Clock Rewinders on a Book Binge (21)

From Amanda’s blog:
Clock Rewinders on a Book Binge is where Tara @ 25 Hour Books and I shamelessly plug each other, share the fantastic posts, giveaways, or whatever else we’ve found and loved by other awesome bloggers (or authors!) during the week, and talk about the books we plan on reading in the coming week.

Guest Post: Music in Sins & Needles, Guest Post by Karina Halle

Book Review: What Happened to Goodbye, by Sarah Dessen

ARC Review: Return to Me, by Justina Chen

Book Review: One Foot in the Grave (Night Huntress, #2), by Jeaniene Frost

Q&A: Jesse Petersen, author of the Living with the Dead series

Weekend Library Reading: Darth Paper Strikes Back (Origami Yoda, #2), by Tom Angleberger

What did I do this week?

  • On Monday, I was supposed to go to the doctor for an appointment, but ended up cancelling and had coffee with Jenni from Alluring Reads instead! The roads were terrible, so I made it to one city, where Jenni was, and decided to stop there. Thankfully, that city had a bookstore AND a Starbucks. WIN! I also got to meet Jenni’s ADORABLE son, Gage. 🙂
  • Then, on Tuesday, I got sick. And I’ve been sick ever since! I blame the husband — because isn’t that what he’s for? But no, I had some kind of head cold, which morphed into a CRAZY sore throat which kept me from sleeping. On the plus side …
  • I got addicted to Doctor Who! This is what a sick day will do to a person. It’s all Anne’s fault, really, since she was pushing me to watch the show. I have to say, it’s pretty awesome!
  • My husband was away for the tail-end of the week, so I got lots of blogging done, for both blogs, watched lots of TV, and even read some books! It feels like I didn’t do much this week, but now I’m feeling quite accomplished!
  • Oh, and I totally figured out how to use Pocket! I had no clue before how it would benefit me, but I really, really like it!

I also did a few new header designs, one for my new blog, and one for Anne’s …

Winter Distractions

Obsessed with Creativity Header-01

 

I also did a few new buttons and whatnot, too. Let’s just say being sick on the couch means that after a while you will look for any reason to get OFF of the couch.

Lots of great things happened this week around the blogosphere!

*** my listing style for this section is totally stolen from the oh-so-organized Amanda, who got it from Tara. My hope is that some of their organization will rub off on me. Is it possible? Not likely. 

Read-in-2013 (23) 

  • At Grave’s End (Night Huntress, #3), by Jeaniene Frost
  • Sins & Needles (The Artists Trilogy, #1), by Karina Halle
  • Things I Can’t Forget (Hundred Oaks, #3), by Miranda Kenneally

Currently-Reading (2)

  • Drums of Autumn (Outlander, #4), by Diana Gabaldon
    • I promise, I DO plan to keep reading this, just not yet.
  • Darth Paper Strikes Back (Origami Yoda, #2), by Tom Angleberger

Own-Must-Read (288)

  • This Side of the Grave (Night Huntress, #5), by Jeaniene Frost
  • Such a Rush, by Jennifer Echols
  • Virtuosity, by Jessica Martinez
  • On Dublin Street (On Dublin Street, #1), by Samantha Young
  • Slammed (Slammed, #1), by Colleen Hoover
  • Point of Retreat (Slammed, #2), by Colleen Hoover
  • Ruby Red (Ruby Red Trilogy, #1), by Kerstin Gier
  • Sapphire Blue (Ruby Red Trilogy, #2), by Kerstin Gier

How was your week? Have you read anything good lately?

46 thoughts on “Clock Rewinders on a Book Binge (21)

  1. You’re more productive than I am when I’m sick. You are a far better sickie than I am!!! 🙂 You do know you probably got sick from Starbucks, right? Oh the price we pay for our awesome cups of heaven…

    Hope you’re feeling 100% soon!!!!

