BOOK REVIEW: One Foot in the Grave (Night Huntress, #2), by Jeaniene Frost


one foot in the graveDate(s) read
: October 29-30, 2012
Genre: Paranormal Romance

Series 
Reckoning (#0.5)
Halfway to the Grave (#1)
Happily Never After (#1.5)
One Foot in the Grave (#2) Goodreads | Amazon
At Grave’s End (#3)
Destined for an Early Grave (#4)
This Side of the Grave (#5)
One Grave at a Time (#6)
Up From the Grave (#7)

SYNOPSIS

You can run from the grave, but you can’t hide…

Half-vampire Cat Crawfield is now Special Agent Cat Crawfield, working for the government to rid the world of the rogue undead. She’s still using everything Bones, her sexy and dangerous ex, taught her, but when Cat is targeted for assassination, the only man who can help her is the vampire she left behind.

Being around Bones awakens all her emotions, from the adrenaline rush of slaying vamps side by side to the reckless passion that consumed them. But a price on her head – wanted: dead or half-alive – means her survival depends on teaming up with Bones. And no matter how hard Cat tries to keep things professional between them, she’ll find that desire lasts forever … and Bones won’t let her get away again.

My Thoughts

Words cannot describe how much I love Jeaniene Frost. I mean, SERIOUSLY, people. If you aren’t on the Cat and Bones train by now, you have definitely gotten your ticket at the wrong station. Or you just get the WRONG book recommendations. You should hang out with me more – I get all the GOOD recommendations.

Anyway, what I loved about this story was that even though I haven’t read the first book in a while (a few months), I could immediately dive into this story and get into it. I loved Cat and even though Bones wasn’t in the story in the beginning, I knew – I KNEW! – that good things were to come. I mean, Jeaniene Frost wouldn’t let me down!

This story was pretty darn awesome and it made me want to continue with the series even more! It made me question why I put so much time in between novels because the power couple is Cat and Bones. FTW!

And the sex! Holy hell! OK, I had heard that there was a sex scene in this novel that was so over the top and would outdo ALL the sex scenes. Personally, I didn’t find it to be THAT daring or anything, but it was definitely good. I mean, when an author devotes an ENTIRE chapter to the sex, you know it’s going to be good. And when you have sex with a smoking hot vampire like Bones, well, it’ll make you blush.

Of course, I would be remiss if I didn’t say that I wish there was MORE sex in the book. There are a few instances where the sex comes up, then we continue on with the story AFTER it happens. That was a little disappointed.

This series is so crazy good. I’m so happy to have found it (with the help of my blogging friends, of course). My ONLY qualms with the story was that a few of the time shifts seemed a little TOO fast. Like, Cat takes a two-week break, and the break happens, then she’s back at work. Or a BIG EVENT is announced (sorry, I’d ruin it for you!), and then immediately happens.

But still, the book was awesome. Beyond awesome. You should read it.

AUTHOR LINKS
WEB | TWITTER | GOODREADS

17 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: One Foot in the Grave (Night Huntress, #2), by Jeaniene Frost

  1. An entire chapter for sex? Wow. That sounds pretty hot. It sounds like some of the sex scenes were there just to have a sex scene and kind of hindered the story though, I think that would annoy me. So happy you are loving this series so much!

  2. Wow! A whole chapter devoted to sex. Sounds like my kind of book. LOL. I’ve never heard of the series. I will be adding book one to my TBR list on Goodreads. I’m always on the hunt for new books. Thanks for the review.

  3. I’d also heard that this sex scene was the best PNR ever…. While I quite enjoyed it, I don’t know about ‘best ever’ I have to give that honor to the BDB – and particularly Beth and Wrath and the desk…… yeah…. anyways……

    So this is as far as I got in this series too – but I want to read the rest by the end of this year.

    • I didn’t think it was the best ever, either — I mean the one in the NEXT book seems better to me! I still have to give the BDB series a go at some point … just have to get past those names!

  4. I’ve heard such great things about this series, but never really had a chance to read them yet! I think I MUST now!! (And that the sex scenes are fantastic? Well, I have to admit – sitting here with a nasty head cold? Sexy Times are appealing *lol* )

    -Jac @ For Love and Books

  5. i just LOVE this series! unfortunately, i’ve only read the first four because it took 80 billion years for the fifth book to come out and never picked it back up. but sigh, i miss Bones.

  6. Pingback: Clock Rewinders on a Book Binge (21) | Reading In Winter

  7. I’m so glad you’re reading this series. One of my favorite things about the “reading world” is watching friends discover and read my favorite books!! I actually went into this series as an UF and took the hot sex as a bonus so I was never disappointed in the lack of. Keep that in mind later in the series…. Sorry!!!!! 😐

    • I really love this series! I can’t wait to keep reading it — as well as some of the spin-off books! I think my favourite thing is the relationship between Cat and Bones — even if there’s not a lot of sex scenes, I’m happy to just see them interact with one another.

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

