Weekend Library Reading (4): Darth Paper Strikes Back (Origami Yoda, #2), by Tom Angleberger

WEEKEND LIBRARY READING is a new feature of Reading In Winter! If YOU make use of your local library, feel free to participate. I work in a library that has a HUGE selection of awesome books, and even when I’m not working I seem to come home with a TON of them, so it only makes sense to showcase some of the beauties I plan to read from my local library over a weekend. 

darth paperBook: Darth Paper Strikes Back (Origami Yoda, #2) by Tom Angleberger

Why I Took Out This Book: I’ve been trying to read more award nominated books, or award winners, which led me to take out a few really great books from my library. We have a display up to display the Young Readers Choice Awards nominees for 2013 and the first book in this series was one of the books on the display. I had seen The Strange Case of Origami Yoda all over the place and thought it looked cute, but never did read it. Of course, now that I’ve read it I know I have to continue on with the series because it’s pretty awesome — full of humour, memorable characters, and all the Middle Grade charm MG books should have. And what’s cuter than an origami yoda? Obviously, an origami Darth Vader.

Add This Book on Goodreads

What It’s About: 

NOT SUCH A LONG TIME AGO, IN A MIDDLE SCHOOL NOT SO FAR, FAR AWAY…

Something amazing happened. A weird kid named Dwight made an origami finger puppet of Yoda. (That wasn’t the amazing thing–just typical Dwight weirdness.) the amazing thing was that Origami Yoda gave great advice. He could predict the date of a pop quiz, tell a guy if a girl likes him or not, and keep kids from embarrassing themselves in a dozen different ways. Most of the sixth graders were convinced he was using the Force.

But now, a year later, it’s a dark time at McQuarrie Middle School. Dwight has been suspended and may be expelled, which means no more Origami Yoda. Even worse, Darth Paper, a puppet created by Dwight’s nemesis, Harvey, has taken Yoda’s place. He spews insults and evil and just may be responsible for getting Dwight kicked out in the first place. Now the kids of McQuarrie are trying to build a case to save Dwight. This is their case file.

Have you read this book?

11 thoughts on “Weekend Library Reading (4): Darth Paper Strikes Back (Origami Yoda, #2), by Tom Angleberger

  1. Pingback: Clock Rewinders on a Book Binge (21) | Reading In Winter

  2. I hope you don’t mind me put so many links on your post here, but I just put up another post that I would love for you to check out. As I pointed out earlier I love my local library and the best way to discover new books and new authors is through my local library. I actually bought books this week through their used book sale. I will be putting up a post about that soon.

    http://rachaelc94.blogspot.com/2013/02/weekend-library-reading-2-three-weeks.html

    • My library has an ongoing book sale, too … sometimes there are some great titles in it! And I love checking out the new titles coming out each week — it’s a great way to find new authors!

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

