Q&A: Jesse Petersen, author of the Living With the Dead series

I’m very happy to have Jesse Petersen, author of the Living with the Dead series, on the blog today for a Q&A!

I absolutely love this series and am so sad that it’s coming to an end! Click on the covers below to read my reviews & to add these books to your TBR list on Goodreads:

Printflip this zombieeat slay love

The newest book in Jesse’s LIVING WITH THE DEAD series, The Zombie Whisperer is out in ebook format this month! Read more about it below and be sure to catch my Q&A with Jesse after that!

JessePeterson_ZombieWhisperer_200Once a zombie, always a zombie?

Dave and Sarah are pretty happy in the Middle-of-Nowhere, Montana. They’ve done their part in saving the world (kind of) and now they’re settling in for a long life of killing straggler zombies. Well, they think that’s what they’re doing until a helicopter lands on their front lawn with old friends Nicole Nessing and Robbie “The Kid” on board. They propose a dangerous plan: Dave and Sarah must return to Seattle and use Dave’s Superpowers to help with the final stages of a formula that will not only wipe out most of the zombies, but innocluate humans against the virus.

Going back to Seattle was never in the plan. Especially since Sarah has a few secrets of her own that could change her marriage, increase the danger they’re facing and even alter the future they’re so desperately trying to save.

Add This Book On Goodreads
Read the First Chapter

Q&A With Jesse Petersen

Jesse-PetersenWhy did you become a writer? What (or who) inspired you to do what you do?

I’ve always had a love for stories and won a Young Authors competition when I was in 1st grade. When I graduated from college, I’d written a book and my husband encouraged me to pursue my dream full-time, so I did. Writing has really been my only career since I got my degree in 1998.  Without him, that wouldn’t have been possible.

What is the atmosphere like when you write – completely silent, or do you listen to music?

I really can’t have music, it’s too distracting, so I tend to write in silence. My desk is against my window, though, so I watch the coming and going of our neighborhood and get a great view of our mountain (we live at the base of a mountain). Sometimes I pet the cat and my husband’s office is on the opposite hall as mine, so we’ll chat during the day, too. But mostly I block out the world around me.

I’m a musician and I feel most inspired to write in the springtime. Is there a certain season when you feel most compelled to put pen to paper?

Not really. When you are published and have deadlines, you sort of realize there’s no such thing as a muse. When I don’t feel like writing, I do it anyway and almost always get pulled into the story and get into it by the time I’ve written a page or two. Plus, I live in Arizona, so we don’t have the same kind of seasons as the rest of the country does. We have sunny and hot, sunny and nice, sunny and cool.

What book are you reading right now?

I am just about to start WARM BODIES by Isaac Marion. I’ll be reviewing it for our local paper (I have a monthly book column there) since the movie comes out in February. I’m looking forward to it, it looks great!

You write about zombies, so you must be pretty familiar with them. Are you prepared for an impending zombie apocalypse? Any advice for anyone who wishes to prepare?

I doubt I’m prepared, honestly. LOL I hope I’d be like Dave and Sarah and just collect what I needed on the road. Otherwise, I guess I’d be curled up in a fetal position waiting for the zombies to come. If you want to prepare for a zombie apocalypse, I guess read the Living With the Dead series by me. Then at least you’ll know what to do if you’re NOT prepared.

When you’re not writing, what do you do in your spare time?

Spare time? Huh? Oh, right that. I love to read, I play video games with my husband and I hang out with my adorable nephews. I’m also event chair for Oro Valley Relay For Life, so that’s taking a lot of my ‘spare’ time. We also enjoy the outdoors since we live in such a gorgeous place. I take a lot of walks and we’ve been hiking now that it’s cool enough to do it without melting.

Do you have any advice for aspiring authors?

Write a book. Then edit the book. Then write another book. Honestly, you learn to write by writing and you have to put your butt in a chair and do it regularly.

Can you share any details on what you might be working on next? Any exciting projects in the works?

Right now the last book in my zombie series, Living With the Dead is out. THE ZOMBIE WHISPERER. I’m very excited about that. And in April, I have a new series coming out from Pocket Books, Club Monstrosity. The first book has the same name and is about a bunch of real monsters who have a therapy group in the basement of a church in New York City. The second book, THE MONSTERS IN YOUR NEIGHBORHOOD, comes out in July. Both are available for pre-order.

About The Author

Jesse Petersen grew up a geek in love with Star Wars, video games (King’s Quest, anyone?), books of all kinds, and even the occasional RPG. Eventually she grew up, at least in body, but she still loves anything with whimsy, and her books reflect that. Whether it’s funny zombies or monsters in group therapy, you’ll find books that mix giggles with gore. You can find Jesse at her website JessePetersen.net, her Twitter @jessepet and on Facebook, where she talks about Weird Al, cats, and even her books.

Contact Jesse:

Website | Twitter | Goodreads

9 thoughts on “Q&A: Jesse Petersen, author of the Living With the Dead series

  1. Great Q & A!! I’ve had Married with Zombies on my TBR list for quite some time. I guess I need to head and and purchase it. Thanks for the great review.

  2. Pingback: Clock Rewinders on a Book Binge (21) | Reading In Winter

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

