BOOK HOARDER’S SELECTION (20): Matched (Matched, #1), by Ally Condie

BOOK HOARDER’S SELECTION, is a feature of Reading In Winter, which will feature one book from my collection that I plan to read in the coming week. These are NOT review books, but books I’ve purchased, which have been neglected for a long time.

TITLE: Matched (Matched, #1)

AUTHOR: Ally Condie

HOW LONG I’VE HAD IT: Since October 2011 — one of the first books bought after I started blogging!

WHY I’M READING IT: I remember really wanting to read this when I first bought it. THEN the next book in the series was released, and then the cover reveal for the NEXT book came out. THEN Ally Condie came to Edmonton and I got my copy of Matched signed. I told her that I hadn’t yet read it yet, so I figure I better get it read before the end of the year!

Add This Book on Goodreads

SYNOPSISCassia has always trusted the Society to make the right choices for her: what to read, what to watch, what to believe. So when Xander’s face appears on-screen at her Matching ceremony, Cassia knows with complete certainty that he is her ideal mate… until she sees Ky Markham’s face flash for an instant before the screen fades to black.

The Society tells her it’s a glitch, a rare malfunction, and that she should focus on the happy life she’s destined to lead with Xander. But Cassia can’t stop thinking about Ky, and as they slowly fall in love, Cassia begins to doubt the Society’s infallibility and is faced with an impossible choice: between Xander and Ky, between the only life she’s known and a path that no one else has dared to follow.

Have you read this book?

11 thoughts on “BOOK HOARDER’S SELECTION (20): Matched (Matched, #1), by Ally Condie

  1. Okay, so it’s not that I didn’t like the first one. I did. I wanted to like it more, I think, but it was good. The second one, Crossed, however, let me down quite a bit. It took me quite a while to finish. I still intend to read Reached and I think you really should read the series, but out of all of the dystopian trilogies that are finishing up this year, I think this one’s my least favorite :/

  2. Pingback: Clock Rewinders on a Book Binge (20) | Reading In Winter

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

