (20) | Reading In Winter

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

