BOOK REVIEW: Croak (Croak, #1), by Gina Damico

croak
Date(s) read
: December 20 – 21, 2012
Genre: YA Paranormal

Add This Book on Goodreads
Buy Now From: Amazon

SYNOPSIS
Fed up with her wild behavior, sixteen-year-old Lex’s parents ship her off to upstate New York to live with her Uncle Mort for the summer, hoping that a few months of dirty farm work will whip her back into shape.

But Uncle Mort’s true occupation is much dirtier than shoveling manure. He’s a Grim Reaper. And he’s going to teach Lex the family business.

She quickly assimilates into the peculiar world of Croak, a town populated by reapers who deliver souls from this life to the next. But Lex can’t stop her desire for justice – or is it vengeance? – whenever she encounters a murder victim, craving to stop the attackers before they can strike again.

Will she ditch Croak and go rogue with her reaper skills?

My Thoughts

There are books that some people tend to LOVE and rave about. This is one of those books. In fact, people going on and on about their love of this book is what led me to pick up a copy – which then sat on my bookshelf for MONTHS. When I received the second book in the series, Scorch, for review, I knew I had to get my butt in gear and read the first book. My fingers were crossed that this wasn’t going to be one of those books that everyone loved and I felt ‘meh’ about. Thankfully, it wasn’t.

Croak was FANTASTIC. I never know how I feel about books that are full of sarcasm and humour. Sometimes it’s something that either goes over my head, or it’s just not my idea of humour. Gina Damico, on the other hand, must have spent some time in my head. There were so many times while reading this that I bust a gut laughing. I just loved the main character and her trip to Croak. I loved her interaction with the people there and with her own family – even her extended family in Uncle Mort.

Of course, I do think that being a huge fan of the TV show Dead Like Me lends itself to my love of this book. Within its pages, I could just see snarky George dealing with Rube and Mason and it made me feel nostalgic for the show (which got cancelled way too early, in my own, side-tracked opinion). With such a huge amount of books dealing with vampires, werewolves, zombies, or other paranormal creatures, it’s nice to see a good ol’ grim reaper book. AND, I have to say, a book that has a bit of romance in it, but not romance that takes away from the story. In face, this is probably one of my favourite romances because it’s sweet, silly, and not way in the forefront.

Being a page-turner for me, I can’t wait to see what happens in Scorch. There was a definite cliffhanger and tone of seriousness in the last pages that had my jaw on the floor, so it’ll be nice to get back within the world of Croak to see what happens next. Thank you to everyone who convinced me to read this – I’m very happy I did.

AUTHOR LINKS
WEB | TWITTER | GOODREADS

34 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: Croak (Croak, #1), by Gina Damico

  1. Great review! I hadn’t heard of this one before, but the tone sounds right up my alley (somewhat like Feed by Mira Grant). Thanks for the rec.

  2. I loved both this and Scorch, very good job by Gina! Sometimes authors to use sarcasm and humour that goes right over my head, luckily, like you, I laughed out loud a lot while reading this one too! I can’t wait until you read Scorch, the ending.., gah!

    • I can’t wait to read Scorch! I love laughing out loud when reading … that’s one thing that’s hard to get me to do, but I’ve been lucky to find a few books that really crack me up. Now, if only I could find a good horror novel …

  3. what I remember most from this book was A) the sarcasm and B) the genius names of the roads and diner items. GENIUS, I say.

  4. I’ve heard so many great things about this book! Like you, I tend to either be hit-or-miss with a lot of snark, sarcastic humor, though it sounds like this main character is likable at the same time, rather than alienating readers with her rudeness.

    • You know, we tried NetFlix a long while back when it first came to Canada and it just didn’t have anything good. I might have to try it out again! Though, I usually end up buying a LOT of TV on DVDs. 🙂

  5. This is the first review I’ve read of this book, and you’re giving me hope! I’ve actually seen Gina Damico at 2 different book conventions and both times I found her to be funny, clever, and fun to listen to. But whenever I read the description of Croak, it just didn’t seem like my type of book.

    However, if it’s as funny to me as it was to you, then maybe it’s just what I need.

  6. Pingback: Clock Rewinders on a Book Binge (22) | Reading In Winter

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