    • Gosh, who KNOWS! My husband was sick, I worked at a public place on the weekend, went to Starbucks AND a public bookstore … it could’ve come from anywhere! But happy to have gotten caught up AND I’m feeling a lot better today, too. 🙂

  2. I will not only take the blame for your addiction to Doctor Who, I am PROUD OF IT! You are my *counts on fingers* 4th Doctor Who “child” (people who I’ve introduced to Doctor Who that later got hooked). I even have one Doctor Who “grandchild”! I am very proud of this 🙂

    Thank you for all the link love! 😀

    • Thinking about it… I am getting you addicted to ALL THE GOOD THINGS! Doctor Who, film music… *runs off to make a list of MOAR good things to get you addicted to* 😛

    • You’re on a roll! I’ve been waxing on about the show to the husband, so maybe one day he’ll watch it. It really is great! Even if I’m totally bummed out about the season two ending. I guess I’ll have to try and watch the next season this week … maybe it’ll grow on me.

      • The thing with the end of season 2 is that you HAVE to keep watching and get back into it. If you don’t then you may never go back. There are SO MANY good episodes in season 3, but you have to let them work their magic – don’t spend ALL YOUR TIME saying “But there’s no Rose!” (Says the girl whose main complaint about TNG is there’s no Spock. I’m such a hypocrite lol)

      • I’m doing it now! I’m still mad that there’s no Rose, but I will admit that I looked at Billie Piper’s bio to see that she comes back. Now I feel better.

    • Pocket is kind of like a Google Reader, but it’s where you can collect links from all over the internet to read later. It’s actually kind of nice! I can go in, read whatever posts I want, and check them off when I’m done. Or, if I want to save some links to link up for next week’s CR post, I can just leave them unchecked and gather them all up at the end of the week.

      And yes — YAY for all the things!

    • See, that’s when I drifted off to the computer with my tea and TV on the laptop … I was able to be upright for a bit AND get caught up on things, and then I could pass back out on the couch.

      I never get sick, so I’m glad I’m feeling better … maybe I should start taking a daily Cold FX or something …

  3. I hope you feel better soon! I’m also sick, but have a sinus infection.. ugh. You’re much more productive than me. I have a review I need to write but instead have just been sleeping all the time.

    You got a lot of new books this week..lol Some really good ones! I still need to read Such a Rush and Things I Can’t Forget!

    I listened to Outlander this month, I just finished this week (32 hour audiobook?!) It was sooooooo good! I need to continue on with the series. I have a love for good historical fiction, I’m a bit jealous you’ve read so much of the series so far. I think it’s going to be a series I buy for my shelf. It can go beside my Earth’s Children series (which is also an awesome series!).

    I hope you have a great week!

    • Sleep is good! That’s a lot of what I did yesterday … I read my books and drifted in and out of sleep. AND got to bed super early. I think that’s why I’m feeling a lot better today.

      Outlander is soooo good! Good for you listening to the audio! I’ve always stuck to audiobooks that are around the 7-12 hour range. I’m not sure I could go with anything longer! Maybe in the summer when I’m stuck doing work outside all day.

      I’ve never heard of Earth’s Children … I’ll have to check it out!

      Hope you feel better soon, Jenn!

    • I’ve heard of a few people really loving the Ruby Red trilogy!! I’ll have to try and read it soon to see what the fuss is all about! And yes! Sins and Needles was AWESOME!!

  4. I had a feeling that you’d get obsessed with Doctor Who. It gets everyone in the end. 🙂
    That sucks that you’re sick but I hope that you feel better soon. But when sick at least you get a lot of reading and crocheting done. I’m the same way.

    • There’s nothing worse than being stuck on the couch and not doing ANYTHING. I’m glad that reading, crocheting, and Doctor Who can all be done from the couch! And blogging … at least I caught up instead of falling behind. 🙂

      And Doctor Who is SO addictive! I love it!

  5. I love the headers you made! I have been slowly (like baby steps slowly) been learning some photoshop and design stuff so I can update my blog too. But I am no where near your level. I can’t wait to see your new blog too!

    I hope you are feeling better. I have seen pocket too but I haven’t really checked it out because I am not 100% sure how I would use it in my day to day life. Maybe I will need to look at it again. What do you like about it?

    • Oh, thank you, Michelle! Honestly, I feel like such a beginner myself, but I try to read through my design books and just play around as much as I can so I can learn more. It’s a lot of fun!

      Pocket is so much easier than Google Reader! Of course, I still use Google Reader, but I can skim through the posts that end up in there and add the ones I want to read or comment on to Pocket to read later. Or, if I come across a link on Twitter, or in my email, or anywhere on the internet, but don’t have the time to read it, I can add it to Pocket. THEN, I can go into Pocket when I have the time and pick out what posts I want to read. When I’m finished, I can check them off to remove them, or leave them there for future reference. Like I had repied to April, if I come across discussion posts or other posts I may want to share in my Clock Rewinders post, I can just leave them in pocket, then gather up the links when I write up my post. So simple!

      I suggest checking out this tutorial on it:
      http://www.thebookvixen.com/2012/09/bloggiesta-mini-challenge-how-to-use.html

  6. Pocket is awesome. I feel like a hoarder though, and half the time I forget to visit to read all the links I’ve hoarded. I honestly don’t know if it helps me. lol.

    Sorry you were feeling so crappy this week. My husband loves Dr. Who. I cannot handle the show because of the daleks. Their voices drive me bananas. :p

    • Ha ha … I find it helps me! Even if I can’t get to the posts right away, at least my Reader is kept clean. And I can pick and choose what posts to read first.

      The Daleks voices TOTALLY drive me nuts! That’s the one thing that really annoys me (and something that happened in season two — I’m still not over that). I can totally get that!

  7. Yay for an impromptu coffee date! Gaige is pretty adorable in his own bratty, evil kind of way mwahahaha!

    I am starting Things I Can’t Forget tomorrow and I am so scared. ButI guess when you step back and look at Boundless (which I just finished) it’s pretty religioney… I dunno I’ll have to see. Love those headers that you made! SO pretty, I love the fonts that you use.

  8. Oh no, being sick sucks! I hope you feel better!

    I really want to watch Doctor Who, but I really want to watch the DVD’s instead of on Netflix, because I want to watch it while I’m at work. Buuuut season 1 is like $100 on Amazon, so I think I’ll have to wait. Glad you’re enjoying it! Have a great week 🙂

    • Thanks, Sarah — I’m starting to feel a lot better!

      And I can’t believe the price of the DVDs, BUT I do hear that the DVDs include the full season AND the Doctor Who Confidential episodes AND a bunch of extras. Hopefully I can find it on sale somewhere. And I hope you can watch it soon!

  9. 1.Wow, even when you’re sick you are productive! Haha, the only thing I accomplish when I am sick is getting through all my PVR’d shows!

    2. I don’t really know anything about Dr Who

    3. WHAT IS POCKET?!

    • Everything I did was couch activities. 🙂 Easily done! And Doctor Who is AWESOME!!!!! It needs so many exclamation marks!!!!!

      Here’s what I wrote to Michelle about Pocket:

      Pocket is so much easier than Google Reader! Of course, I still use Google Reader, but I can skim through the posts that end up in there and add the ones I want to read or comment on to Pocket to read later. Or, if I come across a link on Twitter, or in my email, or anywhere on the internet, but don’t have the time to read it, I can add it to Pocket. THEN, I can go into Pocket when I have the time and pick out what posts I want to read. When I’m finished, I can check them off to remove them, or leave them there for future reference. Like I had repied to April, if I come across discussion posts or other posts I may want to share in my Clock Rewinders post, I can just leave them in pocket, then gather up the links when I write up my post. So simple!

      I suggest checking out this tutorial on it:
      http://www.thebookvixen.com/2012/09/bloggiesta-mini-challenge-how-to-use.html

      • I freaking love Pocket. Except I’m always behind. I used to just favourite things in Twitter which is not a good system at all! So Kristilyn are you using Pocket for reading blogs? I should try that too… right now it’s mostly for stuff I see on Twitter but don’t have time to read.

      • I’m quite behind right now, but I still think it’s awesome. I never star things in Google Reader, so this makes it so much easier for me. I use it for reading blogs … I put them into Pocket from my Reader and save them to read for later. Actually, that and Twitter — I don’t really think about it when I’m elsewhere on the internet.

  10. Hope you feel better soon! The only time I don’t mind being sick is when it means I get to stay in bed and marathon watch a TV show or a bunch of movies. And yay for Pocket – I love it! Also, thanks for featuring my post 🙂

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

